Marston's Employee Reviews about "minimum wage"

Updated 1 Sep 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
64%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Marston's CEO  Ralph Findlay
Ralph Findlay
140 Ratings
Pros
  • "Learn skills that go beyond pub trade(in 12 reviews)

  • "marston's(in 10 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Tiring long hours not flexibility(in 23 reviews)

  • "Minimum wage, very anal about bar closedown(in 22 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "minimum wage"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Waitress

      27 Nov 2017 - Server/Waitress in Birmingham, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Friendly team Able to return to the job during each university vacation

      Cons

      Paid at minimum wage Zero hours contract

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Underpaid, long shifts and Manic

      1 Sep 2020 - Bartender 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Easy to get job. You form a sort of family with the staff members. Banter with customers are hilarious! When it's easy, it's really nice.

      Cons

      Minimum wage regardless of how good you are at the job. During busy periods (Christmas, football season or other reasons such as end of the month), you could be stuck at one spot for hours at an end serving countless customers where when you do have a second to breath - you use that time to clear tables and when the busy period goes on till late (it often does due to football) you then have to shift your focus to closing down. That would be bottling up, cleaning the coffee machines, clearing tables, putting glasses away, cleaning the bar, calling last orders, calling time and waiting for people to leave. No paid breaks, food is not free, once time is called - you're not paid for the time you have to stay on afterwards. You also get shouted at from time to time, even tho you're their best staff member.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Marston's Response

      Resourcing Channel Lead

      Thank you for taking the time to provide a review. We really appreciate it. Should you wish to provide further details to help us improve, please feel free to submit details via our dedicated feedback link here or alternatively speak to your manager directly. https://contactus.helpraisethebar.co.uk/ It does sound like you've got great customer service and a great work ethic so thanks for your efforts so far, you're definitely the type of person that makes our pubs great. All the best Marstons

    3. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Too much expected for minimum wage

      6 Mar 2020 - Shift Supervisor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - On-site accomadation - Good training in new build sites from the training team - Career Development - Friendly team - Most managers are very accommodating and dedicated to their job

      Cons

      - Minimum wage - Too much expected of team members on minimum wage (for example, on some shifts team members are expected to make desserts, wash plates, run food, make drinks, take orders at tables, do check backs, deal with complaints, clear their tables etc all at the same time) - no real benefits to team members only 30% off when working

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Good place

      9 Feb 2020 - Bar Staff in Southport, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Always paid on time, potential career path

      Cons

      Minimum wage, very anal about bar closedown

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Marston's Response

      Digital Resourcing Manager

      Thanks so much for your review of Marston's as an employer, it's great to hear that you would recommend us as an employer - that means a lot to us! We were pleased that you recognised the career path opportuities offered in our pub roles, we are very passionate about the training and development of our teams. We fully appreciate how hard our pub team mates work, often as you say for minimum wage. Our HR teams are continously looking at ways we can improve the earning potential of these roles through reward, incentive and pay increase. Thank you for your advice on shift management, again we are looking at training and systems we can introduce which will help our Pub Managers to manage their rota's better. With all this in mind, we hope you would consider Marston's in the future if you ever find yourself looking for work. Many thanks Vicky Holden Recruitment Manager

    5. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Don’t work here

      12 Feb 2020 - Supervisor in Maidstone, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There aren’t many pros of this job

      Cons

      Company lacks chain of command. No budgets for staff, minimum wage

      1 person found this review helpful

      Marston's Response

      Digital Resourcing Manager

      Thanks so much for your review of Marston's as an employer. t's disappointing to hear that you wouldn't recommend us as an employee, particularly after working for us for so long. I will pass your comments on to our HR team, I know they are currently working on systems and training to assist our Pub Managers in the often difficult task of rota management. We take the views and feelings of our former and current employee's very seriously and if you would like to discuss any of the above in confidence then you can do so by contacting me at victoria.holden@marstons.co.uk. Many thanks Vicky Holden Recruitment Manager

    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Terrible company

      24 Jul 2019 - Waitress in Gainsborough, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      None at all. Absolutely shocking

      Cons

      Minimum wage Long hours Bad company

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Ok for part-time work

      5 Oct 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      flexible working hours, easy to pick up shifts

      Cons

      few company perks, minimum wage, not many tips, hours very seasonal

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      waitress

      17 Apr 2018 - Server/Waitress in Beverley, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Cannot think of any Pros

      Cons

      They first got the interview day mixed up so I turned up a day late and was made to feel as if it was my fault, got paid the very minimum wage, served customers food however I never ever got a tip as I was never the person to get the money off them at the end as I wasn't allowed. I was under 18 at the time and didn't even get a break when I was legally meant to because we was 'too busy'. The staff was very unfriendly and not nice, the management was no better. with absolutely no training when I got tiny things wrong the manager got really cross with me. I was accused of doing things I didn't do. worst place I have ever worked and makes me appreciate my job now. They also keep you on a 'trial' process for ages so they can get rid of you for no reason. Some of the staff made me feel very uncomfortable and was occasionally inappropriate.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Waitress

      22 Sep 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - decent tips - received lots of training - foot in the door into hospitality sector - 50% off food - fun place to work

      Cons

      - minimum wage - poor support from area managers - strict policies on draught stock wastage so any ale that went in the drip tray got poured into a pint glass and sold on! - only men promoted to senior positions

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Marston's Response

      Resourcing Partner

      Thank you for your review. We ensure we listen to all the feedback we receive and act accordingly.

    10. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Laughable

      20 Mar 2018 - Chef De Partie 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good people in my workplace, job is enjoyable.

      Cons

      everyone not management staff is employed on a zero hour contract. staff budget has recently been cut, meaning our kitchen team is getting, at most, 20 hours work a week each, on minimum wage. cannot support yourself working for anything lower than managment. very little chance to work up to better roles.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 22 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Marston's Job Seekers

    General Manager
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Retail Systems Data Executive
    Learn About the Job
    Business Development Manager
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Marston's? Share Your Experiences

    Marston's logo
    or