McGraw-Hill Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

McGraw-Hill Reviews

Updated 6 Apr 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
53%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
McGraw-Hill Interim President and CEO Simon Allen (no image)
Simon Allen
8 Ratings
Pros
  • "McGraw-Hill Education is a family-oriented organization and incredibly flexible creating a solid work/life balance(in 95 reviews)

  • "Great people/culture; flexible work hours/options; rewarding work environment(in 57 reviews)

Cons
  • "upper management would never be hired in management elsewhere(in 32 reviews)

  • "Do lots of experiments, Strategy change & Senior Management Change(in 19 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Sales Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at McGraw-Hill full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    passionate colleagues, culture, vision, flexibility

    Cons

    There are no cons

    McGraw-Hill2018-09-20
  2. "Not a great work culture and environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accounting Assistant in Maidenhead, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McGraw-Hill full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Competitive salary - Working with international teams

    Cons

    - Dont care for the employees personal development & growth - Sombre work environment. People don't talk and interact and there are rarely any team building activities or outings.

    Continue reading
    McGraw-Hill2020-03-17

    McGraw-Hill Response

    March 19, 2020Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear your thoughts about growth and development at McGraw-Hill, and we'd love to get your feedback on how we can improve in this area. We offer a wide range of free professional development courses and our Stretch Forward mentorship program is encouraged for all employees. Please email us at talentacquisition@mheducation.com with any further feedback you have so we can continue to improve these programs. Thank you!

    Continue reading
  3. "Great mission and purpose, but with various challenges in transitioning from publisher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at McGraw-Hill full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Some very dedicated and talented people working at MHE with a huge amount of experience Good autonomy and scope to collaborate across the global business Great products and great opportunity to earn good commission as there is a lot of opportunity if pitched appropriately. Good new senior management who have brought more balanced approach to direction of travel as a business

    Cons

    Strategy has changed drastically several times (as have all publishers) and as a result there has been a high turnover of people. Can be a slightly political environment with many decisions being based on rumour and popularity rather than an evidence based meritocracy

    Continue reading
    McGraw-Hill2019-11-12

    McGraw-Hill Response

    November 14, 2019Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your thoughtful review and suggestions. We appreciate and value your feedback, and will use it so we can improve. Thanks for being a member of our team and best of luck in your future endeavors!

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (10)

    "Take your talent elsewhere, it will be lost here."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at McGraw-Hill full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    - Some great people, who believe in the vision and work too hard for it - Market leading products (although the gap is closing/closed fast) - Huge opportunity to disrupt the market

    Cons

    - Losing revenue, losing talent, losing market share, losing opportunity - Toxic culture that is holding the company back - Incredibly poor leadership at the President level in Higher Ed and International which pervades down - poor leaders promoting poor leaders because they're all 'yes' people who like to be agreed with and fawned over - Bullying behaviour is common, and HR prefers to blame the person being bullied than take action to prevent it - how much talent do you have to lose because of one individual before it stops? Take a step back and look at the bigger picture, then rethink promoting and relocating toxic people into more senior roles where they can infect more and more people - Weak to non-existent strategy - trying to turn the clock back to how the company used to be run when the market has moved on is never going to be a winning strategy - Inability to build disruptive products internally, the engineering teams are at capacity and cannot deliver when priorities are split across the business - Teams, especially sales, set in their ways and refuse to capitalise on the opportunity to disrupt the market because it's different to what they've done before and change is hard

    Continue reading
    McGraw-Hill2019-10-25

    McGraw-Hill Response

    October 30, 2019Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for providing your feedback. As reflected in our core values, we respect and honor the opinions of all of our employees. As you may recall, one of our core values is "Speak Out," in which we encourage employees to openly and candidly share their views. We take your observations very seriously and would like to learn more. If you have an issue that was not addressed when you were employed here, please reach out to us so we can take the appropriate steps to resolve the matter. If you are willing to provide more information, please email us at talentacquisition@mheducation.com. Cengage and McGraw-Hill are joining to create a new global learning company to provide students with more affordable access to superior course materials and platforms. The new company will positively impact the lives of millions of students globally and will accelerate and expand affordability initiatives for college students in the U.S. For more details on our merger, visit http://betterlearningtogether.com. With over 130 years in the education space, we know we will never stop learning and growing. We hope to hear from you soon.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (7)

    "Stay Away... unless you want to be bullied"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at McGraw-Hill full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    None I can think of apart from some of the good-eggs working there that are trying their best

    Cons

    You will be worked into the ground and then pushed out. It is a bullying culture and they do not allow you to speak out, despite this being apparently a culture point. If you speak up, you will be forced to leave.

    Continue reading
    McGraw-Hill2019-05-02
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Chill place to work, but not very challenging"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at McGraw-Hill full-time

    Pros

    Great work life balance as other people have mentioned. Good benefits.

    Cons

    The company is massively struggling, and they're ruthless in their headcount cutting. It's also based on favouritism, if you're in there with the top dogs, you'll be fine. There isn't any opportunity for growth or movement. Would only work here if you are unmotivated to do well, and want to do the bare minimum to get by.

    McGraw-Hill2019-02-15
  7. Helpful (11)

    "Stuck in a time warp"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at McGraw-Hill full-time

    Pros

    Some great people; innovative tech

    Cons

    Toxic leadership stuck in a time warp; the wrong people promoted and protected even when faced with damning evidence of bullying and treating direct reports as if they are a threat; cutting edge tech is dumped if the sales teams decide not to try selling it; HR not interested in representing staff who offer feedback, only in protecting those with “knowledge” and creating “mean girls” cliques.

    Continue reading
    McGraw-Hill2018-12-29
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Project Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at McGraw-Hill

    Pros

    Clean environment and condiments supplied as well as fresh fruits supplied daily

    Cons

    Not enough diversity in the workplace

    Continue reading
    McGraw-Hill2018-12-17
  9. "Good People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Consultant in Maidenhead, England
    Recommends

    I worked at McGraw-Hill full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Remote working, good team members, fun conferences

    Cons

    Long Hours for Sales, some management have power ego

    McGraw-Hill2018-10-01
  10. Helpful (5)

    "A company that has lost its way"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at McGraw-Hill full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Despite company flaws there is a good team of people doing the hard work. They have great solutions that could make a real difference to academics and students.

    Cons

    Completely lost touch with their customers and the market in general. Poor performance from legacy staff is tolerated. Hard work and commitment is not repaid. Great staff are constantly put on whilst the senior management is often interim or a bad fit for the business making it impossible to be successful as an individual. Staff development and CPD is non-existant. Good people are undervalued and allowed to leave. Salary range for people in same role is ridiculous. The company is more interested in selling to the next VC than it is in making a difference to customers. I would not recommend working here. There is very little in the way of strategy and what there is usually changes on a quarterly basis. Promises are made but not kept.

    Continue reading
    McGraw-Hill2017-12-15
Found 844 reviews