Marks & Spencer Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Marks & Spencer Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2137 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
65%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Marks & Spencer CEO Steve Rowe
Steve Rowe
633 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good staff discount card immediately(in 299 reviews)

  • "Good pay with a good staff discount(in 192 reviews)

Cons
  • "Telling me I need to fill out a transfer request form which is only for permanent members of staff(in 46 reviews)

  • "Very demanding and lack of awareness of work life balance from some people(in 33 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Ecommerce \manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Marks & Spencer full-time

    Pros

    Great place to work in.

    Cons

    The senior management is set in their ways.

    Marks & Spencer2019-04-19
  2. "Great place to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Assistant in Preston, North West England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Marks & Spencer part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Responsibility, Flexibility, Work at your own pace, good discount

    Cons

    Long shift hours on your feet

    Marks & Spencer2019-04-18
  3. "One of the best for students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Marks & Spencer part-time

    Pros

    - Flexible choice in hours - Reasonable pay for part-time work for students - Many perks available

    Cons

    - Support is minimal for those struggling in the workplace

    Marks & Spencer2019-04-17
  4. "Pretty good student job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Sheffield, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Marks & Spencer part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Taking extra hours is usually pretty easy. Nice job for students

    Cons

    Management can be really bad if you're unlucky. Procedures aren't great and change almost constantly. Even if something works well it'll be change in 3 months.

    Marks & Spencer2019-04-15
  5. "Good to start young as part timer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Marks & Spencer part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Helped me become more sociable talking to strangers (customers) and making small talk which can go very far in the future.

    Cons

    Weekends, late nights, when you leave the pay system is very hard to understand. Even HR struggled to explain to me when I asked.

    Marks & Spencer2019-04-13
  6. "Shop work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Marks & Spencer full-time

    Pros

    Nice people good to work for

    Cons

    Boring work stocking the racks

    Marks & Spencer2019-04-12
  7. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Merchandiser 

      I have been working at Marks & Spencer full-time

      Pros

      Great company to work for. Great food and friendly

      Cons

      Cant always get time off

      Marks & Spencer2019-04-11
    • "Pleasant atmosphere"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Marks & Spencer part-time

      Pros

      - Support from management - Career progression

      Cons

      - Unpaid breaks - Lack of staff sometimes

      Marks & Spencer2019-04-10
    • "Brilliant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Visual Stylist 

        I worked at Marks & Spencer full-time

        Pros

        Great pay friendly environment

        Cons

        None, great environment to work, well recommended

        Marks & Spencer2019-04-08
      • "Excellet"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Marks & Spencer part-time

        Pros

        Team are wonderful, friendly and get the job done efficiently

        Cons

        Sometimes, work schedule can get a bit hectic and longer hours do get tiring.

        Marks & Spencer2019-04-08
      Found 2137 reviews