Marston's Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Marston's Reviews

Updated 19 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
42%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
Marston's CEO  Ralph Findlay
Ralph Findlay
82 Ratings
Pros
  • "amazing team work at the pub I work at(in 10 reviews)

  • "Work discount card help with 20%off(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "No budgets for staff, minimum wage(in 19 reviews)

  • "Long hours expected, brand recognition needs work(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "A great company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Company Secretary in Wolverhampton, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Marston's full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Friendly staff with positive outlooks. Everyone is happy to 'roll up' their sleeves and work together.

    Cons

    Making things happen on a restricted budget can be a challenge but it forces me to think differently

    Marston's2019-07-29

    Marston's Response

    August 9, 2019Digital Resourcing Manager

    Thanks so much for taking the time to leave your feedback, we were delighted to hear that our teams are pulling together to get the job done :) ! I agree that we all feel the pressures of cost control and operating on a restricted budget, not just within Marston's, but I love the positive spin you have put on this by acknowledging how this helps you to think more creatively. I'm sure this is a skill which will drive you to continued success in your career. Congratulations on your long service with Marston's and thank you for your loyalty! Best wishes Victoria Foster - Digital Resourcing Manager

    Continue reading
  2. "Solid Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Corby, Northamptonshire, East Midlands, England

    I have been working at Marston's full-time

    Pros

    Learn skills that go beyond pub trade

    Cons

    Depending on contract little-no hours

    Marston's2020-02-19
  3. "Good place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Staff in Southport, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Marston's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Always paid on time, potential career path

    Cons

    Minimum wage, very anal about bar closedown

    Continue reading
    Marston's2020-02-09
  4. "Great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Marston's full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The people are the best thing without question- warm, friendly and relaxed.

    Cons

    It can be difficult to communicate and get things delivered due to the size of the operation, but this is not down to lack of effort!

    Marston's2020-02-07
  5. "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Warehouse Team Leader in Wolverhampton, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Marston's full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Some people willing to help progress your career

    Cons

    Too many bad people

    Continue reading
    Marston's2020-02-01
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Don’t work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor in Maidstone, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Marston's full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There aren’t many pros of this job

    Cons

    Company lacks chain of command. No budgets for staff, minimum wage

    Marston's2020-02-12
  7. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server/Waitress 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Marston's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay and nice management

    Cons

    Bad hours because zero hour contract

    Marston's2020-01-08
  8. "Okayish company to work for, minimal benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in North Yorkshire, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Marston's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Staff Discount Card, Possibility to transfer between different areas

    Cons

    Staff needs to pay for their own meals even when they work all day. It can get very expensive when you on a low pay. Objectification of women ( at pub level, varies from manager to manager)

    Continue reading
    Marston's2020-01-22
  9. "Good but needs more structure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Deputy Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Marston's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance Pay If you enjoy hospitality then it’s good, but as with any hospitality job it’s not for everyone!

    Cons

    Needs more structure, invest in new technologies, better bonus scheme

    Marston's2020-01-03
  10. "Not the worst place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server/Waitress 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Marston's full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very flexible hours, opportunities to advance within the company

    Cons

    Can sometimes be very stressful and busy

    Marston's2020-01-03

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 201 reviews