McColl's Employee Reviews about "staff discount"

Updated 23 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.7
35%
Recommend to a Friend
42%
Approve of CEO
McColl's Chief Executive Jonathon Miller (no image)
Jonathon Miller
78 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Area manager level and above are a disgrace(in 26 reviews)

  • "poor pay, poor management, long hours sometimes(in 23 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "staff discount"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Could be worse."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at McColl's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Plenty of hours available, staff are all lovely and easy to get on with, easy to get holiday, 10% staff discount, not many staff so you feel like a valuable member of the team.

    Cons

    Customers who blame everything on you when it’s out of your control (such as the prices of products), very boring on a Sunday afternoon when there’s nothing to do and no customers, minimum wage for hard work.

    Continue reading
    McColl's2018-10-28
  2. "Supervisor"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor in Exeter, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at McColl's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Staff discount and nice collegues

    Cons

    poor management and management structure

    Continue reading
    McColl's2020-01-23
  3. "Ridiculous rules and policies"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Bradford, Yorkshire and the Humber, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at McColl's full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Staff discount, you get 10% off...

    Cons

    You'll be terminated for even the simplest hick up if the managers chooses to do so.

    McColl's2019-10-18
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Don’t do it"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor in West Bromwich, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at McColl's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some staff members are nice Customers are nice Staff discount although not worth it because it’s expensive anyway Basically nothing !

    Cons

    Everything, if u like working alone when on the same parade their has been armed robberies, Wages are way to low and constantly being watched on camera when your working, not allowed a break even if u were to sit down for 2 minutes u would be shouted at even though u have been on your feet for 8+ hours We have a new area manager that is not trained enough to do the job properly, I have put in a grievance on my manager and heard nothing back in 3 weeks from anyone, they do not care about the staff at all and promote people that have zero experience in management, the whole company is a shambles and needs a revamp quickly, And the amount of bullying that goes on is pathetic even have the nerve to bully someone with learning difficulties and gets away with it. And the managers can scam the company and get away with it even when called up on it nothing is done

    Continue reading
    McColl's2018-05-23
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Money making machine at expense of store staff"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor in Nottingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at McColl's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Local staff nice to work with. Customers overall pleasure to work with. Offers staff benefits program, e.g. childcare vouchers, car lease and cinema discounts. Normally local to where you live. Depending on store manager and staff, can be flexible with hours. Staff discount.

    Cons

    Majority of hours are lone working, this includes taking deliveries ect whilst also being on tills Hours constantly being taken from store If lone working, no breaks Area managers and above use intimidation and bully tactics to get things done No constructive feedback or appraisals in place, only negativity and threats of disciplinaries and dismissals Alot of out of hour work is expected as norm, such as cashing up ect unpaid Culture of backstabbing and tale-telling is encouraged by area managers and above Pay rates are at bare minimum, store managers expected to run stores at just over £9 p/h Alot of the IT systems need investment Staff need investment Alot of process are still paper based and time consuming unnecessarily. Weekly updates about how much money is being generated for shareholders whilst you're working without entitled breaks for minimum pay, and whilst hours are being cut from stores. No real incentive to work other than monthly pay packet, e.g no bonuses for profitable years, no rewards for compulsory up selling of products. Some stores are open 365 days of the year.

    Continue reading
    McColl's2017-11-28
  6. "Poor Organisation, Overworked, underpaid."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at McColl's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It's a job. Friendly regular customers Some friendly colleagues 10% staff discount

    Cons

    Low Salary Highly variable work hours No breaks Understaffed Disconnected management Often working alone Too many things to do at once

    Continue reading
    McColl's2017-08-01
  7. "Supervisor"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor in Stoke-on-Trent, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at McColl's full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    building relationships with some customers met some great staff over the years sometime you can manage to get alot of free time to put into tasks, but not always guaranteed pension scheme staff discount

    Cons

    Poor time scheduling large hour cuts lack of authority from higher management no union low pay for work expected Daily tasks not shared amongst all staff poor work/life balance unreasonable rota within management only shirt and fleece for uniform

    Continue reading
    McColl's2017-07-25
  8. Helpful (1)

    "work horses"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Warrington, North West England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at McColl's part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Staff discount, discount scheme for days out and holidays. Pension. Community spirit.

