Marston's Front of House Reviews

Updated Nov 12, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 17 of over 426 reviews

3.3
60%
Recommend to a Friend
Marston's CEO Andrew Andrea
Andrew Andrea
0 Rating
  1. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Good place to work

    Sep 9, 2021 - Front of House Staff in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good place to work Understanding Work around family commitments

    Cons

    No cons as of yet

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    The people make it

    Nov 12, 2021 - Front of House Staff in Ashby de la Zouch, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Mostly repetitive work but with a good set of colleagues it made it lots more enjoyable

    Cons

    Pay is terrible and customers are.. well.. customers

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Marston's Response

    Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, your feedback is really important to us. We are very pleased to hear that you have a great relation with your colleagues. In regards to the pay, this is high on our agenda and we will ensure we pass on your feedback to the relevant teams!

  3. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    It's down to who your boss is

    Oct 6, 2021 - Front of House Staff in Wolverhampton, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Nice staff and customers 90% of the time. You learn a lot on the floor and in the kitchen.

    Cons

    Getting funding towards new or replacement equipment and repairs on the same issue can be daily. The gas shortage finds gas distribution poor, where one bar can have none and another stored 5 cans for being quite

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  4. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Meh

    Jun 10, 2021 - Front of House Staff in Brackley, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Is money and can be pleasant at some times

    Cons

    Bad pay, unorganised management, stress

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Horrific Company Politics

    May 17, 2021 - Front of House Team Member in Lutterworth, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Absolutely nothing springs to mind except maybe one other member of the wait staff wasn’t a terrible person

    Cons

    Awful experience. The staff all bickered constantly and were absurdly mean to the younger members of staff, very belittling. There was constant drama and gossiping, an absurd amount of entitlement and abuse of power from Senior management. I was screamed at in front of customers which is ridiculously unprofessional, made to do tasks that fell way outside of my pay grade, I never knew what hours I was doing as they changed their minds constantly, sometimes I’d make a 30 minute bus journey there to be sent home after 10 minutes, other times I’d be expected to work hours after my finish time. The staff turnover rate should say volumes about the place (I am specifically talking about The Elms pub in Lutterworth, I can’t comment on other Marston’s venues). A horrendous company, awful work culture that was so toxic. Would avoid like the plague.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Marston's Response

    Digital Resourcing Manager

    Thank you for your review, we really appreciate your feedback from your time working at one of our pubs. We are alarmed to hear of your experiences, and we are really very sorry to hear that you were made to feel this way. Marston's is deeply opposed to any form of bullying and we are passionate about ensuring that each and every member of our teams are treated fairly, and with respect. We will be looking into this further, and would appreciate if there was any other specific feedback you were happy to share, that you could forward it to our dedicated account at contactus@raisethebar.co.uk. Thanks again for your time.

  6. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Good

    Apr 6, 2021 - Front of House 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good staff and decent managers

    Cons

    Long hours and working weekends

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Marston's Response

    Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your feedback it is much appreciated. We are people focused so it's great to hear that you think this. This industry can involve long hours and weekend working in order to provide the great service to our guests so we appreciate the contributions you made when working with us. Thanks.

  7. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Was alright

    Mar 28, 2021 - Front of House in Derby, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good pay and good work colleagues

    Cons

    Working long hours and weekends

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Marston's Response

    Resourcing Channel Lead

    Thanks for your review. We think our work colleagues are great too. Weekends are a big part of our provision to our customers but in terms of hours we like to be flexible to peoples needs as much as we can. Please highlight your desires if you haven't already to your GM. We hope you get some positive change for when we re-open in April and we look forward to having you back.

  8. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Fine for a first job

    Jan 29, 2021 - Front of House Staff 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Free lunch (if you work long enough to have a lunch break)

    Cons

    Less than minimum wage after tax Didn't find out rota until the night before If you weren't friends with management it wasn't the best environment Chefs were horrible, sexist and misogynistic

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Marston's Response

    Resourcing Channel Lead

    Hi - Thanks for taking the time out to provide us with this feedback. We would be interested in finding out more about your specific situation as described so please contact us at contactus.helpraisethebar.co.uk where we can look into this further for you. Many thanks,

  9. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Mediocre job opportunity. Great carvery though!

    Nov 3, 2020 - Front of House Staff 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Really great training programme for young people

    Cons

    Shift hours are never guaranteed which is a shame

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Marston's Response

    Resourcing Channel Lead

    Thanks for your review. Agreed - massive thumbs up to our carveries! Always about an extra mini boat of gravy too. Glad you liked the training. It's something our team are working hard to improve on continually via apprenticeships and other routes. All the very best for the future and hope to see you for a carvery soon, post lockdown! Marston's

  10. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Tiring

    Sep 23, 2020 - Front of House in London, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good tips, good customers, food on shift

    Cons

    Tiring hours for £8, long and exhausting

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 17 Reviews

Popular Careers with Marston's Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Marston's? Share Your Experiences

Marston's logo
or