Marks & Spencer Reviews

Updated Aug 2, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 4,823 of over 5,460 reviews

3.9
72%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Marks & Spencer Chief Executive Steve Rowe
Steve Rowe
1,501 Ratings
Pros
  • "you can buy food with staff discount(in 441 reviews)

  • "Good pay, Friendly team members(in 440 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "No cons sometimes theirs long hours but it’s made worth your while(in 147 reviews)

  • "m amp s(in 122 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Assistant Designer

      Aug 2, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good company values and ethos, great people to work with which makes a nice working environment

      Cons

      Hard to get progression, teams can become siloed due to sheer amount of work to get done

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Marks & Spencer Response

      Hi there, thanks for taking the time to leave your review and thank you for all the great work that you're doing! We're sorry to hear how you feel about the progression opportunities. We'd recommend that you take advantage of the wide variety of mentoring and development opportunities, by visiting the People Hub and discussing your next steps with your Line Manager. Marks and Spencer

    2. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Experiences depend heavily on management/store

      Jul 30, 2021 - Customer Assistant in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The teams I have worked for are always the highlight of the job; you'll meet a range of people across all backgrounds and they really become your family and friends. We always have each other's backs. The job also teaches you how to be flexible, solve problems quickly, and a wide range of transferable skills. I have become so much more confident in handling situations since I started here 2 years ago.

      Cons

      This is a job where you are required to be very quick and efficient and often sacrifices your mental health if you're under a lot of pressure to multi-task too much. It all depends on the management team and store, of course, so it will be different for everyone. Holiday periods are very intense and stressful, but again this is natural. It will teach you to be tough-skinned too, which I can imagine will be too much for people who are more sensitive. My biggest con is that retail is hypocritical at times; you are expected to be personal and treat customers like humans whilst you are taught to act like a robot who is not entitled to basic respect from certain customers.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Marks & Spencer Response

      Hi there, we're glad that you feel part of the Marks and Spencer Family, we've worked hard in building a community for all of our Colleagues to enjoy. The health and wellbeing of our Colleagues has always been our priority at Marks and Spencer. Protecting and improving the health and wellbeing of colleagues is also critical to the health of our business. If you feel you’re overloaded, please talk to your Line Manger to find a solution together. If you feel you cannot approach your Line Manager, then tell a more senior person or someone who you feel most at ease with, for example your BIG rep or your HR Business Partner. Thanks again for your review, we appreciate your feedback. Marks and Spencer

    3. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Happy Enough

      Aug 2, 2021 - Human Resources Manager in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good discount and working environment, well set up for onboarding. Well known brand to work for and had lots of resources in place.

      Cons

      Always held to high standards, which is fine, but not much praise given in case you want a good review grade and ask for more money. Very competitive and hierarchical.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Marks & Spencer Response

      Hi there, thanks for leaving us a review! It's great to hear that you enjoyed our Colleague discount perk. It's one of the great benefits of working with us! Thanks again for sharing, we appreciate your feedback. Marks and Spencer

    4. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Good to work for

      Aug 2, 2021 - Customer Assistant in Prestwich, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Staff discount on products in store

      Cons

      Terrible shift hour changes at short notice

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Marks & Spencer Response

      Hi there, thanks for taking the time to leave your review and thank you for all the great work that you're doing! It's great to hear that you’re enjoying our Colleague discount perk. It's one of the great benefits of working with us! I'd suggest that you link in with your Line Manager about any concerns you have about your shifts/hours, to find a solution together. Marks and Spencer

    5. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great for me

      Jul 31, 2021 - Customer Assistant in Ipswich, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Way better pay as a student than my peers, good team, good discount, good at making sure you get all breaks and leave on time

      Cons

      Managers changed all the time, got moved around between departments alot, sometimes no managers around, or managers will take their breaks at the same time so you can’t contact them

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Marks & Spencer Response

      Hi there, thanks for leaving us a review! Many students enjoy working with us whilst they complete their studies, so it's lovely to hear that you felt the same. We value and take onboard all Colleague feedback and we'll ensure this is fed back to the relevant team. Marks and Spencer

    6. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      This is not just any Aldi, this is an M&S Aldi

      Jul 28, 2021 - Customer Assistant in Falkirk, Scotland, Scotland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work is much easier going than competitors. Staff on your level are mostly friendly and enjoy working together as a team. Great nightshift money/benefits. 20% discount is industry leading.

