Marriott Vacations Worldwide Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Marriott Vacations Worldwide Reviews

Updated Nov 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
69%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Marriott Vacations Worldwide President Steve Weisz
Steve Weisz
279 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Questionable upper management who hire friends and family and make up positions for them(in 11 reviews)

  • "Discounts in hotels are a scam just if you earn a lot of money you can pay it(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Touch and go..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Compensation and Benefits
     

    I worked at Marriott Vacations Worldwide

    Pros

    They try to treat you well. Loads of staff benefits and even an annual Associate Appreciation Week.

    Cons

    Some departments are over stretched whilst others are under utilised. Some people/departments work really hard whilst others seem to be only seasonally/occasionally busy. There weren't many career opportunities. If you were ambitious you had to leave to progress unless you were lucky enough to have a good line manager.

    Advice to Management

    Senior Leaders across all departments need to lead by example.

    Marriott Vacations Worldwide2015-06-21
  2. "Great Company. Unfair and biased upper management and staff."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vacation Sales Coordinator in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Marriott Vacations Worldwide full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Health Benefits. Hotel Perks

    Cons

    Questionable upper management who hire friends and family and make up positions for them.

    Advice to Management

    Employees see when you you treat one employee different from the other. Be mindful of your nepotism.

    Marriott Vacations Worldwide2019-11-23
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Overall, great company, pay and benefits."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Director in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Marriott Vacations Worldwide full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Fantastic associates across the world. Real team environment.

    Cons

    Growing too quickly and sacrificing seasoned associates for cost cutting measures. Not much room for growth once you move out of hourly to management in the corporate side.

    Advice to Management

    Appreciate all your associates who have stuck with you through the worst and best of times. Cutting corners and key associates breeds mistrust and lack of loyalty.

    Marriott Vacations Worldwide2019-11-06
  4. "Love my job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Data Entry Clerk in Orlando, FL
    Recommends

    I have been working at Marriott Vacations Worldwide full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    No talking to customers, lots of busywork, PTO and holiday pay, management is great!

    Cons

    Hours can be long sometimes

    Marriott Vacations Worldwide2019-11-02
  5. "Good money, dead end job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Executive in Newport Coast, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Marriott Vacations Worldwide full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good money, good work life balance, make your own hours, easy job if you don't mind making 100+ calls a day

    Cons

    Dead end job, poor management, mundane and repetitive job, no positive culture or values

    Marriott Vacations Worldwide2019-11-14
  6. "Crooks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Orlando, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Marriott Vacations Worldwide full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Hours, Thats pretty much it!

    Cons

    0 credibility, ethics or integrity! If you don't lie cheat or steal you will never make it here! Its unfortunate that a company this size has stooped to the level of Westgate and Diamond. I feel sorry for the owners getting duped by these lie spewing reps and managers.

    Advice to Management

    The sales floors as they stand are not sustainable! Reps lying to and misrepresenting the company to owners needs to be addressed. They are pretty much stealing money from them and no-one seems to care. Advise is simple, after you settle the upcoming lawsuits from owners, bring back the ethics and integrity that should come with this brand and fire anyone not in line with those standards.

    Marriott Vacations Worldwide2019-11-21
  7. "Micromanaged"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Jacksonville, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Marriott Vacations Worldwide full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefits Money decent if sales are good Immediate manager cares Enjoy working with guests

    Cons

    Treated like children. Don't value the people who have stayed for years...quick to let someone go. Abundance of micro managers ready to write someone up. Making it more and more difficult to give excellent customer care because of the number of dials that must be met.

    Advice to Management

    Drop the micro managing. Hire people you trust so we are all not treated like children. As long as the work gets done then leave employees be. This job could be way more enjoyable and way less micromanaged . You are creating a toxic work environment by not giving us freedom to work at our own pace and not compare us to other employees. Please stop babysitting and let us work at our own pace and not worry about... dials and other nonsense and you will have more productive and happier employees

    Show More
    Marriott Vacations Worldwide2019-11-01
  8. "A Culture of Fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in Palm Desert, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Marriott Vacations Worldwide full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Salary, Great Benefits, Strict yet reasonable management, recognition

    Cons

    I don't know if it's a con but the expectations and approach is not for everybody.

    Advice to Management

    I'm sure management itself is striving for the better. My advice is to listen sincerely to your employees for they know if you do care or not. Some departments are at its best in listening to their employees and guest but doesn't perform the expected performance scores, some departments perform well or maybe even better than the rest but the work environment is not healthy for the associates.

    Marriott Vacations Worldwide2019-10-15
  9. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front Desk Agent 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Marriott Vacations Worldwide full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very Smart Company Good benefits flexible work schedule

    Cons

    working all the time Low pay

    Marriott Vacations Worldwide2019-10-24
  10. "Average for a Call Center"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vacation Advisor in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Marriott Vacations Worldwide full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    There are opportunities for advancement, and hotel discounts are a nice benefit.

    Cons

    I often felt overworked due to a combination of what felt like sub-par systems being used, long calls and frequent long hold times, and an unresponsive management.

    Advice to Management

    See cons.

    Marriott Vacations Worldwide2019-10-22
Found 533 reviews