Menzies Distribution Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Menzies Distribution Reviews

Updated 20 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 32 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
44%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Menzies Distribution CEO Paula Bell
Paula Bell
6 Ratings
  1. "class 2 driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Class II Driver in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Menzies Distribution for less than a year

    Pros

    none .nil. bad. unhelpful. poor management

    Cons

    heavy workload, long days. uninterested management. poor moral. waiting around to be loaded.

    Advice to Management

    Employ more drivers give us a break

    Menzies Distribution2016-09-27

    Menzies Distribution Response

    October 27, 2016Talent Acquisition Manager

    I am afraid you have the wrong Menzies.

  2. Helpful (3)

    "Shocking. Backwards. Brain-dead."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CRU Team Lead in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Menzies Distribution full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - There is a car park. - There is sometimes soap in the dispensers in the male toilets. - 25th December off.

    Cons

    - Poor pay. - Poor working hours. - Incompetent supervisors. - Incompetent staff. (40% speak English at a beginner level). - Absentee branch managers. - Abusive supervisors (not pysically). - No investment in staff. - No forward thinking. - No progression. - Severe lack of training. - Disgusting conditions in staff canteen. - Distinct favouritism amongst certain staff. - Unfair annual leave delegation/coverage....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get on the shop floor, get to know staff and realise the situation. It is a car crash.....and the car is on fire.

    Menzies Distribution2016-10-11
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Poor Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Menzies Distribution full-time

    Pros

    Basically the people that they hire are the best part of the job.

    Cons

    Near enough everything else from the pros.

    Menzies Distribution2016-09-15
  4. "Parcel delivery"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Parcel Delivery in Oban, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Menzies Distribution full-time

    Pros

    Only one pro while out delivering I'm my own boss to a certain extent that is until I get a phone call from the team leader where are you when will you get back you'll have to do this and that when you get back

    Cons

    Rubbish pay for what we do. Work and life balance is appalling. No thanks for what we do. Management and team leaders do nothing to help all they do is talk and leave all the actual work to everyone else. Especially in the Argyll area. Oh and the pay is just above minimum overtime is less than a pound above Basic

    Advice to Management

    Completely restructure management. Make sure team leaders actually do their job and not sit on their buts all day. Better pay for us on the Lowest run of the ladder and much better work and life balance

    Menzies Distribution2016-09-19
  5. "Such a shame."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor in York, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Menzies Distribution full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Get crew on my shift but we all left when we got chance for redundancy. Good pay eventually.

    Cons

    Never enough staff. Too much pressure. Too much reliance on others so they don't know or care what's going on so long as figures seem right at the end of the week.

    Advice to Management

    Learn how things work and care and respect your employees.

    Menzies Distribution2016-07-14
  6. "Old Ship with no progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Menzies Distribution

    Pros

    Relaxed working environment Good work life balance

    Cons

    No investment into the company, staff or buildings The business seems happy to just tick over with no forward thinking No progression No staff development

    Advice to Management

    Company is in need of a complete strategy change. The company is in desperate need of innovation and new ideas

    Menzies Distribution2016-07-15
  7. Helpful (1)

    "If you like to lie"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Advisor in Doncaster, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Menzies Distribution for less than a year

    Pros

    none that I can think of at this moment

    Cons

    Not a job to take if you believe in customer service values. Was expected to lie to customers regarding their deliveries and they were over a barrel as Menzies are 1 of 2 distributors.

    Menzies Distribution2016-07-09
  8. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Menzies Distribution

    Pros

    Processes supported by good technology and infrastructure

    Cons

    Yhere are not opportunities for career development

    Menzies Distribution2016-02-23
  9. "Merchandiser"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Merchandiser in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Menzies Distribution part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Working in different enviroments within london

    Cons

    Not enough hours during a month

    Advice to Management

    Please upgrade minimum living wage

    Menzies Distribution2015-12-20
  10. "Good for the first few months, but supervisor wisdom made it a miserable place to be."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Driver in Newbridge, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Menzies Distribution full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    My phone got a pretty good signal.

    Cons

    It's a dead end job. Enthusiasm is completely non-existent.

    Advice to Management

    Employ supervisors that concentrate on the job. Not give guys hi-vis vests with supervisor on the back, to hang out in the smoke shelter acting like the MAN. It's cringe worthy and hard to take anyone like that serious.

    Menzies Distribution2015-04-01
Found 32 reviews