McDonald's UK Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

McDonald's UK Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1121 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
53%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
Paul Pomroy
216 Ratings
Pros
  • "Sociable with work colleagues and flexible hours(in 132 reviews)

  • "really fast paced time flies and also free food(in 128 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours and the job is quite physical constantly running around for the majority of the shift(in 78 reviews)

  • "Low pay, and if you have a good experience or not it honestly comes down to how nice the managers are(in 43 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Company Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mcdonalds Crew Member in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at McDonald's UK full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    The staff is amazing, friendly and fun to work with. Being able to work in a strong team is always fun.

    Cons

    The shift patterns are horrible.

    Advice to Management

    Respect the staff more.

    McDonald's UK2019-02-19
  2. "Good place to work for young people starting out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - McDonalds Crew Trainer 

    I have been working at McDonald's UK full-time

    Pros

    Flexible with hours and pays well for a job of this type

    Cons

    Cares more about saving money by cutting hours than the staff

    McDonald's UK2019-05-23
  3. "Cool"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Crew Member in Swindon, Gloucestershire, South West England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at McDonald's UK full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    really cool and very exciting

    Cons

    Better and cool hot and cold

    McDonald's UK2019-05-17
  4. "Great workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Finance Administrator in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at McDonald's UK full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Good people to work with. Lots of training provided to improve career

    Cons

    None that i can think of.

    Advice to Management

    Please be as great as you are always

    McDonald's UK2019-05-15
  5. "Full time crew member"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Crew Member in London, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at McDonald's UK full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    McDonalds is a great learning environment for people arriving to England or people who have had difficulty getting jobs in the past.

    Cons

    However after working for a few months there are not a lot of opportunities to progress and there is a lot of selective promotions especially in snaller stores.

    Advice to Management

    value your employees, treat them as individuals try to understand what motivates them.

    McDonald's UK2019-05-14
  6. "Mcodonalds work experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mcdonalds Crew Member in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at McDonald's UK part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    I get along with my employees and my managers. Apart from that, the work times are flexible.

    Cons

    The cons are that the customers can sometime be a bit rowdy and can get out of control.

    Advice to Management

    No advice needed

    McDonald's UK2019-05-14
  7. "Entirely dependent on the individual location"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mcdonalds Crew Member in Llandudno, Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at McDonald's UK part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Free lunch every shift longer than 4 or 5 hours

    Cons

    Worked hard, busy times can get ridiculous for the pay

    McDonald's UK2019-05-09
  8. "Assistant manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McDonald's UK full-time

    Pros

    Great pay and training progression

    Cons

    Working hours very busy at peak hours

    McDonald's UK2019-05-08
  9. "Great job for student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Crew Trainer in Hedge End, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at McDonald's UK part-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Flexible, good progression, reasonable money for the work required

    Cons

    Often difficult customers, often work with people who don’t care and mess around.

    McDonald's UK2019-05-07
  10. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Crew Member 

      I worked at McDonald's UK part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Good company to work for

      Cons

      Service industry generally has antisocial working hours

      McDonald's UK2019-05-21
    Found 1121 reviews