    Cons

    Lone working. Lack of acknowledgement for long service. Expect stores to look immaculate but won't pay to get the results.

    Continue reading
    McColl's2016-10-13
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Not recommended"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Deputy Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at McColl's

    Pros

    None readily come to mind as staff discount is the same as on offer from better employers.

    Cons

    Long hours as you are expected to work more than those advertised. Ideally they would like you to opt out of the 48 hour week. Deputy Managers only paid 25p an hour more than a Sales Assistant and an hourly rate comparable to what other grocery chains pay to Sales Assistants or less in the case of some supermarkets. Plus no company sick pay. Stores understaffed so management have to work 7 days a week in order to " ensure the efficient operation of the business." Lone working for several hours a day as not enough staff or money in wage budget. No travel expenses if sent to another store to train or as cover. Stores are ill-equipped with an old supermarket trolley being used to move stock from the store room to the shop floor. No staff room, just a sink unit in the corner of the warehouse right outside the staff toilet! No staff security lockers for valuables. No where to hang your coat. Staff areas are dirty and poorly maintained. Have to buy your own black top as no uniform provided despite poster on wall saying you are supposed to wear a uniform shirt / polo shirt.

    Continue reading
    McColl's2016-08-09
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Mc'colls Retail"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Assistant in Blackpool, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McColl's

    Pros

    - I can't speak for every store, but the one I still work at is friendly, we get along and help each other out, i'v made some of my closest friends from working there. - Plenty of qualifications to be earned, with Mccolls I have acquired my alcohol license and on my way to my leadership level 3 course, as well as doing my MOB training albeit slowly. - Staff discount of 10% makes a difference when your spending money often in the store.

    Cons

    Rate of Pay is, yes, AWFUL, i'm acting assistant manager and yet I get like 20p more than a sales assistant. Finding cover is a issue, due to the lack of hours if your being sick and opening up In the morning at 5:30am, tough luck, take a bucket with you because everyone else will be busy or working the late shift Progression is slow and painful and often your forgotten about, you really have to let your presence be known, i'v been doing my MOB for about a year now, the trainer came once in that time. Does some thing's that aren't entirely Legal, for example, i'v worked in Mccolls for 6 years now, and in that time we've no stool or matt behind the till which is designed to prevent back injuries in the future, I read a comment about back to back shifts, yes this is true, i'v had to close at 10pm, then open at 5:30am at least once a month, then carry on doing morning shifts the rest of the week Breaks : what's a break? are they edible?, do they taste nice?, Most of the time, due to the low hours given to each store you will be working alone, and can expect to be working between 8-12 hours a day without so much as sitting down, you will be moving all the time. If you think helping the company out by spending your own money on resources we need, such as carrier bags, DO NOT do this as the management will not refund you, nor will they care and you will likely be forgotten about within a week. Holidays again due to lack of hours may sound generous, but on many a time I have had to sacrifice every bank holiday of the year or my mothers birthday because someone else in my store wanted it off as well, obviously it's easier to cover those who have less hours than you, thus they have priority, last year I think I had 3 weeks out of 5 left to take, none of it compensated at all. The integrity of the buildings are generally poor, in my store we have a hole in the roof as does another store I covered for some time, the fridges tend to break fairly often, if it's your milk fridge just hand your resignation in, it's less painful as YOU will be blamed for losing the stock due to a mechanical malfunction. Management expect results and don't care to help you with them, for example, I used to do CCTV when I was younger and know exactly how to get our CCTV systems working entirely in the store, all we require is a specific power cable and some new heads on the SATA cables, which would cost about £10 for it all, Yet Management complain about the lack of security in store but refuse to payout for their own repairs required for the store, so far i'v replaced the monitor in the back with my own from home, repaired several Camera's in store, repaired the Safe locking mechanisms, they will expect YOU to pay for their thing's.

    Continue reading
    McColl's2016-02-11
Found 13 reviews