      Cons

      Management more focused on targets and meeting goals than the staff they apply the pressure of these targets to. Atmosphere in most stores is colleagues vs. management (there is hardly any support from management). Management are allergic to doing the job of colleagues and would rather over delegate tasks then complain when they aren't done quick enough.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Marks & Spencer Response

      Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave your review! It’s great to hear that you're enjoying the benefits we offer. We're very sorry to hear about your experience and would like to apologies for any issues that you’ve found during your time with us. This doesn’t sound like the way we do things at Marks and Spencer and we’ll make sure your comments are fed back. Marks and Spencer

    7. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Marks & Spencer

      Aug 1, 2021 - Customer Service Assistant in Norwich, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great colleagues, lovely product to work with, I felt valued

      Cons

      Always have to work at least one day at the weekend. Hours not very flexible

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Marks & Spencer Response

      Hi there, thanks for leaving us a review. We'd have to agree with you, we think our Colleagues are amazing too! We offer inclusive ways of flexible working at Marks and Spencer. You can request a change to your ways of working in line with the Employment Rights Act 1996. Just link in with your Line Manager/BIG Rep for further information, to find a solution together. Marks and Spencer

    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Retail

      Jul 28, 2021 - Retail Sales Associate in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It’s good, I really like it and I would work there again, I recommend it a lot , keep it up

      Cons

      It’s bad and I wouldn’t work there again , if look for another iob, I would not recommend it and I hope you find another job soon

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Marks & Spencer Response

      Hi there, thanks for your honest review, and we’re sorry you feel this way. Please link in with your Line Manager to discuss any concerns you have. If you feel you cannot approach your Line Manager, then tell a more senior person or someone who you feel most at ease with, for example your BIG rep or your HR Business Partner. Marks and Spencer

    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good place to work

      Jul 28, 2021 - Retail Sales Assistant in Colne, North West England, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Such a good place to work in really enjoyed my time, really take care of you and your needs. Healthy environment to be in

      Cons

      Not really much cons at all they paid really well as I was young at the time. So no cons

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Marks & Spencer Response

      Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave your review. Your kind words mean a lot to us! Marks and Spencer

    10. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Ideal stepping stone

      Jul 5, 2021 - Visual Stylist/Fashion Merchandiser in Manchester City Centre, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great for getting an overall perspective of working in retail whether that be in foods or clothing and home. Progression scheme can help you reach management in a few months. In the city centre, creativity and trend awareness is encouraged which can make your job fun and challenging in the best way. Good wage

      Cons

      To become a manager in clothing or home you must work on foods as a manager before hand, this often requires moving store. With supervisor roles being removed, it's discouraging doing the job of most managers without the recognition or chance for progression in your field. Visual is a stressful role, I personally thrive off the challenge however you become very passionate about your store which can often entail your work getting changed less than a day later due to miscommunication. This leads to feeling redundant and sometimes obsolete.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Marks & Spencer Response

      Hi there, thanks for leaving us a review and thank you for all the great work that you're doing! We’re glad you mentioned that you're happy with the development opportunities, we work really hard to help everyone broaden their skills and achieve their career goals. We value and take onboard all Colleague feedback therefore, we'll make sure your comments are fed back. Marks and Spencer

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 4,823 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Marks & Spencer Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Marks & Spencer? Share Your Experiences

    Marks & Spencer logo
    or