Marston's Reviews

Updated 6 May 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
67%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Marston's CEO  Ralph Findlay
Ralph Findlay
127 Ratings
Pros
  • "Learn skills that go beyond pub trade(in 12 reviews)

  • "marston's(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "Tiring long hours not flexibility(in 23 reviews)

  • "Minimum wage, very anal about bar closedown(in 22 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. "Friendly"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accounts Manager in Birmingham, England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Marston's part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Career welcoming, opportunity, support, professional

    Cons

    None, sometimes long hours, attracting good staff

    Marston's Response

    May 3, 2021Digital Resourcing Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, we really value your feedback. As a recruiter myself, I understand the importance of attracting good staff. We are really pleased you enjoyed support and opportunity during your time with us. All the best for the future!

  2. "OK place to work"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar/Waiting Staff in Preston, North West England, England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Marston's full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    My team are good and the customers are fab. Tips are good too.

    Cons

    Awful managers and awful pay for how much you work.


  3. "Review"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Waiting Staff 

    I worked at Marston's full-time

    Pros

    Marston's provided a wonderful work atmosphere and I loved being part of such a great and dedicated team.

    Cons

    It was often tiring when the pub was busy, but I still enjoyed serving so many customers.

    Marston's Response

    May 3, 2021Digital Resourcing Manager

    Thanks for your review! Great to hear that you enjoyed your time with Marston's - so pleased that you enjoyed the atmosphere at work. We appreciate how hard our team members work, particularly those working in our pubs, we like to think the busy shifts are outweighed by the many benefits we offer and the perks of working in Hospitality. All the best in whatever comes next.

  4. "Good Foundation, Needs Improvement"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Sous Chef in Bristol, England, England

    I have been working at Marston's full-time

    Pros

    -Very family and team focused. -Good benefits -Effective training and clear way to progress in a career

    Cons

    -Bad communication between Management and Staff -Upper management is often late to pass on critical information -Can take a while to get feedback and approval to do basic things

    Marston's Response

    April 26, 2021Digital Resourcing Manager

    Thank you so much for your review of Marston's, we really value feedback from our employees to ensure that we can strive to be the best employer. It's great to hear that you rate the benefits and training you receive as part of your role. I appreciate your feedback on communication, as a large company, it is often the biggest challenge we face to ensure that every team member has the information and feedback required to do their job to the best of their abilities. We will soon be launching a new internal social media platform for our pub teams and support centre, which we are hoping will make a massive difference. Please rest assured we will continue to work on getting this right.

  5. "The British Oak"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Staff in Kingswinford, England, England

    I worked at Marston's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I worked at The British Oak, Marstons for just over a year. I would highly recommend to anybody looking for a job. Paul and Wendy are so lovely and welcome you with open arms. Environment is friendly, staff are lovely and so are the customers. I haven't got a bad word to say about the pub, staff or customers.

    Cons

    Haven't got any negative comments

    Continue reading

    Marston's Response

    April 20, 2021Digital Resourcing Manager

    What a lovely review! I know the Royal Oak well, it's great to hear that you were made to feel so welcome during your time working there. All the best in whatever's next.

  6. "Great company, friendly family knit workplace."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Chef 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Marston's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly teams within a company that care about their employees. Flexible shifts and work patterns with a good pension scheme. Good rates of pay and lots of room to advance within the company.

    Cons

    No cons thus far, a really nice company in my opinion.

    Marston's Response

    April 20, 2021Digital Resourcing Manager

    Thanks for the review, we really value all our kitchen teams so it's lovely to hear that you are enjoying working for us!

  7. "Amazing company to work for."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor in Fakenham, England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Marston's full-time

    Pros

    Been with marstons for 3 years, 2 as supervisor. Very family and team oriented and supportive employer. Flexible hours, great management, overall great company to be working for.

    Cons

    No cons to talk about

    Marston's Response

    April 20, 2021Digital Resourcing Manager

    Thanks for your lovely review! We love to hear amazing feedback from our pub teams. Hope the pub reopening has gone smoothly, keep up the great work.

  8. "meh"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Gloucester, England, England

    I have been working at Marston's full-time

    Pros

    is there any pros to the job?

    Cons

    not great pay for assistant manager

  9. "Really cares for staff."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Fakenham, England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Marston's full-time

    Pros

    They care for the wellbeing of all their staff, pay for apprenticeships and have multiple welfare programs.

    Cons

    The pay could be a little better for waiting staff.

    Marston's Response

    April 26, 2021Digital Resourcing Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, your feedback is really important to us. It's great to hear that you are feeling the benefit of our focus on wellbeing and welfare. Pay is always a contentious issue, regardless of the role, we know how valuable our pub team members are to our success. We like to think that our pay rates are supplemented by a variety of great benefits offered. Keep up the great work!

  10. "The Running Horse"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Waitress in Fakenham, England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Marston's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    you become a family, you manager cares about your welfare, friendly, close knit work dynamics

    Cons

    there isn't really any cons at all

    Continue reading

    Marston's Response

    April 20, 2021Digital Resourcing Manager

    Thanks so much for your review, feedback from our pub teams is really important to us. In particular we are delighted to hear that you have such a great relationship with your team and manager. Thanks for your continued service and hard work.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 322 Reviews

Popular Careers with Marston's Job Seekers

General Manager
Learn About the Job
JobsSalariesInterviews
Retail Systems Data Executive
Learn About the Job
Business Development Manager
Learn About the Job

Work at Marston's? Share Your Experiences

Marston's logo
or