Cover image for Marks & Spencer
Logo

Marks & Spencer

Engaged Employer

Marks & Spencer

Add a Review

Marks & Spencer Employee Reviews about "manager"

3.8

68% would recommend to a friend

(1337 total reviews)

Chief Executive Officer Stuart Machin

Stuart Machin

76% approve of CEO

Ratings by category

3.9

Diversity and Inclusion

3.6

Culture and Values

3.6

Compensation and Benefits

3.5

Work/Life Balance

3.3

Career Opportunities

3.2

Senior Management

Ratings distribution

5 stars

28%

4 stars

34%

3 stars

23%

2 stars

8%

1 star

7%

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email

Found 1,337 of over 9K reviews

Updated 5 Dec 2023

What are your colleagues talking about?

Find your exclusive Company Bowl™ on Community. Join the hottest conversation with your colleagues anonymously.
Join the conversation

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Excerpts from user reviews, not authored by Glassdoor

Pros
  • "The pay is good and the company treats you well which is one of the best things about working with M&S.(in 863 reviews)
  • "Friendly staff and was very flexible(in 504 reviews)
  • "People there are nice and helpful(in 431 reviews)
  • "Most colleagues are friendly and personable; more of a 'we're all in this mess together' kind of friendship.(in 403 reviews)
  • "Good Benefits and Discount(in 208 reviews)
Cons
  • "Poor management at time because too many managers on departments that they are not fit to run and just 'wig it'.(in 588 reviews)
  • "Managers are rude and snobby(in 430 reviews)
  • "long hours( ot everyday) having a large amount of inventory buy low sales.(in 283 reviews)
  • "We were not allowed an extra short break to warm up even working with no heating.(in 108 reviews)
  • "Unsociable working hours.(in 76 reviews)

Reviews about "manager"

Return to all Reviews
1337
    1. 4.0
      3 Jan 2023
      Customer Assistant
      Former Employee, more than 3 years
      Congleton, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great team, easy work, poor management at the time however I believe this has since changed

      Cons

      The store manager at the time was very rude and was unable to manage people properly

      Hi there, thanks for leaving us a review. We're disappointed to hear the concerns you’ve raised and would like to take this opportunity to apologise for how you felt during your time with us. This doesn’t sound like the way we do things at Marks and Spencer and completely goes against the values we've worked so hard to uphold. Marks and Spencer

      1. 5.0
        21 Apr 2022
        Customer Sales Assistant
        Current Employee, less than 1 year
        Newbridge
        Recommend
        CEO Approval
        Business Outlook

        Pros

        Great company to work for managers are very good and caring if you have any problems or are sick

        Cons

        There are no cons in my job

        Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are glad to hear that you find us a great company to work for and that you have caring managers. We appreciate your feedback. Marks and Spencer

      2. Join the Marks & Spencer team
        See Our Latest Jobs
        1. 3.0
          15 Jan 2023
          Customer Assistant
          Former Employee, less than 1 year
          Warwick, West Midlands, England
          Recommend
          CEO Approval
          Business Outlook

          Pros

          Fair pay and flexible hours

          Cons

          Managers could be more helpful and patient with new staff who have no previous retail experience.

          Hi there, thanks for leaving us a review! We do all we can to keep an eye on the market and make sure we’re rewarding our Colleagues fairly. We offer training and support to all our new employees, therefore we're sorry to hear your concerns. Marks and Spencer

          1. 5.0
            29 Sept 2017
            Customer Assistant
            Current Employee, more than 5 years
            Shepherds Bush, England
            Recommend
            CEO Approval
            Business Outlook

            Pros

            (In my store, Westfield White City) there are opportunities to grow in the business and managers will push you towards that if you show the correct attitude and want to grow. Throughout the years of people coming and going you find you make great relationships with your colleagues.

            Cons

            Like every job some managers can be difficult. Organisation can be lacking. Communication isn't always great between departments and between managers > section co to customer assistants. Maybe this is due to my store being very large and model store.

