Memorial Sloan Kettering Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Memorial Sloan Kettering Reviews

Updated 20 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1235 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
76%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Memorial Sloan Kettering CEO Craig B. Thompson
Craig B. Thompson
575 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Wished they were more MSK locations in Florida(in 36 reviews)

  • "Easy to get lost and depressed in work if you can not find the work-life balance(in 33 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Postdoctoral Research Fellow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Memorial Sloan Kettering full-time

    Pros

    Working in a world-class cancer research institute

    Cons

    Salary, although better than NIH funded Postdocs, is still low.

    Advice to Management

    Investment more in your Postdoctoral researchers.

    Memorial Sloan Kettering2017-07-17

    Memorial Sloan Kettering Response

    July 24, 2017Talent Community Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. We agree that working in a world-class cancer research institute is one of the best pros about working at MSK!

  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Memorial Sloan Kettering full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great environment. Every working towards a common goal.

    Cons

    None that come to mind

    Memorial Sloan Kettering2019-08-21
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Technician in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Memorial Sloan Kettering full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Competitive salary, friendly and motivating culture, top-notch science.

    Cons

    Bureaucracy can be somewhat difficult to deal with at times.

    Memorial Sloan Kettering2019-08-16
  4. "Awesome opportunity for BSN students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Nurse Extern/Cap 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Memorial Sloan Kettering full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    learned alot about cancer care and how to really be a nurse I worked 3-4 12s a week so it was a nice paycheck

    Cons

    Im a PCT at HSS now and I dont like it I miss the atmostphere at Sloan

    Memorial Sloan Kettering2019-08-10
  5. "Not easy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Office Coordinator in New York, NY
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Memorial Sloan Kettering full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    MSK has tons of resources and benefits

    Cons

    The Office Coordinator is a very stressful and demanding position.

    Memorial Sloan Kettering2019-08-20
  6. "Great growth, potential to branch up, and become a leader in the field"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Computational Biologist in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Memorial Sloan Kettering full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great growth, potential to branch up, and become a leader in the field

    Cons

    Hard to think. Young PIs might have trouble learding.

    Advice to Management

    Respect, support, mentorship.

    Memorial Sloan Kettering2019-07-31
  7. "Care Coordinator MSK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Care Coordinator 

    I have been working at Memorial Sloan Kettering full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Wonderful fellow employees and colleagues.

    Cons

    Felt like we were always treading water to stay afloat never excelling and moving forward. Large organization so change happens very very slowly

    Memorial Sloan Kettering2019-08-12
  8. Helpful (1)

    "World class institution"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Research Associate 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Memorial Sloan Kettering full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Excellent support for postdocs. Good benefits and housing.

    Cons

    Large company. A lot of bureaucracy.

    Memorial Sloan Kettering2019-07-23
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Truly a great place where to do research!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Associate in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Memorial Sloan Kettering full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Environment, expertise, amazing facilities, incredible colleagues, translational science

    Cons

    Limited space, high cost of living in NYC

    Memorial Sloan Kettering2019-07-20
  10. "Plenty of vacation, generous 401K and great health insurance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Associate in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Memorial Sloan Kettering full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Excellent really intelligent people to work with and they don’t care what you wear. They only care how your brain works.

    Cons

    Life depends on the PI’s ability to bring in grant money; uncertainty.

    Memorial Sloan Kettering2019-07-22
Found 1235 reviews