Mercer "work environment" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Mercer Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated 18 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
67%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Mercer President and CEO Martine Ferland (no image)
Martine Ferland
91 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Friendly environment-enjoyable experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retirement Actuarial Analyst 

    I worked at Mercer full-time

    Pros

    Really friendly and supportive working environment, excellent work-life balance, a lot of interesting social events and a young workforce

    Cons

    Not as many career opportunities as expected

    Mercer2019-10-05
  2. "Employee Friendly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Mercer full-time

    Pros

    Good and healthy work environment

    Cons

    Pay packages are low as compared to market

    Mercer2019-09-09
  3. "Enjoyable Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mercer

    Pros

    Nice work environment, friendly colleagues

    Cons

    Standardised day-to-day work, no parking

    Mercer2019-01-04
  4. "Consulting Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 

    I worked at Mercer

    Pros

    Colleagues and work environment is amazing and very supportive.

    Cons

    Worked too short a time to know.

    Mercer2018-09-28
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Mercer wealth analytical service/ RSC Belfast"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retirement Analyst in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Mercer full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Young work environment good if you want to work with a young work force.

    Cons

    -They falsely advise that they will support exam progression but they do not offer it in the first year. Also, the support can only start after one year and passing an exam. -progression is difficult unless you are friendly with the right people. -No over time pay unless you have maximised 6.25 hours of billable work. -large challenging work loads from offset but given very little support. -It’s expected to stay behind after work to do more work or learn new process as no time is given during the day for on the job learning!

    Continue reading
    Mercer2017-12-10
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Good job...Limited Progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mercer full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good people, and a nice working environment. Also very stable and reasonably low stress. No us and them issues between junior and senior staff.

    Cons

    Not much room to grow, moving to other teams to try something different wasn't viewed as a possibility, and only seemed to be offered to staff who intended to leave.

    Continue reading
    Mercer2017-05-03
  7. "Actuarial Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Actuarial Student in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mercer full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Plenty of opportunities, good working environment, good social scene, good IT facilities and systems, ambitious business plans.

    Cons

    Can be higher pressure on billable hours; some people can be hard to work with; significant oposition to innovation; experience can be highly dependent on who you mainly work with, which is pot luck; exam salary increments haven't changed for 15 years.

    Continue reading
    Mercer2016-11-08
  8. "A nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mercer

    Pros

    Good career progression and plenty of opportunities if you seek them out. You work with great people who really care about what they do Great flexible working environment

    Cons

    Culture could be a tad more exciting but I think it's fairly consistent for the industry and at times the risk averse nature of the business can slow things down

    Continue reading
    Mercer2016-06-01
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Actuarial Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Actuarial Trainee in Birmingham, England
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mercer full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good training, friendly colleagues, interesting and challenging work environment, benefits package reasonable compared to similar companies.

    Cons

    Relatively low job security, redundancy exercises seem to be relatively frequent. Individuals seem to be rewarded by management more than teams, so team players who do not go out of their way to attract attention can be underappreciated.

    Continue reading
    Mercer2016-03-17
  10. Helpful (7)

    "Absolutely awful!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pension Administrator in Manchester City Centre, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mercer full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some of the general staff are loveliest people. Very knowledgable and so hard working given the awful working environment.

    Cons

    The management are some of the worst people I've met in my life, let alone worked with. You were expected to perform at standards that are almost impossible to attain and when you get there you won't get any thanks. Management are of such poor quality that their lack of ability to people manage resorts in attempts to fear monger staff by shouting about them in earshot. So unprofessional that they don't even hide discussing mercer employees confidential personal information with clients (such as reasons for long term sick absence). It was such a shame as I was so excited to join the company and was more than let down. After just over half a year with the company they wanted me to give 3 months notice, even though I was a relatively inexperienced administrator!

    Continue reading
    Mercer2015-07-01

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 158 reviews