McGregor Boyall Associates Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

McGregor Boyall Associates Reviews

Updated 12 February 2018
37 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Laurie Boyall
24 Ratings

37 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

  1. "Great all round company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McGregor Boyall Associates full-time

    Pros

    Great group of people, good training processes for new members, very strong client base.

    Cons

    haven't come across anything negative out of the ordinary

    McGregor Boyall Associates Response

    26 Apr 2018 – Marketing Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a positive review!


  2. "Senior Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McGregor Boyall Associates full-time

    Pros

    1. Great work vibe
    2. Approachable CEO, MD and Directors
    3. No KPIs
    4. Encouraged to manage your own time and work independently.
    5. A array of clients to work with - from large Financial Institutions to Commerce and Industry.
    6. Constant involvement in company growth
    7. Ideas are always welcomed and encouraged
    8. Great commission structure
    9. Incentives are fun/abroad trips.

    Cons

    Nothing at the moment.

    Advice to Management

    -

    McGregor Boyall Associates Response

    26 Apr 2018 – Marketing Manager

    Thank you for such a lovely review! We really appreciate your feedback!

  3. "Recruitment Consultant Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Recruitment Consultant in London, England
    Current Employee - Associate Recruitment Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McGregor Boyall Associates full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    - Structured Training
    - Competitive commission structure plus other perks
    - Enjoyable working environment
    - Achievable promotion structure from associate to consultant

    Cons

    - Hours are long and work/life balance can be affected if commute is long. But other than that, there are no issues with the firm itself at this time.

    Advice to Management

    None of note.

    McGregor Boyall Associates Response

    26 Apr 2018 – Marketing Manager

    Thank you for your feedback!


  4. "If you want to work in recruitment - it won't get better than MBA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in London, England
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McGregor Boyall Associates full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    - Invest in promoting and developing current employees
    - Great Client database
    - Well known name - 30 years of experience
    - Clear targets / milestones for promotion
    - Achievable KPIs
    - Approachable management
    - Grown-up culture
    - BIG rewards (weekends away abroad / days out etc)

    Cons

    - The office would benefit from a 'facelift'
    - No 'small' perks offered by other recruitment companies like early finish Friday for all / fresh fruit / breakfast / monthly massage / office personal trainer / laptops etc

    McGregor Boyall Associates Response

    26 Apr 2018 – Marketing Manager

    Thanks for your strong feedback - this has been passed to our Senior Leadership Team for review. We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review!


  5. "needs some fresh ideas at a leadership level"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in London, England
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at McGregor Boyall Associates full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    great brand reputation and strength in core IT recruitment

    Cons

    lack of ambition to diversify its offering

    Advice to Management

    allow for more creative thinking to grow.

    McGregor Boyall Associates Response

    4 Dec 2017 – Marketing Manager

    Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We appreciate your insight and wish you the best of luck with all you aspire to achieve.


  6. Helpful (4)

    "So much potential but..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant/Manager
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant/Manager
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at McGregor Boyall Associates full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Well-established, good client relationships, great location

    Cons

    Problems with culture and a senior management falling well behind modern working practices

    Advice to Management

    McGregor Boyall is an organisation with a rich history and some tremendous clients but it is mired in old-style working practices and a senior management who believe in authority rather than autonomy and struggle to allow themselves to empower their staff.
    When I joined the organisation some years ago they appreciated the need for flexibility and a good work/life balance. However, they have gone backwards in that attitude over the last couple of years, in contrast to the rest of the market, and risk being left behind as the best people will find other employers who allow them to thrive and are not scared of allowing them the freedom to do so.
    Additionally, a tendency to promote 'yes-men' into the most senior positions means their is no diversity of leadership - everyone hums the same tune; even if it is discordant. Adding people with intelligence and the balls to challenge the owner would probably benefit the business.
    Overall I had a good time at MBA but, unless they ask themselves some tough questions, I fear the writing is on the wall. And it ain't saying anything nice!

    McGregor Boyall Associates Response

    4 Dec 2017 – Marketing Manager

    Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts. We appreciate your feedback and have passed them on to the senior management team. We highly value our people and significantly invest... More


  7. "Great Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at McGregor Boyall Associates full-time

    Pros

    Massive & Diverse client base
    Very reputable name
    Ability to dual desk
    Strong Commission
    Business Development Opportunities / taking ownership of your own desk
    Strong incentives & personal development plans

    Cons

    Senior Management need to reinforce & be more strict with KPI's & SLA's

    Advice to Management

    Don't carry underperformers!

    McGregor Boyall Associates Response

    2 May 2017 – Marketing Manager

    Thank you for your positive feedback and for taking the time to leave a review! Your comments have been passed onto the Senior Team for review. We wish you luck with your future endeavours.

  8. "It's Alright"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in London, England
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at McGregor Boyall Associates (More than a year)

    Pros

    Nice working environment - two more words needed

    Cons

    Lacks commercialism - three more words needed

    McGregor Boyall Associates Response

    20 Mar 2017 – Marketing Manager

    Thank you for your feedback which has been passed on to our Senior Management Team.


  9. "Recruitment consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Consultant in London, England
    Former Employee - IT Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at McGregor Boyall Associates full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great training, large client list, decent commission

    Cons

    Sales environment, no work life balance, revolving door

    McGregor Boyall Associates Response

    27 Jan 2017 – Marketing Manager

    Thanks for your review and your feedback which we value very highly.


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Few KPI's but a lack of direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant in London, England
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Laid back and few KPI's. Good salary.

    Cons

    Lack of direction, little delegation, top-down style, can be back stabby

    Advice to Management

    None

    McGregor Boyall Associates Response

    11 Jan 2017 – Marketing Manager

    Thank you for your feedback which will be passed to the Senior Team. We wish you luck with your future career.


Showing 37 of 37 reviews
Reset Filters