Metaswitch Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Metaswitch Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 71 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
Metaswitch CEO Martin Lund
Martin Lund
18 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "The company house could be upgraded a little(in 5 reviews)

  • "Telecoms is not exactly a super high-growth market(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Interesting work and great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Metaswitch full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Zero office politics. Smart and approachable colleagues. Very good starting salaries + annual bonus. Flexible hours, remote working opportunities. Work is challenging and interesting. Decent support network and human-centric work culture. Regional offices have friendly, small company ethos.

    Cons

    Occasional long hours, no overtime pay. Homogeneous employee profile (overwhelmingly white and male, but definitely seeing some change here)

    Advice to Management

    Keep listening to employees, don't compromise on the Metaswitch culture as the company grows, and

    Metaswitch2018-02-23
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Where are we trying to go?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Metaswitch full-time

    Pros

    Smart people, lots of focus on personal development. It feels like there's a lot of potential in some of the product portfolio.

    Cons

    Where are we going exactly? It all feels a little rudderless, maybe even desperate? Lots of talk about being cloud native when we simply aren't and we're a decade late to the PaaS party and we're talking about it like we're innovators?

    Advice to Management

    Can we pick something and deliver it?

    Metaswitch2019-02-19
  3. Helpful (2)

    "great ideas, brilliant colleagues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Enfield, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Metaswitch full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    love the intellectual curiosity of the engineering departments

    Cons

    unstable economically, but gaining more traction with each year in the industry

    Advice to Management

    drive towards a strategic target, and don't let up til you achieve it, AND ONLY THEN set another corporate goal- too fragmented to feel like there is real progress on all fronts at once

    Metaswitch2019-01-19
  4. "Good culture, poor salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Enfield, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Metaswitch full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Great culture - pub trips, yearly pantomime... Good flexibility in hours

    Cons

    Poor salary Enfield location is hard to get to

    Metaswitch2018-12-02
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Nice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Software Engineer 

      I have been working at Metaswitch full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Work life balance and social events

      Cons

      Salaries could definitely be higher

      Metaswitch2018-10-22
    • Helpful (1)

      "An okay software company to work for"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Software Engineer in Enfield, England
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Metaswitch full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      Intelligent colleagues Good work-life balance in software developer role

      Cons

      Lack of diversity in software developers Slow career progression Concerns over new CEO

      Metaswitch2018-09-06
    • Helpful (1)

      "Software Engineer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Metaswitch full-time

      Pros

      Smart colleagues and solid initial technical education.

      Cons

      Below market pay and some reluctance to grant responsibility.

      Metaswitch2018-07-23
    • "Cares about their employees"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Software Engineer in Enfield, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Metaswitch full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Focus on employee morale and work-life balance. Opportunities for training and personal development. Friendly and unpretentious people.

      Cons

      Salary progression not the most competetive and not very transparent. Quality and style of management varies a lot. Lack of lateral hires to bring in outside ideas/experience.

      Advice to Management

      Focus on getting the work done efficiently instead of over-predicting everything. Listen to how employees want to develop. More competitive salaries and bonuses will keep ambitious employees there for longer.

      Metaswitch2018-05-14
    • "Decent if unambitious company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Metaswitch full-time

        Pros

        Good work-life balance, lots of highly experienced employees

        Cons

        Risk-averse culture, below market pay

        Advice to Management

        Hire more risk-takers and avoid over-analysis culture

        Metaswitch2018-02-24
      • "Very employee centric"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Enfield, England
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook

        I have been working at Metaswitch full-time for more than 6 years

        Pros

        Look after employees Good starting salary

        Cons

        Starting to become more corporate Salary increases start to stagnate

        Advice to Management

        Listen to employee feedback.

        Metaswitch2018-02-25
      Found 71 reviews