Mars Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Mars Reviews

Updated 9 Apr 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
62%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
Mars Office of the President Grant F. Reid
Grant F. Reid
48 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits(low premium/deductible)(in 109 reviews)

  • "Some facilities have great people that I enjoyed working with(in 84 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work/life balance can be good but you are always on(in 82 reviews)

  • "some poor-performing people get promoted and are in higher, decision-making positions(in 42 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (3)

    "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources Generalist in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mars full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of opportunities for growth internally, especially if you are willing to relocate.

    Cons

    Large merger resulted in many positions being eliminated.

    Mars2019-09-11
  2. "So good I had to come back"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - senior business change manager in Slough, Berkshire, South East England, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mars full-time

    Pros

    Focus on the wellbeing of its staff & ethics is omnipresent, truly a family feel

    Cons

    Decision making is painfully slow

    Mars2020-04-07
  3. "Lost sight of principles"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Category Manager in Melton Mowbray, England

    I worked at Mars full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good flexibility, career opportunities and great people

    Cons

    Lost sight of company principles. Withdrawing investment in people development. Lack of focus on customer

    Mars2020-04-08
  4. "Mars"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Delivery Driver in Leeds, England

    I have been working at Mars full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent pay and time off I guess

    Cons

    Hard graft lond days work I suppose

    Mars2020-04-02
  5. "great brands. Great company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior National Account Manager in Slough, Berkshire, South East England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mars full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great brands. Fun people. Focused.

    Cons

    Can be very political and takes away the passion.

    Continue reading
    Mars2020-03-22
  6. "A brilliant place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Revenue Manager in Waltham on the Wolds, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mars full-time

    Pros

    Flexible working, Learning and development. Progression

    Cons

    Demanding progression of targets year on year

    Mars2020-02-16
  7. "Stuck in the dark ages in Slough!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Operator in Slough, Berkshire, South East England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mars full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Can work as hard or as little as you like to succeed. Spend good money on pointless days out in the name of team building!

    Cons

    Hours, training, resources to do your job, poor team leading and middle management, progression through who you know not what you know, too much progression from within, trying to be better than are with latest fads such as Kaiser, lean etc.

    Continue reading
    Mars2020-02-21
  8. "Great environment to work in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Slough, Berkshire, South East England, England

    I have been working at Mars full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Strong culture of openness with a focus on continuous improvement

    Cons

    Open office can be noisy

    Mars2019-11-17
  9. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Apprentice Engineer in Melton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mars full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Really good place to work, allows you to find where you fit in in regards to your function eg, PLC programming or wiring. So you can get given projects of implementing new kit even after being there only for a short period of time!

    Cons

    Sometimes can be stressful as you get too many jobs from different people and they all want you to do it now, even when your apprentice and trying to learn at the same times things take a little longer than if a full time technician would of done it.

    Continue reading
    Mars2019-11-16
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Under staffed Under paid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Operator in Birstall, Yorkshire and the Humber, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Mars full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Hours and days off. None

    Cons

    Working for mars is a massive downside. People overlooked for promotion. Mars policies not followed my management. Always short staffed. New starters come and leave. Never stop more than a week. Them and us mentality between office and factory. The new “landslide” pay rise system is wrong. You can work your backside off all year for a exceeds pay rise but due to the “landslide” payment system you only get a meets pay rise. It looks to many of the factory staff that the place is going to be an R&D Hub

    Continue reading
    Mars2019-12-11
Found 903 reviews
</>Embed