Marks & Spencer Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Marks & Spencer Reviews

Updated 15 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2451 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
66%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Marks & Spencer CEO Steve Rowe
Steve Rowe
762 Ratings
Pros
  • "employee benefits including staff discount(in 318 reviews)

  • "Good pay and organisation, good management(in 207 reviews)

Cons
  • "I couldn't fault my experience with M&S(in 103 reviews)

  • "long hours as any jobs working in retail(in 80 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Marks & Spencer part-time

    Pros

    Overtime given if available Flexible with students

    Cons

    No sick pay for temp staff

    Marks & Spencer2019-09-10
  2. "Good workplace but high expectations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Guildford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Marks & Spencer part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There is always opportunities to work your way up in the company. The pay is decent, even more so if you live in one of the top spots so you get a little extra an hour. Benefits are worth it - great staff discount and perks outside of M&S

    Cons

    The managers expect so much from you, even as a sales assistant. Long hours with little breaks.

    Marks & Spencer2019-09-12
  3. "Feedback"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Associate in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Marks & Spencer part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - friendly bubbly environment -friendly work staff -lovely customers -great benefits

    Cons

    - little room for self development -little room for career growth -request for over time

    Marks & Spencer2019-09-12
  4. "Marks and Spencer Customer Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Assistant in Cheltenham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Marks & Spencer part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible working hours, management offer additional hours if required. Pleasant staff members and very good training provided upon accepting the position.

    Cons

    No staff parking for the Cheltenham store.

    Advice to Management

    Keep an update on how staff are progressing in their roles and offer more opportunities for promotion.

    Marks & Spencer2019-09-12
  5. "Good pay, relatively dull experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Assistant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Marks & Spencer part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great pay and flexibility in work hours, was able to take on extra shifts and also likewise get other staff to cover my absences easily. You also get 20% staff discount which I thought was pretty good

    Cons

    Relatively dull to work at however this is probably dependent on the branch. I worked in a small town so the customer traffic was mostly elderly women

    Marks & Spencer2019-09-12
  6. "Happy overall...at least it’s a job 😅"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Assistant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Marks & Spencer part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I have lovely managers and mostly nice, supportive colleagues. The pay is competitive and the 20% discount is a nice perk!

    Cons

    Being pressured into changing your flexibility to working evenings or mornings when you can’t always do it

    Marks & Spencer2019-09-10
  7. "Customer Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Marks & Spencer full-time

    Pros

    Good working environment Teamwork

    Cons

    Long hours Not very flexible

    Marks & Spencer2019-09-09
  8. "Working full time at Castle Donington"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Manager in Castle Donnington, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Marks & Spencer full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good rates of pay and great discount.

    Cons

    Currently work 12 hour shifts

    Marks & Spencer2019-09-10
  9. "Embracing Human Behaviour Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Warehouse Worker in Castle Donnington, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Marks & Spencer part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Cares about their workers more than other companies and the job less demanding and stressful as well. Hire disabled people

    Cons

    Using agency as a whip hand, rigged rules that makes no effect on performance, but frustrating like no phone use, can't sit down during shift and you stand around like an idiot try to not get crazy. For simple people deffo a dream job.

    Advice to Management

    Give more freedom for workers, give them a specific rule book within they can thrive to perform but still enjoy their down time. Specifically I feel very cruel demanding you have to stand around while you waiting for your next task. You should look at it as I gave you my labour to that benefits yours business, instead you owning my time because you paying me an hourly wage.

    Marks & Spencer2019-09-10
  10. "I work for M and S for 20 years and I enjoy all the benefits very much"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Buxton, East of England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Marks & Spencer full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    A very good company to work for as they are looking after you. I worked for them for 20 years. The shop in Buxton had to close down.

    Cons

    The shop had to close down so I lost my job after 20 years

    Marks & Spencer2019-09-09
Found 2451 reviews