Find jobs for Actor

Merlin Entertainments Actor Reviews

Updated Oct 27, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 14 of over 782 reviews

3.0
47%
Recommend to a Friend
35%
Approve of CEO
Merlin Entertainments CEO Nick Varney
Nick Varney
7 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Very flexible

    Sep 29, 2020 - Actor in London, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I had a great cast and made incredible friends, you are allowed to swap shifts/ someone cover your afternoon if you have an audition. Management are great and do help about this if you can’t find cover for something important.

    Cons

    Pay isn’t ideal for the work you put in to the shows.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Merlin Entertainments Response

    Recruitment Marketing Coordinator

    Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a review! Our Actors are right at the centre of our magic so thanks so much for your hard work!

  2. 3.0
    Former Contractor, less than 1 year

    It's fun, but your hours will disappear during off peak

    Oct 27, 2021 - Actor in London, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great fun environment with like minded people

    Cons

    If trade isn't coming in its the Actors who get cut rather than office staff.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Upper Management Suck

    Apr 6, 2021 - Actor in London, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Nice colleagues, good team spirit

    Cons

    Upper management hate staff and performers

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Good fun

    Jan 11, 2021 - Scare Actor in Warwick, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good management, reasonable hours and long hours around halloween

    Cons

    Pay is low compared to other companies, feel very replaceable

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Fun job, great people, but actors are taken advantage of and over worked.

    Aug 12, 2020 - Actor in Warwick, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The best people seem to be attracted to scare acting. Fun job.

    Cons

    Performing for 3 hours at a time before a break. Unable to go to bathroom during this time despite needing to hydrate voice because of speaking for 3 hours straight and performing.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Fun job, enthusiastic staff

    May 5, 2020 - Actor in London, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This is a fun job for people who like to remain active in their jobs, you constantly have the opportunity to change characters and each day is different

    Cons

    Overtime is common, and not often a choice to say no to doing it, sometimes there is favouritism among management, if you go back year after year they will favour you

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 2.0
    Former Contractor, less than 1 year

    If you are going to do it, do it for the friends you will make

    Aug 3, 2019 - Actor in London, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Hiring personable actors. Some Management staff are nice but even they are being pressured by higher personnel. Some good benefits such as the Merlin Pass

    Cons

    Needs better pay and a need to understand the role you will be undertaking. The actors are more entertainment staff and should be treated as such. Acting is a different kettle of fish and a lot of management know it.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Merlin Entertainments Response

    Recruitment Marketing Coordinator

    Hi there! Thanks for reviewing us, your feedback will be passed on to the right team.

  8. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Great

    Apr 17, 2018 - Actor in London, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great perks, fun team, good career progression (hire from within company), lots of sites to work at, family friendly material, good work perks

    Cons

    All-year round attractions so working on holidays, peak visitor periods stressful, work on weekends and rarely two days off in a row

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Paid well below fair rate, management shambolic

    Jul 8, 2014 - Actor in Blackpool, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The job I had was quite fun itself, and we generally had good team camaraderie. Shift swapping permitted, and usually easy to book time off, so work hours quite flexible.

    Cons

    Pathetic pay (barely above min. wage for a qualified job that pays better elsewhere for less work). Management ignorant to staff concerns (concerns often treated as unwelcome, in fact), hypocritical, as well as generally lacking competence. No real incentive to do your job any better than anybody else. Disciplinaries given to several people for ridiculous reasons whilst other, more severe transgressions would be overlooked- especially when committed by management. Whilst in some areas you can progress through promotion, in other areas career options are very limited. And management are not paid very well either, so even that isn't very appealing.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Left for Dead by Merlin...

    Nov 5, 2020 - Actor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Zip, zilch and nada... Unless you want to pay to make sone friends.

    Cons

    Lies, Fake Promises, Careless Employers, Raises Never Happen, Hard Work, Very Little Pay. I have a terminal illness and was basically left to die by Merlin during the pandemic. So many times I worked double and tripple shifts. So many times they received rave reviews. Why not give me a raise? Why not give me a few bucks to tide me over during the pandemic? I got nothing. They also made sure to fire me before giving me my benefit. They fired me and didnt give me my health insurance. I have epilepsy and a four year old and a wife with bipolar. This is what they did to me. They ruined my life. They are heartless monsters who only care about money. Stay far away. I also find it interesting that white people seem to have no trouble getting these benefits while my black behind has to suffer, not a coincidence in my view.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 14 Reviews

Popular Careers with Merlin Entertainments Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Merlin Entertainments? Share Your Experiences

Merlin Entertainments logo
or