McKinsey & Company "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

McKinsey & Company Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 26 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.4
90%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
McKinsey & Company Chairman Kevin Sneader
Kevin Sneader
648 Ratings
Pros
  • "Working with incredibly smart people who are always pushing you to get to a better answer(in 223 reviews)

  • "McKinsey is great place to work(in 135 reviews)

Cons
  • "Not a sustainable lifestyle with very long hours(in 687 reviews)

  • "Lots of travel and tough for young families(in 152 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "The best career start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Summer Intern in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at McKinsey & Company for less than a year

    Pros

    Culture of networking - in the lifts, in the canteen Exposure to clients (often C-suite) even as a junior Interesting, high profile projects in UK and internationally Kick-off meetings allow you to mention work/life balance commitments Free breakfast, lunch and £35 dinner allowance

    Cons

    Long hours, very project dependent Moved office location from Piccadilly Sq

    McKinsey & Company2019-11-25
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McKinsey & Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Incredible training opportunities, a genuinely caring environment and unparalleled benefits. Work/life balance as a non-consultant is great.

    Cons

    There can be a lot of pressure but this is generally very rewarding.

    McKinsey & Company2019-08-21
  3. "Perfect place to work.. it’s really hard to leave"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Expert in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McKinsey & Company full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    +work life balance +collaborative culture +amazing colleagues

    Cons

    + low salary + individual working environment

    Continue reading
    McKinsey & Company2019-06-25
  4. "People, people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - - Select - in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McKinsey & Company full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good things: interesting, engaged colleagues; a surprising degree of idealism; a great support network; in non-consulting roles, a good work-life balance; insight into big issues and big organizations; meeting clients in many different industries

    Cons

    Self-importance; for some, hours that are far too long; the exhausting effect of being surrounded by high achievers; grinding out studies that reinforce deleterious trends towards finance-driven, break-neck capitalism

    McKinsey & Company2018-01-25
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Lack of transparency and inconsistent promotion practices across regions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in London, England
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at McKinsey & Company

    Pros

    Very bright and motivated colleagues- great work ethic Excellent knowledge development and management Opportunities for growth if you are completely flexible to travel and kiss work-life balance goodbye Good training ground... for other jobs!

    Cons

    Limited choice in projects/sectors, especially as you grow within the firm- saying "no" to a project is discouraged Operating model (4 days a week at client) is very demanding on lifestyle Limited transparency on how promotion systems function- marked inconsistency between regions Tough to make flexi/part-time options work practically

    Continue reading
    McKinsey & Company2009-10-28
  6. "Beyond expectations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Prague
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McKinsey & Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    When I was joining I was worried about connecting my personal life with work here and I remember I was reading glassdoor reviews such as - great company, bad work-life balance. I must say that my expectations were wrong. Although there is a strong work ethic, I never felt that there would be a push-back when you need to leave earlier or start later.

    Cons

    It is hard for a newcomer to get to know the structure which is very fluid. It takes some time to understand the inner workings of the company.

    McKinsey & Company2020-02-26
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Business Presentation Specialist in Chennai

    I have been working at McKinsey & Company full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Values, Work life balance, Benefits

    Cons

    VG&M Compensation is not encouraging. It should be made in line with "One Firm" compensation.

    McKinsey & Company2020-02-14
  8. "Best Place for starters"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graphic Designer in Chennai
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at McKinsey & Company full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great work/life balance ! Good Benefits

    Cons

    No Career growth ! Internal politics

    McKinsey & Company2020-02-23
  9. "Finance department experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accountant in Moscow
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at McKinsey & Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent office and conditions, work-life balance in Finance department on high level (you will leave at 6 o'clock almost every day)

    Cons

    You won't have a lot of opportunities for growth in Finance department, they use Manpower for back office employment

    McKinsey & Company2019-11-01
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Assistant in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at McKinsey & Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I really enjoyed working at McKinsey. The benefits are amazing & unbeatable. The vacation time is nice also. The week off for Xmas is another huge perk. The work is interesting. Great opportunity for relocation anywhere in the world. The work/life balance is good too.

    Cons

    The salary is terrible. The TSC (Tampa Service Center) is micromanaged & employees are treated like kindergartners. All other locations can work from home except Tampa. The culture is like a girl's sorority gone horribly wrong.

    Continue reading
    McKinsey & Company2019-09-20
Found 70 reviews