McCarthy Tétrault Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

McCarthy Tétrault Reviews

Updated 20 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
74%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
McCarthy Tétrault Partner and Chief Executive Officer David Leonard (no image)
David Leonard
15 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McCarthy Tétrault full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It's a highly collaborative, feedback-focused environment. Hierarchies aren't super rigid and I feel like I have a voice. The benefits are great based on my experience with other companies. The Toronto office is big so there could be a better sense of community but there are ongoing efforts to improve this (office events, committees, action groups, etc.). Other offices across Canada definitely have a "family vibe."

    Cons

    Because it's such a collaborative environment and everyone's opinion is considered, it can take a while to get new processes approved.

    Continue reading
    McCarthy Tétrault2020-03-20
  2. "Great place to work, innovative and fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at McCarthy Tétrault full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - truly an innovative organization - teammates are collaborative and feel like an extended family - smart, hard working colleagues who are able to produce amazing work

    Cons

    - some policy aspects are a little backwards and could evolve

    McCarthy Tétrault2020-02-05
  3. "Solid company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Associate 

    I have been working at McCarthy Tétrault full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Positive people, good environment, innovative company

    Cons

    Very busy days, many hours.

    McCarthy Tétrault2019-10-09
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at McCarthy Tétrault full-time

    Pros

    Nothing good to share, not a good experience

    Cons

    Go through interview process, which was 3 of them, get the offer, leave a good job to work there and then suddenly after 3 weeks they don't need you anymore and they won't give you a reason why.

    Continue reading
    McCarthy Tétrault2019-11-05
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Disingenuous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at McCarthy Tétrault full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good office location, peers friendly

    Cons

    Rigid management, disingenuous commitment to diversity, workplace not inclusive

    Continue reading
    McCarthy Tétrault2019-09-21
  6. "A blast to work at under the right management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Support Analyst in Montreal, QC

    I worked at McCarthy Tétrault full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Hours are good. - Good amount of overtime (when projects are ongoing) - Good pay

    Cons

    - Volume volume volume - In my position, management is all off site in Toronto - my previous place of work was in Montreal and we were treated as 2nd class employees, Toronto is the palace.

    Continue reading
    McCarthy Tétrault2019-09-03
  7. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McCarthy Tétrault full-time

    Pros

    Innovative fun hardworking national values

    Cons

    Volume volume volume volume toronto centric

    McCarthy Tétrault2019-02-21
  8. "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McCarthy Tétrault full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Canada's Top 100 Employer many years in a row.

    Cons

    None to mention at this time.

    McCarthy Tétrault2019-02-06
  9. "Legal assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McCarthy Tétrault full-time

    Pros

    Friendly staff to work with

    Cons

    Busy schedule and sometimes heavy load of work

    McCarthy Tétrault2019-02-03
  10. "tech support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Tech Support 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at McCarthy Tétrault for less than a year

    Pros

    location is goods, benefits are great

    Cons

    management style is rigid and archaic

    Continue reading
    McCarthy Tétrault2019-01-22
Found 26 reviews