McGraw-Hill "senior management" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

McGraw-Hill Employee Reviews about "senior management"

Updated 18 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
57%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
McGraw-Hill Interim President and CEO Simon Allen (no image)
Simon Allen
8 Ratings
Pros
  • "McGraw-Hill Education is a family-oriented organization and incredibly flexible creating a solid work/life balance(in 95 reviews)

  • "Great people, a fun place to work, most teams have embraced remote employees(in 58 reviews)

Cons
  • "upper management would never be hired in management elsewhere(in 32 reviews)

  • "Do lots of experiments, Strategy change & Senior Management Change(in 19 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "senior management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (5)

    "A company that has lost its way"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at McGraw-Hill full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Despite company flaws there is a good team of people doing the hard work. They have great solutions that could make a real difference to academics and students.

    Cons

    Completely lost touch with their customers and the market in general. Poor performance from legacy staff is tolerated. Hard work and commitment is not repaid. Great staff are constantly put on whilst the senior management is often interim or a bad fit for the business making it impossible to be successful as an individual. Staff development and CPD is non-existant. Good people are undervalued and allowed to leave. Salary range for people in same role is ridiculous. The company is more interested in selling to the next VC than it is in making a difference to customers. I would not recommend working here. There is very little in the way of strategy and what there is usually changes on a quarterly basis. Promises are made but not kept.

    Continue reading
    McGraw-Hill2017-12-15
  2. "GREAT PLACE TO WORK & LEARN!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McGraw-Hill full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Highly professional with quality content!

    Cons

    Do lots of experiments, Strategy change & Senior Management Change

    Continue reading
    McGraw-Hill2019-08-18
  3. Helpful (11)

    "Death by 1000 Cuts ..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at McGraw-Hill full-time

    Pros

    Some good, smart people work at MHE

    Cons

    Expect to get laid off, devalued, or minimized to the point of not being effective. Horrible senior management culture - good old boys, few women in leadership positions. CDO is a bad leader: lack of accountability, lack of adaptability, poor integrity.

    Continue reading
    McGraw-Hill2018-11-16
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Executive Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Assistant in Toronto, ON

    I worked at McGraw-Hill full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The people there were great to work with.

    Cons

    Senior management did not care about the employees. Their main focus was meeting the bottom line not matter the cost.

    McGraw-Hill2018-10-25
  5. Helpful (1)

    "VP"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at McGraw-Hill full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits. Great life-work balance encouraged for most employees.

    Cons

    Old-school senior management in the School division.

    McGraw-Hill2018-08-01
  6. Helpful (12)

    "Great team and customers, but terrible management and toxic culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Digital Learning Consultant in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at McGraw-Hill full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Really great coworkers in the sales team, and a supportive direct manager, and quite a good work/life balance, depending on your location

    Cons

    No culture; no support; not many opportunities to advance unless you're willing to relocate; far too HQ-focused without much consideration for local offices and teams; non-existent HR; stale senior management; low compensations and benefits

    Continue reading
    McGraw-Hill2018-03-07

    McGraw-Hill Response

    December 20, 2019Talent Acquisition

    Over the past 18 months, the leadership team in Australia has been making changes to the business which include upskilling and reskilling the workforce. These necessary changes sometimes impact employees. We understand the frustration of those that have been impacted. Nevertheless, the leadership team at McGraw-Hill Australia will continue to drive improvements that show positive business results.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (1)

    "A good place to establish your career in the beginning"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    User Experience In DPG 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McGraw-Hill for less than a year

    Pros

    -Work life balance is pretty good for my department - hours are flexible so long as you demonstrate that you do the work, and you can work from home more often in the Digital Product Group, which means that you actually get more done -People really care about what they're working on - I've worked in enough places where there was a lot more apathy and less of a focus on customer satisfaction -At least in my experience, people actually collaborate and support each other on what they're working on. I've worked at other places where the atmosphere was a lot more competitive, but people will actually hear your ideas out.

    Cons

    -Pay for junior and mid-career employees in my division is less than the average for the area where I work. -A lot of the software developers and TPMs in DPG seem really overworked and frustrated with the development process -we're not as agile as we should be. They receive far less support from senior management than they deserve, with too much pressure on building features rather than dealing with maintenance. To meet our business goals, we'd need to invest more manpower and resources...which we don't have. -Some (and certainly not all) the business sponsors have a good understanding of the market, but not so much the customer needs that aren't being met that should be incorporated into new feature/product development. They aren't UX experts - and that's OK! But there's still an attitude that "UX makes it look pretty and easy to use magically without enough time and research to back that up," which is driving away good people. I know of 3 really talented UX designers who've left because of the pressure from business units...not because of their DPG technical colleagues.

    Continue reading
    McGraw-Hill2017-05-25
  8. Helpful (7)

    "It depends what stage of your career you are"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Analyst in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at McGraw-Hill full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    work life balance is the only thing you have there and that is depending what dept you work for

    Cons

    Benefits are very basic tuition reimbursement is basic, considering that they claim to be an e-learning company, they should have a more generous policy even offer to pay for everything due to cutting expenses there is no money to attend external trainning, there is so much you can learn through connect 2 culture and morale are down due to constant restructurings In my 3 plus years, I saw one promotion. Most of promotion happen due to reorgs and you know what that means(lots of works and almost with same pay Very few people hold graduate degrees. Most folks hold a job New Senior management is very hands off, very top heavy, that is why revenue wise they made more money but not employee wise Corporate functions are barely there. Finance dept has a solid operation HR is terrible, a lot of payroll mistakes, need to keep an eye on your paycheck at all times Finance controls everything, not upfront about budgets to sales, a lot of unethical issues

    Continue reading
    McGraw-Hill2017-04-25
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Learning Technology Representative 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at McGraw-Hill full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    When in sales a lot depends on your local District Manager and leadership team. I am fortunate to have one of the best teams in the Company. Leadership is very flexible with schedules, however push you to do your best and achieve goal by years end. Overall HR is moving in the right direction with different programs that truthfully should have been in-place long ago.

    Cons

    This is a billion dollar startup as many within the company say... they are very growth oriented, however, with the transition to net sales and different strategy implemented this year it will be interesting to see how the next few years work with the transition to digital. The senior management is disconnected with the environment on campus and need to get out to visit with customers more often.

    Continue reading
    McGraw-Hill2015-12-31
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Change is in our DNA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McGraw-Hill full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    *Lots of room for personal growth and professional development *Great parental leave policies *Decent benefits *Leadership trusts middle management *Processes appear to be less bureaucratic *Great teamwork, great department

    Cons

    *Multiple changes in senior management have made the direction and vision of the company somewhat cloudy. While we have an overall vision, communication around it's nuances hasn't trickled down. *Pay seems to be low and low on the priority list of management.

    Continue reading
    McGraw-Hill2015-06-02
Found 19 reviews