Marks & Spencer Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Marks & Spencer Reviews

Updated Oct 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2525 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
66%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Marks & Spencer CEO Steve Rowe
Steve Rowe
781 Ratings
  1. "Visual Merchandiser"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Visual Merchandiser in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Marks & Spencer full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    great management excellent opportunities support and friendly staff

    Cons

    long hours during busier periods

    Marks & Spencer2019-10-15
  2. "Lovely company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Swansea, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Marks & Spencer part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Stress free environment, friendly staff, good pay, excellent holidays and the working hours are pretty good too.

    Cons

    Not much of a bonus but apart from that it's great.

    Marks & Spencer2019-10-13
  3. "Great pay and even better team working environment."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Marks & Spencer part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Felt part of team, was great to be paid the same as people a lot older than me.

    Cons

    Sometimes in busy periods management wouldn't take control as much as they needed to, eg christmas was a bit of a mess, no one knew where they needed to be

    Marks & Spencer2019-10-10
  4. "Store operations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Store Operations 

    I have been working at Marks & Spencer part-time

    Pros

    Flexible, good area, good pay

    Cons

    None at all right now

    Marks & Spencer2019-10-09
  5. "Magic & Sparkle"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Marks & Spencer part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    20% staff discount 2 days off a week Better than average pay and holidays Lovely staff, customers and work environment Combine Sparks card and special event offers with staff discount for greater combined discounts Staff cafe in larger stores Free staff car parking Staff suggestion scheme

    Cons

    Peak trading is very busy and can feel understaffed Some till check outs require maintenance and repair

    Advice to Management

    Recent changes to the retirement staff discount scheme mean I'll need to work 25 years to qualify for 25 years staff discount when I retire. This was 10 years for lifetime staff discount. Staff are working harder and smarter than ever to deliver exceptional customer service and standards.

    Marks & Spencer2019-10-03
  6. "Great Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Customer Service Assistant 

    I have been working at Marks & Spencer full-time

    Pros

    Flexible hours Friendly customer base

    Cons

    None at all great place to work

    Marks & Spencer2019-10-03
  7. "God"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Leicester, England

    I have been working at Marks & Spencer part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Learnt key customer service skils

    Cons

    Not what I wanted to do in future

    Marks & Spencer2019-10-02
  8. "Sales floor ladies wear"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Assistant in Camberley, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Marks & Spencer part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Busy friendly place to work

    Cons

    On your feet all day

    Marks & Spencer2019-10-01
  9. "Great but long hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Warehouse Operator 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Marks & Spencer part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    lots of overtime available

    Cons

    too much pressure from management unrealistic goals

    Marks & Spencer2019-09-30
  10. "Fantastic team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Visual Coordinator 

    I have been working at Marks & Spencer full-time

    Pros

    Diverse, fashion, team, development, hours

    Cons

    Progression, pay, respect for role,

    Marks & Spencer2019-09-28
Found 2525 reviews