Mcmullen & Sons Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Mcmullen & Sons Reviews

Updated 11 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 18 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
77%
Recommend to a Friend
Heydon Mizon
0 Ratings
  1. "Excellent company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front of House 

    I worked at Mcmullen & Sons part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly working environment, with plenty of training offered.

    Cons

    Varied and unstructured hours on a weekly basis.

    Mcmullen & Sons2019-07-11
  2. "Awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Mcmullen & Sons full-time

    Pros

    Fantastic family based companies, treated like family and are very supportive with difficult personal circumstances should they arise. They let you put your own mark on your pub unlike other more corporate organisations

    Cons

    There are few cons, the pay rate is not the best, the cons are the same as any other hospitality company but the cons are better

    Advice to Management

    My area manager was the best, i think she was under valued, so maybe higher management could do more for their Am's

    Mcmullen & Sons2019-02-22
  3. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front of House in Borehamwood, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mcmullen & Sons full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great team and training programm.Excellent support and growth opportunities.

    Cons

    Wages could be a bit more higher

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    Mcmullen & Sons2019-01-09
  4. "Saracens Head - Ware"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bartender in Ware, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mcmullen & Sons part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice staff, good training.

    Cons

    Hard to get the time off.

    Advice to Management

    Not applicable.

    Mcmullen & Sons2018-12-15
  5. "good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Events in Enfield, England
    Recommends
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mcmullen & Sons for less than a year

    Pros

    Good progression opportunities, flexible working patterns

    Cons

    Long hours, only seem to get breaks if you smoke

    Mcmullen & Sons2018-11-27
  6. "Fantastic Place to Work (Waitress)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server/Waitress 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Mcmullen & Sons full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great co-workers, ability to gain awards and attend courses, good tips, great customers

    Cons

    Usually will have to change location drastically to move up in the company

    Advice to Management

    Focus a bit more on each individual pub and tailor menus based on what the locals are asking us for

    Mcmullen & Sons2018-10-06
  7. "Front of house"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mcmullen & Sons full-time

    Pros

    Good atmosphere Role and responsabilities well defined Paid weekly and always on time

    Cons

    Pay Long and late shifts (expected when you work in a pub)

    Mcmullen & Sons2018-09-09
  8. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Waitress/Bar Staff 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mcmullen & Sons part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Generous salary Career progression Full training Staff discount

    Cons

    No cons just long hours

    Mcmullen & Sons2018-08-07
  9. "Nice people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mcmullen & Sons part-time

    Pros

    Great people to work with and for. Good opportunities to progress and learn

    Cons

    Very average payers. Not great at dealing with problem staff - tend to "manage them out" by reducing hours.

    Mcmullen & Sons2018-02-21
  10. "Disastisfying and uncomfortable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mcmullen & Sons full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some lovely customers which we all know is a rarity and some of the team were lovely and welcoming

    Cons

    Same can't be said of the site management. Felt unwelcome and judged from the offset. Training was non existent as management has track record of prioritising holiday over induction and the use of initiative based on years of experience was clearly not welcomed. The most disappointing aspect was the active encouragement in not getting on with your colleagues. Clearly a dictatorship was preferred method over team work,...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    We all know management lead by example - the tension created in this place at times needs to be seriously addressed by the higher ups.

    Mcmullen & Sons2018-02-27
Found 18 reviews