McGregor Boyall Associates "recruitment companies" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

McGregor Boyall Associates Employee Reviews about "recruitment companies"

Updated 4 Dec 2017

To filter reviews, or .

4.5
92%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
McGregor Boyall Associates Group CEO Laurie Boyall
Laurie Boyall
36 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Long hours like any other recruitment position(in 5 reviews)

  • "Being made to work long hours but I guess this is the same in all Recruitment companies(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "recruitment companies"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Best choice I've made in recruitment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McGregor Boyall Associates full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    McGregor Boyall is with out a doubt the best recruitment company I have had the opportunity to work for, and in my 3 months so far it's difficult to find a fault. Unlike the 4 other recruitment companies I have worked for in my career, everything is clear and realistic with McGregor Boyall. The commission structure is excellent, there are regular incentive targets which are realistic to hit, the people I work with are all mature recruiters and the training and development is great. Honestly, can not find any faults with MB.

    Cons

    As stated above, can't find any cons with MB. Only thing is long hours which is the same in any recruitment job, but that is my own choice!

    Continue reading
    McGregor Boyall Associates2015-06-25

    McGregor Boyall Associates Response

    June 29, 2015Marketing Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review!

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (1)

    "If you want to work in recruitment - it won't get better than MBA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McGregor Boyall Associates full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Invest in promoting and developing current employees - Great Client database - Well known name - 30 years of experience - Clear targets / milestones for promotion - Achievable KPIs - Approachable management - Grown-up culture - BIG rewards (weekends away abroad / days out etc)

    Cons

    - The office would benefit from a 'facelift' - No 'small' perks offered by other recruitment companies like early finish Friday for all / fresh fruit / breakfast / monthly massage / office personal trainer / laptops etc

    McGregor Boyall Associates2017-12-04

    McGregor Boyall Associates Response

    April 26, 2018Marketing Manager

    Thanks for your strong feedback - this has been passed to our Senior Leadership Team for review. We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review!

    Continue reading
  3. "A good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McGregor Boyall Associates full-time

    Pros

    Good commission structure with opportunities to earn extra money Staff receive good training and there are lots of managers on hand to ensure that you are supported in your job role Lots of extra incentives such as trips away, rewards for 1st and big deals, and team nights out for hitting targets Good working environment, everyone is really friendly and socialises with lots of nights out, after work drinks and social events

    Cons

    There is an unclear structure as to how to gain promotion and no clear timelines are given It is a big step up from resourcer to consultant and the structure may benefit from a middle step which is available at some other recruitment companies

    Continue reading
    McGregor Boyall Associates2015-06-10
  4. "Look after your staff!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Resourcer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at McGregor Boyall Associates full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A brilliant team and some individually great people. A good commission structure as a resourcer. It was great not to have telephone calls monitored or be given ridiculous KPI's like most other Recruitment companies.

    Cons

    Being made to work long hours but I guess this is the same in all Recruitment companies. The progression from Resourcer to Consultant was very slow and poorly managed. It was like they were keeping you back on purpose so they didn't have to pay you more money. Managers tell you how well you are doing and give you A LOT of extra responsibility but then don't give you any rewards in return. It's like they employ junior people to get all the money they can out of them and then expect them to leave... and the cycle begins again.

    Continue reading
    McGregor Boyall Associates2014-10-24
  5. Helpful (4)

    "The best recruitment company I have worked for!!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at McGregor Boyall Associates full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Well I was there for 6 years and all I can say is that I made a massive error in leaving. Great people, MD has an open door policy, people stay there for 10 years or so, fantastic family feel to the environment, doesn't have all of the rubbish phone times and crap kpi's but has a qualitative outlook which is refreshing. Having worked at 6 other recruitment companies it is by far the best.

    Cons

    It is like every recruitment company, sales environment which can be tough anywhere you go.

    Continue reading
    McGregor Boyall Associates2014-09-25
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Overall a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McGregor Boyall Associates full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    McGregor Boyall is an excellent company for both experienced Recruitment Consultants and anyone new to the industry looking to develop a career. They give you the opportunity to succeed in an environment that is both friendly and supportive. The training programmes are excellent, and outside of this the general level of industry knowledge within the company is second to none. The friendly atmosphere created ensures that consultants work together and share knowledge to achieve mutual success.

    Cons

    There can be some late nights, but no more so than any other recruitment company.

    Continue reading
    McGregor Boyall Associates2014-09-25
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Rewarding workplace and a great brand!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at McGregor Boyall Associates

    Pros

    From my experience of working for McGregor-Boyall I can only speak positives. Having worked for other recruitment companies there are clear and distinct differences to why they are streets ahead from other experiences I have previously had. Everyone is approachable and willing to help, this includes back office, management and across the sales floor. They allow their staff to be expressive and are always looking to be an organic company that promotes from within. Management use KPIs as a tool to improve performance and profitability as supposed to scare mongering their staff. You are trusted and treated as a professional and are left to manage your own time and workload. I have recommended previous colleagues to join the company and I am sure that they will echo the comments that I have made.

    Cons

    Recruitment as a whole can be a challenging environment, so the normal stresses and strains do apply.

    McGregor Boyall Associates2014-09-24

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 7 reviews