Marston's Chef Reviews

Updated Dec 7, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 34 of over 425 reviews

3.4
55%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Marston's CEO Andrew Andrea
Andrew Andrea
1 Rating
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great company, friendly family knit workplace.

    Apr 17, 2021 - Chef 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Friendly teams within a company that care about their employees. Flexible shifts and work patterns with a good pension scheme. Good rates of pay and lots of room to advance within the company.

    Cons

    No cons thus far, a really nice company in my opinion.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Marston's Response

    Digital Resourcing Manager

    Thanks for the review, we really value all our kitchen teams so it's lovely to hear that you are enjoying working for us!

  2. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Sound

    Dec 7, 2021 - Head Chef/Kitchen Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Staff that you work with

    Cons

    Hours Pay Senior management Constantly hearing false promises

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Don't waste your time.

    Nov 13, 2021 - Chef in Orpington, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    None don't waste your time.

    Cons

    Over worked under paid Management bully staff Management do what, they want

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Marston's Response

    Thank you for your review, we really appreciate your feedback from your time working with us. however, we are alarmed to hear of your experience, and we are really very sorry to hear that you were made to feel this way. Marston's are passionate about ensuring that each and every member of our teams are treated fairly, and with respect. I can assure you, we will be looking into this further, and would appreciate if there was any other specific feedback you were happy to share, that you could forward it to our dedicated account at contactus@raisethebar.co.uk.

  4. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Pretty good, but some issues

    Jul 31, 2021 - Junior Chef Apprentice in Andover, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good benefits, pay is decent and care about employees

    Cons

    4 general managers in a year, Kitchen managers can be touch and go, busy shifts with little teaching

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Basic work

    Jul 10, 2021 - Chef in Leeds, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good management, simple work with offen a laugh

    Cons

    Poor cash, usually hire very young front of house.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Marston's Response

    Digital Resourcing Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review - your feedback is really important to us. As an inclusive employer, we work hard to ensure that all of our roles are open to anyone, irrespective of age or any other factors - we are looking at our pay and benefits packages therefore, to ensure they are appealing to all. All the best in your next role.

  6. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Good Foundation, Needs Improvement

    Apr 22, 2021 - Sous Chef in Bristol, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Very family and team focused. -Good benefits -Effective training and clear way to progress in a career

    Cons

    -Bad communication between Management and Staff -Upper management is often late to pass on critical information -Can take a while to get feedback and approval to do basic things

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Marston's Response

    Digital Resourcing Manager

    Thank you so much for your review of Marston's, we really value feedback from our employees to ensure that we can strive to be the best employer. It's great to hear that you rate the benefits and training you receive as part of your role. I appreciate your feedback on communication, as a large company, it is often the biggest challenge we face to ensure that every team member has the information and feedback required to do their job to the best of their abilities. We will soon be launching a new internal social media platform for our pub teams and support centre, which we are hoping will make a massive difference. Please rest assured we will continue to work on getting this right.

  7. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Good company to work for

    Apr 2, 2021 - Head Chef/Kitchen Manager in Nuneaton, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Competitive salary, good head office communication, great area manager, knowledgeable and engaged general manager, great team members

    Cons

    Long hours, stressful, no bonus scheme

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Marston's Response

    Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thanks for the review - it sounds like you really enjoy your role and you are getting strong support which is great. To your point around hours, the nature of these roles can include long hours and hard work which we really appreciate the efforts and support you provide. If you wanted to expand on some ideas around the bonus scheme point feel free to contact us at contactus.helpraisethebar.co.uk and we can look into this for you. Thanks.

  8. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Its good

    Apr 1, 2021 - Kitchen Porter/Chef in Stafford, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Nice team and good hours

    Cons

    Minimum wage for hard work

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Marston's Response

    Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Many thanks for your review - we do appreciate the efforts you make and support you provide to our business. Thanks.

  9. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Okay

    Mar 13, 2021 - Chef in Durham, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good team aspect to work

    Cons

    Low paid, under staffed, little respect

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Marston's Response

    Resourcing Channel Lead

    Hi - thank you for taking the time out to feedback to us. It is disappointing to hear that you feel there are some negative points linked to your experience of working with us and we would like to understand a bit more about those views if possible. If you are willing to share more information please can you visit contactus.helpraisethebar.co.uk where we will be look into your points in more detail. Many thanks.

  10. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Place to be , committed to improving

    Feb 17, 2021 - Project Manager in Manchester, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Happy and positive place to be, honest and open environment

    Cons

    Constraints of self imposed red tape

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Marston's Response

    Resourcing Channel Lead

    Thanks for your review. Yes I think its a happy place to be also, but indeed nobody likes red tape which can be constraining when working across departments for sure. All the best and thanks again.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 34 Reviews

Popular Careers with Marston's Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Marston's? Share Your Experiences

Marston's logo
or