Marston's Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated 7 Jan 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 23 of over 354 reviews

3.7
64%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Marston's CEO  Ralph Findlay
Ralph Findlay
140 Ratings
Pros
  • "Learn skills that go beyond pub trade(in 12 reviews)

  • "marston's(in 10 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Tiring long hours not flexibility(in 23 reviews)

  • "Minimum wage, very anal about bar closedown(in 22 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "long hours"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good company

      28 Apr 2020 - Assistant Manager in Birmingham, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good progression and pay

      Cons

      Long hours Sometimes no communication

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      not bad

      7 Jan 2021 - Restaurant General Manager in Coventry, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      fun, good team, fast paced

      Cons

      long hours nothing else to say

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Marston's Response

      Resourcing Channel Lead

      Thanks for your review. Indeed we do like to have fun and look forward to more of it when our pubs re-open! All the best for the future.

    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Would recommend to everyone

      9 Dec 2020 - Supervisor in Bristol, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great team Understanding management Great training

      Cons

      Low wage Long hours Not much company money to spend on things that will help the pub

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Marston's Response

      Resourcing Channel Lead

      Thank you very much for your review, it is always great to hear our employees thoughts and views. We are people focused so it is positive you have a great team around you. In terms of your comments around hours and wages we will certainly feed that back into the relevant team for you as it is important that we continually review these factors.

    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      good

      6 Nov 2020 - BarMaid in Southampton, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      holiday pay and lively atmosphere

      Cons

      long hours with little break

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Marston's Response

      Resourcing Channel Lead

      Thanks for your review. We are always working hard to improve. All the best in future.

    5. 2.0
      KEY NOT FOUND: jobLine.seasonal-former

      OK

      24 Nov 2020 - Waitress in Northampton, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good hours flexibile good staff good location

      Cons

      managers were not nice could be long hours

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Marston's Response

      Resourcing Channel Lead

      We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and we will take your views into consideration. All the best for the future. Thanks,

    6. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      good first job

      10 Nov 2020 - Kitchen Porter in Alfreton, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good first job, communication, time managment

      Cons

      pay, long hours, not family run

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Marston's Response

      Resourcing Channel Lead

      Thanks for your review. All the best in future.

    7. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      bar staff

      6 Nov 2020 - Bar Staff in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      fun and positive environment to work in

      Cons

      bad organisation low pay long hours

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      It’s ok

      22 Feb 2020 - Kitchen Manager in Whitstable, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Bonuses, benefits, . Z z

      Cons

      Long hours . Z. . Z z

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Marston's Response

      Digital Resourcing Manager

      Thanks so much for your review of Marston's as an employer, it's great to hear that you have worked for us for more than 3 years and would recommend us as an employer - that means a lot to us! We are also really pleased that you value the benefits and bonus scheme we offer our Kitchen Managers, we are well aware of the long hours and tough conditions our Kitchen Managers often work under, we are continously seeking out new ways to support you in your roles. and are always happy to listen to suggestions. We hope you continue to enjoy your job with us for many more years. Many thanks Vicky Holden Recruitment Manager

    9. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Goid

      8 Dec 2019 - Waitress 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      God pay and hours tiring

      Cons

      Tiring long hours not flexibility

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Marston's Response

      Digital Resourcing Manager

      Many thanks for your recent review of Marston's as an employee, we were delighted to hear that you would recommend us - this means a lot to us! We're pleased that you rated your pay as favourable - it's important to us that out team mates feel adequately rewarded for their hard work. We appreciate only too well how hard our pub teams work and how long the hours sometimes are. Our HR teams are continously looking at ways to improve the wellbeing of our team members and only this year we launched a partnership with the Licensed Trade Charity to offer a free of charge advisory and councilling helpline. We will continue to look at ways to ensure that those long hours are rewarding for you. Many thanks Victoria Holden Recruitment Manager

    10. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Good company to work for

      23 Sep 2019 - Marketing in Wolverhampton, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good positive team environment, flexible, evolving culture with business needs

      Cons

      Long hours, small % bonus scheme

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Marston's Response

      Digital Resourcing Manager

      Many thanks for your review, we really appreciate you taking the time to leave us some feedback. We will pass on your feedback regarding working hours and bonus, we take the work-life balance of all of our employees very seriously. It was great to hear that you enjoyed a positive team environment whilst working here. All the best in whatever lies ahead! Kind regards Victoria Foster Digital Resourcing Manager

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 23 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Marston's Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Marston's? Share Your Experiences

    Marston's logo
    or