Marsh & McLennan Companies "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Marsh & McLennan Companies Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 19 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
65%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Marsh & McLennan Companies CEO Daniel S. Glaser
Daniel S. Glaser
248 Ratings
Pros
  • "I'm pleased I made to move to Marsh, I feel supported by my manager and have true work life balance(in 56 reviews)

  • "Innovative, inspiring and on trend with great benefits(in 42 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Good company to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - New Business in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Marsh & McLennan Companies full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good work life balance Supportive management

    Cons

    Nothing major as of now

    Marsh & McLennan Companies2019-04-25
  2. "Great people, awful treatment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Pension Administrator 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Marsh & McLennan Companies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people, some social events, support for qualifications, good work/life balance

    Cons

    Very corporate, numbers/SLA driven, fast paced stressful environment, unfair staff treatment

    Marsh & McLennan Companies2020-01-13
  3. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Marsh & McLennan Companies full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    People Flexible working Development and progression

    Cons

    Work life balance needs worked on More staff

    Marsh & McLennan Companies2019-11-27
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Like working back in the 1960s"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Handler in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Marsh & McLennan Companies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Travel (if very lucky) Holiday is better than average (26 days + bank holidays)

    Cons

    They recruit younger staff on higher salaries however there is zero progression. If you want to relocate you are expected to stay on the same salaries. Obnoxious management, people are obliged to stay there past 5.30pm, extremely poor communication, top to bottom approach, things only improved since the acquisition of JLT (they honored JLT's benefits but they'll be gone next year), men's culture, the MD is unprofessional and gossipy, no work life balance, £450 pay rise after three years as each year they would say that there's no money in the pot (and then after no bonuses and budgets) would release a statement about what a great financial year they've had.

    Continue reading
    Marsh & McLennan Companies2019-09-05
  5. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Analyst in Liverpool, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Marsh & McLennan Companies full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Very good work life balance

    Cons

    Poor comminication and cross tower working.

    Marsh & McLennan Companies2019-04-16
  6. "Business Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Busineess Analyst in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Marsh & McLennan Companies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company perks. Good work life balance. Very social

    Cons

    Too many management layers to get work done/signed off. Changing of direction all too often

    Marsh & McLennan Companies2018-10-23
  7. "Communications"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Marsh & McLennan Companies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work life balance

    Cons

    Internal politics Incapable people in manager level roles

    Marsh & McLennan Companies2017-12-05
  8. "Honest review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Marsh & McLennan Companies full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good training. Remuneration ok on face of it but not if you want a work/life balance

    Cons

    Long hours, heavy workload, very stressful, poor management and mgmt bad at creating good morale. No work/life balance.

    Continue reading
    Marsh & McLennan Companies2017-10-22
  9. "Left"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Oracle Support in London, England

    I worked at Marsh & McLennan Companies full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Was a Great Company to work for

    Cons

    Work life balance did not seem to work

    Marsh & McLennan Companies2016-07-29
  10. "Temp Role at Marsh in Solicitors Professional Indemnity Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Marsh & McLennan Companies full-time

    Pros

    Work culture at Marsh is very inclusive and I felt my line managers was easy to approach when I needed help with anything. Pay is a massive bonus at Marsh for this particular role compared to other companies. Work/life balance was fantastic. Work was quite social whilst I was there over the summer. Get to go out a number of afternoons drinking throughout the season.

    Cons

    Work was fairly boring and menial task based a lot of the time. Not very intellectually challenging, however it was the nature of the role, its just a step up into the industry

    Marsh & McLennan Companies2015-12-18

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 87 reviews