Masonite International Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Masonite International Reviews

Updated Oct 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
47%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Masonite International CEO Frederick J. Lynch  (no image)
Frederick J. Lynch
112 Ratings
Pros
  • "This company has some decent benefits, and a decent matching for 401k(in 10 reviews)

  • "Good pay affordable health insurance(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "At the end of the day Masonite's is a boys club, really starting at Director and above it's almost all white males(in 11 reviews)

  • "Corporate company, so sometimes there is a disconnect between upper management(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great benefits for all employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Masonite International full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefit package is nice. Three weeks vacation to start and costs are low compared to other like companies.

    Cons

    Key employees are counted on to carry extra work load to keep overhead lower.

    Masonite International2019-10-02
  2. "Meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Mason City, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Masonite International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Hours are great, Monday-Friday.

    Cons

    Benefits are not the best. Management is terrible. There is not a reward for doing your job well and no discipline for those who slack off. Hard to stay motivated. Hard to please customers because there are constant issues with orders and lack of internal communication.

    Advice to Management

    Reward hard working employees. Follow the blueprint that you have posted all over the place.

    Masonite International2019-09-28
  3. "Awesome manager and team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Developer in Tampa, FL

    I have been working at Masonite International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    My manager truly cares about his people. There's remote flexibility, and we are encouraged to look for trainings that can help improve our current skills.

    Cons

    Can't think of anything worth saying.

    Masonite International2019-09-05
  4. "Awful Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assembler in Pittsburg, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Masonite International full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There is not a single thing that comes to mind.

    Cons

    I would highly recommend staying away from this place unless you absolutely need a job. It’s mind numbing work with nothing but drama with coworkers. Everyone in my area was clueless on how exactly to do their job, which in return you have no idea either. From what I can tell they have an extremely high turn over rate which doesn’t surprise me. Take my advice and stay away!!

    Advice to Management

    Fix internal problems instead of just running through employees.

    Masonite International2019-09-27
  5. "Nice place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Programmer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Masonite International full-time

    Pros

    Nice place to work. Lot of projects going on

    Cons

    can be stressful. Long hours

    Masonite International2019-08-15
  6. "Not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Leader in Birchwood, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Masonite International full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    This company has some decent benefits, and a decent matching for 401k

    Cons

    They are the epitome of a corporation and push unrealistic "one size fits all" policies to their manufacturing companies that have no added value.

    Masonite International2019-08-14
  7. "Decent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customs Compliance Specialist in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Masonite International full-time

    Pros

    Relaxed company culture, great co-workers and leadership

    Cons

    Fairly top heavy, pay could be better

    Advice to Management

    Spread the wealth throughout the company a little more

    Masonite International2019-08-12
  8. "Hgf"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - General Laborer 

    I worked at Masonite International full-time

    Pros

    Good atmosphere, good lead,great pay

    Cons

    Long hours, very long hours

    Masonite International2019-08-08
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Boys Club"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corporate Office in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Masonite International full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Steady job, some really good people around my peer level or below

    Cons

    At the end of the day Masonite's is a boys club, really starting at Director and above it's almost all white males. So many meetings start by talking about recent score to whatever sport is on, fishing, golfing, hunting etc. It's hard as a female to fit in, find a mentor, or really to be taken seriously. Also, they talk so much about employee development, and investing in their employees, it's been a major talking... point with the re-branding, however, bonuses have been significantly underfunded for years, raises hardly cover cost of living increases, and there seemingly is no other benefits that they introduced with the new push for employee engagement. Masonite is constantly over budget and the Company demands so much from the employees without properly funding what they want done, however, there seems to be plenty of money for expensive training for executives, offsite retreats for executives, etc.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I would provide training or coaching to current leadership on how to mentor and promote females, also, think about real actions that can be done to engage employees. Also if employees aren't receive their bonuses, it sends a bad message when executives can seemingly spend what they want on their own development, travel, etc.

    Masonite International2019-07-08
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Confusing Company At Times"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Quality Manager in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Masonite International full-time

    Pros

    Big company, pay is decent.

    Cons

    Only speaking from my location (Tampa). In my 24 years in manufacturing, this is the most dysfunctional group of leaders I ever experienced. The plant manager got no respect from no one. I witnessed, the plant manager walked on the floor and one production worker asked him why is he out here, he only gonna mess things up more. I witnessed the value stream leaders (VSL) and plant manager yelling (literally) at... each other about distribution of manpower to satisfy production. I can give more examples but I will stop here. Complete out of control atmosphere.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Do a better job screening your leaders. I know no company is perfect but when your peers shows no respect to each other or their boss changes need to be made.

    Masonite International2019-07-05
Found 220 reviews