MediaMath Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Oct 19, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 73 of over 416 reviews

3.1
50%
Recommend to a Friend
55%
Approve of CEO
MediaMath CEO Neil Nguyen
Neil Nguyen
9 Ratings
Pros
  • "CEO is fired up and believes MediaMath can be a winner in the market(in 71 reviews)

  • "Pretty flexible, good work-life balance(in 65 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "I can’t imagine the recent positive reviews on this site for MediaMath are real(in 39 reviews)

  • "there are definitely some growing pains(in 13 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "work life balance"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Overall it's still a great place to work

      Feb 19, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The two best things about MediaMath are the people and culture. The team are friendly, collaborative, down to Earth; this truly is a place where you can count your colleagues as friends. In addition to this, you very much get the sense that you are surrounded by motivated, driven and extremely knowledgeable individuals. The team is ultimately what drives the great culture within MediaMath. Work/life balance is also a major draw card; the work environment is very flexible. We have a Culture Club who do an amazing job of planning events for us all, giving us the opportunity to enjoy each others company outside of work. There are lots of other perks like in office massages, free Friday lunches, snacks and drinks which help to make it a really enjoyable place to work.

      Cons

      A lot of things have changed within MediaMath over the past 12 months and it could definitely be said that the company here in London has experienced some growing pains. Obviously the office space is a major issue but something that will be resolved soon enough. The U.S does try to exert an inordinate amount of control over the London team, which is incredibly frustrating but this is an issue that is getting more and more air play so once again, I expect that it will become less of a problem in the coming year. The London office has scaled quite quickly and as is often the case when a company grows at a rapid rate, there was a lack of direction and clarity of vision but once again, the feedback has been heard and things are changing. I have seen some fairly outlandish claims made in earlier reviews but I haven’t been privy to any toxicity, politics, lack of leadership or excessive partying. While it made for an entertaining and dramatic narrative, I have to say that in my experience none of that is true. It’s not a perfect place to work, but it’s a company made up of intelligent, hard working people who get along well, celebrate each other’s success and are all working towards a common goal. I’m happy here and hope to have a long and successful career with MediaMath.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Once a great company, now not so much

      Sep 9, 2020 - Engineering 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Good benefits - Good people / culture - Good work life balance

      Cons

      - No personal growth unless you know someone. Experience does not matter - Uncompetitive salary - no yearly pay rise (maybe limited to certain offices and/or people) - People jumping from one depart to another with no experience into senior positions. It is quite demoralising to see - It feels like there are more VP's and directors than individual contributors - VERY US centric - Constant production issues - the engineering teams try their best to keep a broken product running. Releases often lead to production issues - Leadership are interested in pushing out new products/features when the time should be spent on fixing/optimising the current state of the product The company has not been the same since the well publicised 2016 layoffs. There have been regular cuts to budgets/benefits since then. I personally do not trust the vast majority of these positive reviews.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      MediaMath Response

      Manager, HR Business Partner

      Thank you for providing your feedback. We want to be sure we adequately respond to your feedback point by point and welcome the opportunity to talk even further. First, we’re glad to hear that during your time with us you had a good experience with your colleagues and enjoyed our benefits. We do put a lot of thought and intention into our culture and strive to foster a healthy work-life balance across the company. As part of our focus on continually improving the experience of all of our employees, we recently hired a new Chief People Officer. Among her areas of focus for the near term is evaluating our overall promotion and compensation practices to ensure we are promoting fair practices throughout the organization. We do take pride in our internal mobility program as we think it is a great opportunity for our employees to stretch and flex their transferable skills into new roles and learn along the way, reflecting onf one of our core values: “Obsess Over Learning and Growth.” While we always try to align our internal transfers to ensure their skills and abilities match the position, your feedback is a helpful for us to be hyper focused on ensuring that our transfers are adequately equipped to succeed in their new roles and ensure our teams are properly staffed. Over the past 24 months, we have implemented a new engineering organizational structure aimed to ensure our people have a dedicated leader focused on their growth; in doing so most of our engineers find themselves in individual contributor roles with a small number of VPs managing people. We are also continuing to invest in our global growth and recently welcomed a UK-based Chief Client Officer. Our technology leadership team is committed to focusing on the improvement of our technology and release process to best serve our clients. In the interest of continual improvement, we will certainly bring this feedback to our head of engineering. Our leadership team is committed, now more than ever, to transparency and is open and willing to discuss ongoing issues through our weekly global all hands meetings and opportunities to ask questions openly and anonymously. Like many companies, 2020 has presented vast and unanticipated challenges and we did instate a 10% pay-cut across the board, including all leadership team members. We were open and transparent about this pay-cut and also prioritized the reinstatement of salaries to non-leadership positions first. (We are now happy to say that we have reinstated salaries across the company!) Thank you again for your valuable feedback.

