Marriott Vacations Worldwide Reviews

Updated 28 Apr 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
69%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Marriott Vacations Worldwide President Steve Weisz
Steve Weisz
364 Ratings
Pros
  • "Competitive pay and great benefits(in 63 reviews)

  • "Great company that takes care of associates and makes you feel like family(in 50 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours, under appreciated, boo(in 14 reviews)

  • "Upper management is more involved in middle management than they need to be and a lot of roles are taken advantage of here(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. "Touch and go..."

    3.0
    • Compensation and Benefits
     

    I worked at Marriott Vacations Worldwide

    Pros

    They try to treat you well. Loads of staff benefits and even an annual Associate Appreciation Week.

    Cons

    Some departments are over stretched whilst others are under utilised. Some people/departments work really hard whilst others seem to be only seasonally/occasionally busy. There weren't many career opportunities. If you were ambitious you had to leave to progress unless you were lucky enough to have a good line manager.

    Continue reading
  2. COVID-19

    "Depressing as it gets"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing in Newport Beach, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Marriott Vacations Worldwide full-time

    Pros

    The discount is nice if you use it and IF you travel off season. The location is gorgeous IF you take a minute to look. A lot of the non management are very down to earth , fun people. Pay can be decent at times (still always less than what we deserve for slinging timeshare this day and age )

    Cons

    Specifically the Newport Coast Villas call center environment. The managers there are some of the most toxic people you will ever meet. Covid did not help an already sinking ship (laid off 75% of the team) If you choose to work here plan to be micro managed, harassed, bullied, threatened, lied to all in a days work. They say whatever they say to you but will just change it a few weeks later. The comp plan , your schedule , the gift options , which territory you call for , what your job even is ALL changes at the drop of a hat based on your relationship with the managers that week . It’s depressing how very little they care about their team and it begins to wear. The entire team is absolutely miserable , chain smokers who rely on bong rips in the car and coke bumps to make it through the day . This place could be so much more than it is and that’s why it’s so sad what it became. Half the team has pursued HR action because of the unfair lead distribution week after week. Good luck!

    Continue reading

    Marriott Vacations Worldwide Response

    March 4, 2021Global Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your feedback. It's good to see you enjoyed the travel discounts and beautiful locations as well as our amazing associates and competitive compensation. We are sorry the rest of your experience did not align with our caring, supportive culture. We take these issues seriously and would like to hear more about your experience so we can try to address these issues. If you're comfortable sharing more about your experience, please email us at AssociateServiceCenter@mvwc.com.


  3. "Great job for when you need money and benefits"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vacation Ownership Specialist in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Marriott Vacations Worldwide full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Got paid $14 an hour and got to work from home. Lower management appeared understanding of the employees plight and general verbal abuse we received from customers when the system screwed the customers over Lower management tends to recognize you for good deeds Free snacks Lower management in general is pretty understanding and full of decent people.

    Cons

    Systems break constantly, not just for employees, the entire website for the customers. Have to deal with the fallout of owners getting swindled by salesmen Have to deal with the fallout of owners getting double charged, the system preventing them from making a payment, and the general employee vs owner culture. Inept IT and website teams using inept systems that make employee and customers lives way more difficult than need be. Downsizing of critical teams without an attempt to retain new hires other than providing office activities to distract csr and chat employees from the fact they are the punching bag for customers upset at the scammy nature of timeshares. Upper management is completely dethatched from the reality of their call center employees

    Continue reading

    Marriott Vacations Worldwide Response

    March 12, 2021Global Talent Acquisition

    Thank you so much for sharing your experience. We are glad to see you enjoyed the pay and ability to work from home. It's great to see your direct management was supportive, understanding, and helpful to you. Your feedback about our systems and customer issues is helpful. We will share this feedback with the team. If you'd like to share more, please email us at AssociateServiceCenter@mvwc.com. Thank you again!

  4. "Great company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front Office Manager in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Marriott Vacations Worldwide full-time

    Pros

    Very happy here to be working here

    Cons

    Pay is not that great

  5. "Abusive, discriminating mgmt and coworkers"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Activities in Doral, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Marriott Vacations Worldwide full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    there is nothing positive about them

    Cons

    Awful work conditions, mgmt has their favorites, coworker jealousy, abusive practices, dishonesty, discriminating mgmt (which I wrote about in my resignation letter and no one ever cared about this, no one even reached out to investigate this). They do not support or appreciate solid work ethics, academic education or dedication. Their front desk and office staff (except for one kind lady there) does not like anyone who has more education, professionalism or poise than they do. Very hostile environment. The two male top managers have favorites, who get anything they want. It is horrible.

    Continue reading

    Marriott Vacations Worldwide Response

    April 27, 2021Global Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that your experience did not align with our company culture. We take our associate wellbeing seriously and encourage you to contact us at AssociateServiceCenter@mvwc.com to discuss further. Thank you again for your feedback.

  6. "No Life Balance Culture"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Marriott Vacations Worldwide full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits medical dental hotel stays

    Cons

    No Life Balance Culture starting from the top. Upper management flaunts their ability to have weekends off and vacation any time. Sales and management team must stay til all hours of the night if there is even the slightest chance of a sale. Regardless of team commuting time some of which are almost 2 hours, top management will make you stay til 10pm and then return the next day at 7:30am! Even though they leave at 5pm!?

    Continue reading
  7. "Great"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Marriott Vacations Worldwide full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great place to work at

    Cons

    Great place to work at but high expectations

    Marriott Vacations Worldwide Response

    April 27, 2021Global Talent Acquisition

    We appreciate your positive feedback about your experience at MVW! We strive to encourage a healthy work-life balance for all of our associates and manage expectations appropriately across teams. Thank you again for your review!

  8. "Love it"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Housekeeping Manager in Singer Island, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Marriott Vacations Worldwide full-time

    Pros

    Great customer service! Great prices!

    Cons

    Loved everything! everyone was so kind

    Continue reading

    Marriott Vacations Worldwide Response

    April 27, 2021Global Talent Acquisition

    We’re so glad you enjoy the experience of working at MVW! Thank you for sharing your feedback.

  9. "Great Place to Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Marriott Vacations Worldwide full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great Company to work for.

    Cons

    I do not have any Cons to report

    Marriott Vacations Worldwide Response

    April 27, 2021Global Talent Acquisition

    We’re so glad you enjoyed the experience of working at MVW! Thank you for sharing your feedback.

  10. Helpful (1)

    "Marketing Coordinator work as a Concierge to sign up guests to sales presentations in exchange of gifts."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Coordinator in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Marriott Vacations Worldwide full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work duties, expectations and results are clearly presented and seen. Good kick backs from tourist attractions and highest bonuses from work results in the industry. Clear path to sales department if you are interested where you make even more money. Overall very pleasing work with good income. Great hotel discounts (80% off) for you and your family and great tourist attractions for free - to try as a concierge to promote their business.

    Cons

    Always changing schedule that puts best marketers at busiest times makes it difficult to plan life. Stressed out money hungry managers go back and forth with their decisions forgetting about line employees. Bonus structure changing every month.

    Continue reading

    Marriott Vacations Worldwide Response

    February 5, 2021Global Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your experience at MVW. It's great to see you enjoyed the work, benefits and opportunities to earn incentives. If you are interested in sharing more about your experience so we might improve, please email us at AssociateServiceCenter@mvwc.com. Thank you again.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 735 Reviews

Work at Marriott Vacations Worldwide? Share Your Experiences

Marriott Vacations Worldwide logo
or