Merck KGaA "working environment" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Merck KGaA Employee Reviews about "working environment"

Updated 28 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
82%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Merck KGaA CEO Stefan Oschmann
Stefan Oschmann
227 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Low product pipeline new products needed(in 15 reviews)

  • "Many positions require german language skills for full time postions(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "working environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great company, great atmosphere, great opportunities."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Research and Development Scientist in Southampton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Merck KGaA for more than a year

    Pros

    I found that there was good equipment and a safe working environment. The company also takes into consideration academic requirements while doing an integrated masters placement which was very useful.

    Cons

    Germany based, this can limit the number of opportunities available to those who want to remain in the UK.

    Merck KGaA2019-07-22
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Placement Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - PhD Student in Bath, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Merck KGaA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The work environment is good, the benefit is great. The company uses the latest technology so you can always learn a lot from them. Lots of scientists around, very intelligent crowed, which I fully enjoyed being with.

    Cons

    There is some political feud going on in my sector which as a placement student I wasn't fully involved in, but often find myself being in a awkward situation.

    Merck KGaA2017-11-21
  3. "R&D Scientist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - R&D Scientist in Chilworth, Hampshire, South East England, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Merck KGaA for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice working environment, good laboratory facilities - if a little cramped.

    Cons

    UK R&D operations feel a little second fiddle to those in Germany

    Continue reading
    Merck KGaA2017-06-14
  4. "Good if you like experiemental science."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Merck KGaA

    Pros

    Good supervision and encouraging mentors. Lots of other students fostering a sociable working environment. Worked autonomously and my research was important for the project.

    Cons

    Staring down a microscope often for long periods. Lots of meetings. Worked in shared area with other students so often the noise levels were too high to concentrate.

    Continue reading
    Merck KGaA2017-04-14
  5. "Relaxed work environment, but slow career progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Scientist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Merck KGaA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Relaxed working environment, pretty much everyone has a PhD so there's plenty to learn. If you find doing just research satisfying enough then it is great.

    Cons

    Slow pace of research and reasonably slow career progression. Salary isn't as competitive as some other companies.

    Continue reading
    Merck KGaA2016-11-01
  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Merck KGaA

    Pros

    Diverse, innovative and exciting work environment.

    Cons

    Working students and interns don't have high perspectives of being hired after their contact ends.

    Merck KGaA2019-12-29
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Good Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Coordinator in Bangalore

    I have been working at Merck KGaA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Here the work environment is very relaxing, especially in the Bangalore MITC. Work Timing is flexible & even under pressure, you can work on your own without much disturbance. Even the Work Culture is liberal up here.

    Cons

    The only con is that the company policies are quite laid back & even the work allocation is not very structured.

    Continue reading
    Merck KGaA2019-08-23
  8. "I have been working at Merck full-time for 2 years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Merck KGaA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work environment,clear vision and direction as an organization

    Cons

    Senior Management seems to be disconnected from the field

    Merck KGaA2019-07-09
  9. "SAP MM WM & EWM consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Contractor - SAP MM WM & EWM Consultant 

    I have been working at Merck KGaA

    Pros

    Healthy work Environment, Flexibility, Secure

    Cons

    Complex SAP system, No Cons

    Merck KGaA2019-05-12
  10. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Merck KGaA full-time

    Pros

    Leaders of their business field, friendly colleagues and international work environment, definitely a lot to learn

    Cons

    Personally, Darmstadt is not my desired location

    Merck KGaA2019-03-14

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 34 reviews