Marks & Spencer "staff discount" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Marks & Spencer Employee Reviews about "staff discount"

Updated 15 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
68%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Marks & Spencer Chief Executive Steve Rowe
Steve Rowe
945 Ratings
Pros
  • "employee benefits including staff discount(in 362 reviews)

  • "Good pay compared to competitors(in 268 reviews)

Cons
  • "I couldn't fault my experience with M&S(in 110 reviews)

  • "long hours during busier periods(in 103 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "staff discount"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great place to work part-tume"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Associate in Oswestry, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Marks & Spencer part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Hours, staff discount, share schemes, colleagues, busy

    Cons

    Simply food store - hard physical work But good rewards

    Advice to Management

    Deal with poor performers.

    Marks & Spencer2020-01-16
  2. "Good benefits but bad management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service in Didcot, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Marks & Spencer full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Staff discount Good hours Good staff Good money

    Cons

    Bad management, ridiculous rules the company have

    Advice to Management

    None

    Marks & Spencer2020-01-02
  3. "Nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Associate in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Marks & Spencer part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay, lovely co-workers, always paid on time every 2 weeks and good staff discount.

    Cons

    Part time hours weren't great for me as shifts were only 4 hours, I would of much preferred to work longer shifts and do less days.

    Advice to Management

    I think it would be great to let part time staff be more flexible with their hours, let them work longer shifts and only 3 days a week if they want to.

    Marks & Spencer2019-12-20
  4. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Customer Service Assistant 

    I have been working at Marks & Spencer part-time

    Pros

    Flexible shift patterns, staff discount

    Cons

    Can’t think of any downsides

    Marks & Spencer2019-11-20
  5. "Great Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marks and Spencer Assistant in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Marks & Spencer part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great staff discount, understanding management, flexible working hours

    Cons

    There are no major cons in my opinion

    Marks & Spencer2019-11-14
  6. "M&S Cafe Customer Assistant Interview"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Contractor - Cafe Customer Assistant in Glasgow, Scotland

    I have been working at Marks & Spencer for less than a year

    Pros

    Good staff discount and great hourly pay.

    Cons

    Location for me could be better.

    Marks & Spencer2019-11-11
  7. "Rate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Associate in Tamworth, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Marks & Spencer part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Staff discount & nice people

    Cons

    No paid breaks. Shift work expected.

    Advice to Management

    None

    Marks & Spencer2019-11-10
  8. "Stressful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Assistant - Hackney in Hackney, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Marks & Spencer full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good Pay 20% staff discount for all M&S products in clothing and the foodhall Fellow customer assistants are helpful and a pleasure to work with

    Cons

    Too many managers on active duty at once resulting in confusion, nitpicking, and pressurization of staff Management disrespectful towards staff and show no appreciation for hard work Some in management are clueless about how the store runs and merely sticks to policies to push for higher sales; this results in staff alienation

    Advice to Management

    Needs to stop harassing staff or get used to rehiring staff every few months (which is how it is at present)

    Marks & Spencer2019-11-20
  9. "Fantastic company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Sales Assistant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Marks & Spencer

    Pros

    Great staff - experienced and ready to help and teach you. Old fashioned customer service, very hands on, helps you to build up trust and rapport with customers. Fantastic pay, even for younger workers. Good staff discount. Well established company, with lots of core customers, gives your job a better responsibility to get things right. Great employee awards scheme. Simple enough to learn procedures, they are efficient for the customer but make things easy for you too.

    Show More

    Cons

    some managers may think too much of themselves. job security may not be there for new employees. Bad at giving references.

    Advice to Management

    Care more about your staff and help them to get new jobs if you’re not willing to keep them.

    Marks & Spencer2019-11-02
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Favourites were chosen"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shop Assistant in Bishop Auckland, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Marks & Spencer part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free fruit Good pay Staff Discount @ 20%

    Cons

    Not allowed to have water at the tills to get a drink as this looks bad to customers Younger employees were typically put on the tills compared to the more "senior" employees who believed they were better just since they'd worked there slightly longer Shifts would often change the night before and you'd only find out by getting a phone call asking why you weren't in work

    Marks & Spencer2019-11-07
Found 362 reviews