    3. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Good place to work

      Sep 25, 2016 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great team and work-life balance

      Cons

      Restructuring may have impacted morales.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      A fair place to work with local ability to overcome immediate challenges

      Jun 16, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      An excellent work-life balance for those that want it - advocacy of working remotely truly encouraged via accountability. Local management are doing so well in view of a prescribed framework and should be commended for dealing with challenges not of their own making.

      Cons

      IMO, some priorities need to be shifted around for the greater good. Often felt that (only in some cases!) those with a trans-atlantic reporting line could be accused of letting local colleagues down.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Top Team!

      Jan 7, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      For me, one of the main highlights of working for MediaMath is the office culture. The team are tight knit and this is evident in the friendly “vibe” throughout the office. This makes for a collaborative environment and teams genuinely have interest in seeing other teams succeed. There are monthly social activities which are superbly organised and cover a whole host of interests. This is a place where your colleagues quickly become your friends – everyone bonds over a free beer or two! The office layout means that the executives are accessible and we are frequently encouraged to use the open line of communication offered which is refreshing. Work/life balance is great and I personally feel that I am trusted by my manager to manage my workload remotely as and when I need to.

      Cons

      The lack of space! Plus the office could do with some sprucing up – something which I know efforts are being made to do.

      4 people found this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Overall positive, severely lacks focus and direction

      Oct 29, 2015 -  in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Mostly talented employees - Good working environment, excellent employee benefits and perks - Good work life balance, flexible hours.

      Cons

      - Confused long term strategy - Seemingly trying to do everything, rather than do a few things well. - Direction from management in US seems to jump from project to project with little or no sustained focus - Reluctant to innovate with clients - Resource and money spent on products/projects that fulfill a managerial whim rather than serving a client or product need. Products that wont result in short or long term revenue

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Highly rewarding employer, where employees have genuine empowerment.

      Oct 7, 2015 - Platform Support Analyst in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      * A carefully selected, highly skilled pool of employees, where everyone demonstrates a can-do attitude. * An environment where employees are empowered to drive change, and new ideas are welcomed. * Excellent benefits, from healthcare to pension scheme. * A very social environment, with events scheduled every week, from free lunches to post-work meet-ups. * Excellent work life balance, with shorter working hours than many other companies in the industry. * A rapidly growing company, constantly innovating and changing. * Excellent opportunities offered for learning - the company takes performance very seriously, and offers numerous courses to help employees better understand the industry and the technology that they are engaging with.

      Cons

      * Certain processes are still immature in newer sections of the business, though this represents it's own opportunity as the business is rapidly evolving. * The pace of learning/change at times can be tricky to manage, employees should be willing to invest significant additional time during their first months in order to ensure that they are at a comfortable level to perform.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Best workplace ever!

      Aug 17, 2015 - QA Engineer in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing people, great environment, good work-life balance, amazing opportunities to develop new skills, with really helpful, supportive management.

      Cons

      Nothing that I can recall at the moment!

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great team & company

      Aug 17, 2015 -  in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I joined so that I could continue my career progression whilst maintaining a reasonable work life balance and MediaMath has not disappointed. During my time here I have been able to work on projects that have enhanced my skill set and kept my work varied and interesting. The team are exceptional and some of the best nights out these days are with work!

      Cons

      limited desk space due to exponential growth. Is temporary, however.

      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great company that cares about its employees

      Jul 16, 2015 -  in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Joined MediaMath recently with very positive impressions. In terms of job scope and professional development, MediaMath provides with very good opportunities to utilize your skills, recognize your potential, provides the space and all tools that you need to do your job well. The work environment is very open – minded, professional and relaxed at the same time. MediaMath promotes work- life balance. There are great benefits like flexible work hours, free food, company drinks and team building. Healthy work culture where you will grow professionally and personally.

      Cons

      I don't have any cons about MediaMath.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 73 Reviews

    Popular Careers with MediaMath Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at MediaMath? Share Your Experiences

    MediaMath logo
    or