Merlin Entertainments "attractions" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Merlin Entertainments Employee Reviews about "attractions"

Updated 28 Apr 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
64%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Merlin Entertainments CEO Nick Varney
Nick Varney
202 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free Tickets and other discounts(in 33 reviews)

  • "Its a nice place to work friendly good benefits and a good corporate culture(in 21 reviews)

Cons
  • "Sometimes you have to work long hours, but it's part of the job(in 32 reviews)

  • "Often attractions are deemed too expensive by the guests(in 26 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "attractions"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Actor in London, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Merlin Entertainments full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great perks, fun team, good career progression (hire from within company), lots of sites to work at, family friendly material, good work perks

    Cons

    All-year round attractions so working on holidays, peak visitor periods stressful, work on weekends and rarely two days off in a row

    Merlin Entertainments2018-04-17
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Don’t do it!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Guest Experience Host in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Merlin Entertainments part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free Entry to Merlin Attractions Support System for Mental Health Perks at Work Benefits

    Cons

    Over worked and under paid Poor management Badly treated No training No recognition or support Short staffed constantly Rude managers Lack of safety Low maintenance and quality of the attractions

    Continue reading
    Merlin Entertainments2019-04-03
  3. "A company full of nice people!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    Current Employee - Commercial Host in London, England
    Recommends
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Merlin Entertainments part-time

    Pros

    A real mixing pot of great people from so many different backgrounds, the management are fair and the job is rewarding.

    Cons

    Within attractions, some departments are given preferential treatment over others, in behaviour as well as funding.

    Continue reading
    Merlin Entertainments2018-04-25
  4. Helpful (3)

    "A business that prioritises sales & pure profit over customer satisfaction and creature welfare"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Global Brand Director in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Merlin Entertainments full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Customer facing business with customers wanting to have a great time and share their experiences with friends and family. Many passionate and expert front line staff members who know their business inside out.

    Cons

    Staff are expected to sell, sell, sell creating a pressured environment which is uncomfortable for visitors. Visitors are bombarded and confused before entering the attraction. Customer service is expected by management but not invested in to provide enough resource or train teams to properly look after customers (compare to Disney!). Work life balance is poor. Internal communication is dreadful. Senior managers do well if they're part of an inner circle. Animal welfare is held up as a key value, yet is an afterthought for management.

    Continue reading
    Merlin Entertainments2018-03-13
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Disappointing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Duty Manager in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Merlin Entertainments full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    This used to be a company I loved working for, as the team I worked with became my best pals.

    Cons

    - The pay is awful, even at management level. - The promotion opportunities are only given to those who are best friends with management. Anyone who was friends with the boss would be given a place in management. - The working conditions are awful, and you are expected to work more than your contracted hours without being rewarded with extra pay / time in lieu. I'd often be made to work an extra couple of hours without any choice in the matter. - Generally a bad company to work for. - It's expanding too fast, the attractions are poorly designed and maintained. And very overpriced. I'd deal with complaints on a daily basis about the pricing from customers, and it was often embarrassing trying to defend the company I worked for. I fell out of love with this company along time ago.

    Continue reading
    Merlin Entertainments2018-02-07
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Avoid this company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Merlin Entertainments full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great employee benefits such as LEGO discount

    Cons

    Only care about making money Promotions for men and if you 'play the game' Customers DO NOT come first Poor is pay with no bonuses for 3 years now Quality of attractions can be poor Terrible work life balance, especially as a manager

    Merlin Entertainments2018-01-02
  7. "Fun Job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Photography Sales Assistant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Merlin Entertainments full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Really fun job as a Photography Assistant at London Dungeons. Great team, achievable targets, allows career growth and exposure to varied administrative and sales roles.

    Cons

    Such a busy attraction not much flexibility in shift swaps or time off.

    Continue reading
    Merlin Entertainments2017-11-24
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Guest Experience at Legoland Discovery Centre"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Guest Experience Host in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Merlin Entertainments full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I enjoyed operating the rides and working with children made the job more enjoyable. My colleagues were lovely and I got on well with all of them, everyone working within the attraction itself often looked out for each other. The Magic Pass was a nice benefit to have, alongside the LEGO discount too.

    Cons

    The hours were long and we were usually expected to work beyond our scheduled times. My colleagues were often working for 6 days straight or longer, with each of these days usually being at least 8 hours, it becomes quite tiring really. The schedule itself was often not made available until a week in advance which made it difficult to make plans and fix any issues. Management have high expectations of the team, which is acceptable as it is a visitor attraction and you want to provide the best experience for the guest. However, the levels expected of us were difficult to achieve as we did not have the tools to work with. Queues are often a big issue, and frequently we were told to try and get these down. This is impossible to do when only one member of staff is working on a ride, and when you are working 50+ hours a week it is simply exhausting. When asking management for assistance on a ride, when this assistance we would only ask for because we want to go the extra mile for guests, often they would not leave the office to help. Some members of management would come across as quite patronising and sometimes quite bullying to our team, the majority of us did not feel valued. Not enough money is given to this attraction either, despite a million pound refurbishment, it is silly that there are still issues that have not been fixed. On a regular basis we would have to deal with unhappy guests who have just got off a ride which is not working properly, and they have a right to feel that way when they have spent lots of money to come in. We would regularly report these issues but little would be done to resolve them, because of the same reason that they do not have the budget to fix them. It's a big shame really, as if the company would pay attention to these issues, it would have a direct impact on the customer experience, and they would be much closer to achieving their targets with TripAdvisor and KPI's.

