Marston's Employee Reviews about "pub"

Updated Dec 9, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 30 of over 409 reviews

3.5
61%
Recommend to a Friend
Marston's CEO Andrew Andrea
Andrew Andrea
0 Rating
Pros
  • "Learn skills that go beyond pub trade(in 12 reviews)

  • "marston's(in 10 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Tiring long hours not flexibility(in 23 reviews)

  • "Minimum wage, very anal about bar closedown(in 22 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "pub"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee

      My experience at the Moorhen

      Jul 11, 2020 - Waiter/Barman in Gurgaon, Haryana
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I gained a great level of social skills and met many people while working here, it felt almost as if I was networking while being behind the bar

      Cons

      I took it as my responsibility to also work as a bouncer for free within the pub on my shifts to prevent fights from occurring

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Would recommend to everyone

      Dec 9, 2020 - Supervisor in Gurgaon, Haryana
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great team Understanding management Great training

      Cons

      Low wage Long hours Not much company money to spend on things that will help the pub

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Marston's Response

      Resourcing Channel Lead

      Thank you very much for your review, it is always great to hear our employees thoughts and views. We are people focused so it is positive you have a great team around you. In terms of your comments around hours and wages we will certainly feed that back into the relevant team for you as it is important that we continually review these factors.

    3. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Rewarding to meet so many people, but not an ideal job

      Aug 26, 2020 - Sales Assistant in Gurgaon, Haryana
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Meeting new people Experience in customer service Cash handling experience Understanding of retailing

      Cons

      Poor pay rate and they need to make sure pub managers have had background checks before offering them a contract

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Decent pay, good support structure, compromised WLB

      Jun 25, 2020 - Deputy General Manager in Gurgaon, Haryana
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The support team are fantastic and if you get lucky with a General Manager, you’re set for an enjoyable experience. Company on the whole values it’s staff when you’re confident enough to be vocal about it. If you’re passionate about hospitality, Marston’s is definitely one of the best companies to throw yourself into, and you can get a lot out of it if you’re motivated.

      Cons

      Too many typical ‘pub landlord’ types around that will happily work when they please and label it as ‘development opportunities’ for their assistants and supervisors. That being said, this seems to be more of an industry issue rather than a particular company. Apart from that the hours can be gruelling, especially for those on salaries.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Does not care for employees

      Mar 26, 2020 - Retail Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Decent salary Great team Nice pubs Opportunity to transfer between sites but very little opportunity for progression when you reach a certain level

      Cons

      Refusing to top up salary to 100% during the covid 19 crisis is shameful. Upper management acting like they are doing everyone a favour and really looking after their team when they are only providing the bear minimum is disgusting.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Solid Company

      Feb 19, 2020 - Assistant Manager in Telford, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Learn skills that go beyond pub trade

      Cons

      Depending on contract little-no hours

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Marston's Response

      Digital Resourcing Manager

      Thanks so much for your review of Marston's as an employer, I agree, a role in Hospitality offers you the opportunity to develop a wide range of skills which are transferrable to many other sectors and careers. I understand that our pubs can not always offer the amount of regular hours needed by our teammates. We introduced optional 'reliable hours' contracts last year to ensure that every weekly paid team member was at guaranteed at least a minimum expectation. We hope you continue to enjoy your time with us and grow your skills and experience for the future. Many thanks Vicky Holden Recruitment Manager

    7. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Okayish company to work for, minimal benefits

      Jan 21, 2020 - Assistant Manager in North Yorkshire, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Staff Discount Card, Possibility to transfer between different areas

      Cons

      Staff needs to pay for their own meals even when they work all day. It can get very expensive when you on a low pay. Objectification of women ( at pub level, varies from manager to manager)

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Marston's Response

      Digital Resourcing Manager

      Thanks so much for your review of Marston's as an employer, it's disappointing to hear that you wouldn't recommend us as an employee. We were happy to hear that you valued the staff discount card - did you know that all of our pub team mates were entitled to 20% off food and soft drinks during shift too? We are continously looking at new ways to enhance and improve our benefits package for our teammates. I was concerned to hear your thoughts on diversity, inclusion and equality in the company, our HR team are currently developing our Diversity and Inclusion strategy which includes review of policies and training. If there are any particular instances you wish to highlight relating to this, then you can contact our Speak Up team anonymously by calling 0800 007 3111, or you can email speakup@marstons.co.uk. Alternatively you can contact me directly at victoria.holden@marstons.co.uk. Many thanks Vicky Holden Recruitment Manager

    8. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      little opportunity (for me)

      Dec 10, 2019 - Assistant Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great company, lovely people, high standards and mostly good at recognising high performance

      Cons

      If you work in a pub like myself you can work your way up to a pub manager but if that’s not for you and you want a different direction still within marstons there is little opportunity or support.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Marston's Response

      Digital Resourcing Manager

      Many thanks for your recent review of Marston's as an employee, we were delighted to hear that you would recommend us - this means a lot to us! We'd also like to thank you for your continued loyalty and congratulation you on your long service with us. We were really pleased to hear that amongst other things you value the people at Marston's and feel that we recognise high performance. Thank you so much for your feedback on career opportunities for pub team members who want to move into other disciplines, it's a valid point you make that this route is not so clearly mapped out as that of progression to Pub Manager. I will pass your comments on to Nikita in our training team who is currently working on our career pathways across the company. If you wish to discuss your circumstances further then feel free to drop me an email at victoria.holden@marstons.co.uk. The biggest obstacle to moving into another field may be location but I am more than happy to discuss your options and see what options are available to you. Many thanks Victoria Holden Recruitment Manager

    9. 1.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Unfit manager

      Oct 8, 2019 - Head Chef/Line Chef in Wolverhampton, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Location. Near my home, so i can be near if my disabled wife when she ever needs me

      Cons

      The manager offered as many hrs as i wanted to ensure i didn't lose salary if i accepted the job offer. Within 2 weeks she complained i was slow .. demoted to line chef &; and; minimum hrs on min pay. How was i slow nothing is freshly prepared all comes from a bag either steamed or microwaved .. I can only get meals out in the time it needs to reheat.. i actually think she is not a good manager. the waiting staff moaned that i presented food as it should be ...not thrown on the plate. I have worked in the royal navy for 17yrs as well as pubs and business, schools, never have i been so humiliated. Not asked if i want to leave or told if id get to work a notice period in the rate of pay i was employed on. my he's have been reduced so much i haven't a clue on how I'm to pays the rent etc, let alone eat.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Marston's Response

      Digital Resourcing Manager

      Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback, I'm sorry to hear of your poor experience. Marston's fully appreciate the important role that our line managers play in making us a great place to work, this includes providing support and training for our kitchen roles. As such, our current people strategy is heavily focussed on developing all of our line managers into great leaders. Best wishes Victoria Foster - Digital Resourcing Manager

    10. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Dead end

      Oct 7, 2019 - Server/Waitress in Preston, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Discount card after 6 months employment.

      Cons

      Very poorly run business. Reflects in every pub you visit from this brand.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Marston's Response

      Digital Resourcing Manager

      Thanks so much for taking the time to provide some feedback of your time with Marston's. I'm sorry to hear that your experience with us was so poor, If you would like to discuss your experience further please do not hesitate to contact me at victoria.foster@marstons.co.uk. Best wishes Victoria Foster Digital Resourcing Manager

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 30 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Marston's Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Marston's? Share Your Experiences

    Marston's logo
    or