Marie Curie Employee Reviews about "great cause"

Updated Jan 13, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 10 of over 153 reviews

3.6
64%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Marie Curie Chief Executive Jane Collins (no image)
Jane Collins
58 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great cause, great culture, great colleagues(in 10 reviews)

  • "it's a beautiful feeling working for a good cause(in 10 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "You don’t want your voice to be heard by senior management(in 8 reviews)

  • "The charity can be reserved in their approach due to the nature of our services(in 8 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

    Reviews about "great cause"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great charity to work for

      Jan 13, 2021 - Community Fundraiser in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great cause, great culture, great colleagues

      Cons

      The only one would be working in silos ... but things are changing

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to work

      Aug 10, 2020 - Individual Giving Fundraiser in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Lovely people, fantastic management and a great cause. Perfect work/life balance. Plenty of social activities.

      Cons

      Difficult to develop and get any promotion and/or pay rise.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Employee

      great cause

      Jul 31, 2019 - Senior Executive 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      amazing people, great cause

      Cons

      quite a lot of contractors on very high salaries rather than retaining permanent staff

      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Fundraiser

      Apr 19, 2019 - Fundraiser in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great cause and supporters. Plenty of experience in sector so much to learn.

      Cons

      Too many campaigns and not so much stuff. Office outdated and clutter.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      So good I worked there twice!

      Oct 13, 2017 - Fundraiser in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It’s a really great cause! Our nurses, and other front line staff, do really amazing work. My workload is really varied and there is lots of opportunity for me to develop and learn. My managers give me a lot of autonomy to get on with my job, and I feel that I have there full support when I need it. There is a really good dynamic within the fundraising team, and I work with some amazing people who definitely contribute to the job satisfaction I feel.

      Cons

      Being office based, I can sometimes feel quite removed from the cause. There can be a tendency to work in silos and sometimes cross-team working is not as collaborative as it could be. That said, in the time that I have worked at Marie Curie I have seen significant steps taken to build collaborative relationships and improve ways of working across the organisation.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Current Employee

      great charity but frustrating management

      Jun 28, 2017 - Technology Employee in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great cause, really helps people who are at end of life Lovely colleagues, collaborative atmosphere Money was ok for the charity sector Was given a lot of autonomy in my day to day work

      Cons

      Management is really bad at making decisions - they go round in circles, can't prioritise, then when they do finally make a big decision, they manage it really badly. Often, they will get 90% through making a change, all the hard work has been done, all the pain felt. Then, they get cold feet because they haven't seen miraculous results straight away, and before you know it they have back tracked or gone in a completely different direction. Very frustrating and wasteful of resources. Promotion prospects are low - there are the foot soldiers in the weeds, then senior management always gets recruited externally. Nothing much in between.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      only good for short term employment

      Jul 13, 2016 -  in Vauxhall, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      decent salary, good cause, great feedback from the public

      Cons

      No room for any growth or development, flat hierarchical structure and no chances for any promotion. Independent critical thinking is not encouraged. A lot of bad decision are made by senior management. Everyone is playing it safe - no one wants to take any responsibility or decisions as they are scared they'll lose their job. There are many more issues there. People are not valued enough - as they can be replaced easily. There is too much work and not enough resources. It;s very stressful and chaotic. There is no forward planning for anything - everything is done last moment. A lot of staff left in the last few months due to the above reasons.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Amazing charity

      Apr 12, 2017 - Project Manager in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      great cause, dedicated employees, amazing clinical and patient support staff

      Cons

      operational procedures are still old fashioned and need improvement. lots of room for improving processes and reducing operating costs, requires better utilisationn of technology in day to day operations

      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Former Employee

      could be better

      Aug 16, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      great cause, nice volunteers, lovely donors and costumers

      Cons

      no opportunities to move up in company, too many rules and regulations, not allowed to use own initiative, higher management not in touch with staff

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Fantastic cause

      Apr 21, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good location, great cause, nurses are truly wonderful so you know you're working for an amazing output

      Cons

      Complicated systems introduced that meant more time doing admin and not doing job, pay structure in team changed so less chance of progression

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 10 English Reviews

    Popular Careers with Marie Curie Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Marie Curie? Share Your Experiences

    Marie Curie logo
    or