    Continue reading
    Merlin Entertainments2017-04-14
  9. Helpful (10)

    "Killing The British Theme Park Industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Parkwide Audio/Visual Technician in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Merlin Entertainments

    Pros

    - You get to work in some of the former brilliant UK theme parks, what little design or features left from their great years is always engaging and inspiring. - Often friendly team members who are can pull together and get things done, support can be found in most departments.

    Cons

    - Ridiculous underfunding of all departments. This is a billion pound company that wants to build from scratch 4 new Legolands in new continents, yet they don't want to fund departments properly. - Terrible, crass new developments. Always demolishing classic, well designed parts of their parks to be replaced with generic, tacky tourist fodder. Always extremely rushed or cheaply put together behind the scenes, New attractions are only as good as they want guests to see them as, anyone who actually has any awareness of good attractions isn't cared about. Any staff who have to fight to keep these poorly built newer attractions running aren't cared for, unlike the older rides where systems are properly built and maintainable. -Constant PR lies and hyperbole used to get people in the parks, once they're in there's no presentation standard or nice atmosphere anymore. False advetising claims, CGI imagery used constantly instead of anything that looks like the actual parks and rides. - Rides constantly have most their effects unfixed for years, anyone from the technical departments who try to fix things out of goodwill just ends up having their work reversed or having to do it with no budget and no help. - Underpaying of all staff at all levels. People with great enthusiasm and energy lose their steam and realise they're being taken for granted by managements higher up. ESSENTIAL work regularly relies on staff 'going the extra mile' as they say it, more often than not permanent staff have no choice but to stay long after their shifts with no overtime pay. - Constantly very disheartening to see so many good-willed people with passion underpaid and get the energy kicked out of them with constant, unreasonable hours. - Salaries would calculate to being less by the hour than what minimum wage, hourly-paid staff get for the same period. Luckily I was hourly paid so got this benefit, once I left my full-time position got cut and talk of making it fixed salary instead next year, to save money! - Company cares so much for their online image, that they task their PR teams to stalk certain people on social media and call them in for disciplinary if they so much as like a post that is against the company branding. Disciplinaries are held for anyone who questions the norm. - Fake, useless schemes like "Spark An Idea" make sure any staff ideas Merlin can profit from get used by the company without any care for whoever came up with the idea. Only frivolous ideas that can be done cheaply get any attention. Usually results in stupid decisions by people who don't know what a real non-Merlin theme park is like. - Company has a monopoly on UK theme parks and promotes a contrived Merlin 'culture' and sets their own standards to keep staff brainwashed, so that they don't realise how poor quality their company standards are, how underpaid staff are to run their attractions on the ground and how proper theme parks don't have to do things 'The Merlin Way' to be successful. - They always paint Disney as the villain with internal staff training and inductions, always indoctrinating staff to believe the contrived Merlin Way. Meanwhile they produce poor work, unentertaining ideas and don't employ real industry professionals or designers, who end up going out of work, because they know they can benefit from the naive enthusiasm of so many well-meaning younger staff or people just out of university. - Selfish inexperienced but good-talking people always succeed over hard working knowledgeable/talented people. Bum licking and party going with managers always gets you to the top. Being an arrogant, smarmy, personality-less suit always gets people the top jobs. - High pressure and blame-pointing towards minimum wage staff. The responsibilities and pressure from department managers (post-Smiler accident) for long, tough, repetitive and often exhausting work should be higher than £6.50 an hour. - No one stays for long because team morale is so low in the big frontline departments, managers are often fed up young adults who treat their front-liners as asky, featurelss, disposable staff.

    Continue reading
    Merlin Entertainments2016-09-18
  10. Helpful (6)

    "poor management, poor pay, business relies on staff goodwill"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Supervisor in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Merlin Entertainments for more than 10 years

    Pros

    can be a fun creative place to work from time to time- you will spend alot of time at your location, long hours if you want them....

    Cons

    this business is a shambles - management are promoted too early, often the management cannot do the job themselves so certainly cant manage the staff or the roles, i heard of HR directors going to be production directors and similar, budgets ( or the lack of them ) mean the business relies on staff going the extra mile again and again to keep the business going, unrealistic deadlines and unrealistic budgets show, - corner cutting is everywhere and it show in both quality of stock/ spares and also the staff end up doing extra hours without pay.... policies and procedures are a joke, and it seems that its all about who you know not what you know, lots of ' mates' being promoted, lots of staff in roles they have no experience of..... and pay scales are not realistic, this company do not pay the correct going rate for many roles, especially those which are a little more specialist - the front line staff are minimum wage and hourly paid- but specialists are not much better off - you have engineers, electricians, designers, aqaurists, and these kind of specialist roles on poor pay ( salaried) for their experience and skills.....salaried staff do loads of extra work as they are comitted, but the business relies of this to get by..... the behind the scenes areas are an eye opener, knowing what goes on at these visitor attractions is enlightening.......

    Continue reading
    Merlin Entertainments2016-06-27

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 26 reviews