            1. 4.0
              15 Jan 2019
              Operations
              Former Contractor, less than 1 year
              Horwich, England
              Recommend
              CEO Approval
              Business Outlook

              Pros

              - The staff are generally pleasant and work together as a team

              Cons

              - Management can be patronising and even the lower level managers take themselves a bit too seriously

              1. 1.0
                19 Aug 2018
                Técnico y administrativo de RR. HH.
                Former Employee, more than 1 year
                Horsham, England
                Recommend
                CEO Approval
                Business Outlook

                Pros

                Apart from making good friends and having a very supportive section manager there were not many pros! 20% Staff discount. (but I receive same discount in my new job

                Cons

                Where do I start? Treated like children by some of the middle management. Being overpaid by nearly £700 when I left and receiving rude and threatening letters from the OVERPAYMENT department making it feel as if it was my fault that I was overpaid. Not being paid the extra perhour for being a First Aider. Unsure as to whether my certificate is still valid and unable to practice my skills if required. Despite asking for this information I have not received it and my new employers are asking for it. Which is embarrassing!!!! Some of the customers are as rude as hell!! It is as if we are stupid because we work in a cafe and are treated as such. They look down on us. Complaining about the length of time hot food took to prepare at peak times. On the whole the customers are lovely. There was little opportunity for progression or extra hours and it seemed that unless you were loud and pushy you were kept in the background.... I was told by a former co-ordinator that being loud and pushy was being 'assertive'. Hmmmph?!!! I was forced to leave as I was unable to get extra hours and I was sadly getting into debt. I am even more insulted as I am being chased for being overpaid and do not have the ready cash to pay it back in one go. I am unable to make an appointment with the bank to arrange a loan to do so as I have weekends off now and my bank is closed!!! How can I possibly be overpaid when employees swipe in and out of their shifts electronically?

                3
                1. 3.0
                  7 Jan 2017
                  Customer Assistant
                  Current Employee, more than 3 years
                  London, England
                  Recommend
                  CEO Approval
                  Business Outlook

                  Pros

                  Staff engagement parties etc Many opportunities to develop your skills and get promoted Young Managers

                  Cons

                  Uniform sometimes the managers are so unprofessional and looks like they do not know what they are doing.

                  1. 4.0
                    5 Apr 2023
                    Retail Assistant
                    Former Employee
                    London, England
                    Recommend
                    CEO Approval
                    Business Outlook

                    Pros

                    Lovely team to work with Managers are really friendly and welcoming Fast paced environment Accommodating to times of hardship - need a day off for being Ill etc.

                    Cons

                    Sometimes hard to get days off when short staffed - understandable

                    Hi there, thanks for leaving us a review! It's great to hear that our Colleagues continue to support one another. We advise our Colleagues to link in with their Line Manager if they have any concerns about their shifts, to find a solution together. Marks and Spencer

                    1. 4.0
                      12 Sept 2016
                      Customer Service Assistant
                      Current Employee, less than 1 year
                      Reading, England
                      Recommend
                      CEO Approval
                      Business Outlook

                      Pros

                      Good Pay 20% Discount Get along with some of the co-workers

                      Cons

                      Customers can be impatient & rude Managers don't want to deal with customers and sometimes they are not seen around on the shop floor

                      1. 3.0
                        6 Oct 2017
                        Section Manager
                        Current Employee, more than 10 years
                        London, England
                        Recommend
                        CEO Approval
                        Business Outlook

                        Pros

                        Great training through learning and development Great communication from head office weekly Some excellent commercial managers who really develop their teams and live and breathe the brand values Great place to learn Excellent trainee management programme

                        Cons

                        No work life balance Senior management do not listen to ideas or input Unrealistic work load Lack of concern for the well being of staff Inconsistent management Too many incompetent managers in senior positions allowed to 'coast' along doing the bare minimum unchallenged because they are close to retirement Not many opportunities to progress from section manager Different rules for different people

                        1
                      Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,337 Reviews
                      </>Embed

                      Popular Careers with Marks & Spencer Job Seekers

                      JobsSalariesInterviews

                      Popular Conversations

                      Interview Tips

                      Feel free to post any interview questions you might be asked and I’ll help you compose an effective response :)

                      Analytical Chemist

                      Do you experience that how long the hiring process would take at Thermo Fisher? I got my second interview with hiring manager at the beginning of November but I haven’t heard nothing from them. When I’ve emailed them to check in they just said that the process would be slow, no time frame. I would be able to get an offer soon from other company but work as contractor. Should I wait for Thermo Fisher?

                      4
                      7 Comments

                      KPMG

                      Booz Allen Hamilton Recently applied and I've been referred for an interview! Any tips on interviewing with Booz Allen? And if I am being asked to complete clearance and background upfront, is this a good indicator for being hired?

                      1
                      3 Comments

                      Alex L.

                      Applied for a job a few weeks back, got a call from HR yesterday morning about an interview next week. She mentioned she'd shoot me an email with all the interview details, but so far, my inbox is empty. Assuming I'll hear from her early next week, is it normal for them to expect me to show up for an in-person interview on short notice, like couple days?

                      12
                      3 Comments

                      Glassdoor has 9,262 Marks & Spencer reviews submitted anonymously by Marks & Spencer employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Marks & Spencer is right for you.