Metro Bank Reviews

Updated 3 Jul 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
65%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Metro Bank Chief Executive Officer Daniel Frumkin (no image)
Daniel Frumkin
7 Ratings
Pros
  • "Metro bank has an amazing culture of growth and opportunity(in 87 reviews)

  • "Great place to work with great values(in 28 reviews)

Cons
  • "There are no downsides to working at Metro Bank(in 53 reviews)

  • "Working hours can have an impact on work-life balance(in 23 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "The best people!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Team Leader in London, England

    I worked at Metro Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people and team are great, loads of opportunity for growth if you know the right people

    Cons

    Low salaries most times below what other companies will pay for the same role

    Continue reading
  2. "Good bank that's going places"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Risk Officer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Metro Bank full-time

    Pros

    Great team. A real 'get it done and enjoy doing it' culture.

    Cons

    Sometimes very busy, although very rewarding

    Continue reading
  3. "Good company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Operations Representative in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Metro Bank full-time

    Pros

    Good ethic company to work for

    Cons

    Excellent way of getting loads of experience

    Metro Bank Response

    July 2, 2020EA

    Hi, it's great to hear you are enjoying your role. Thanks for your feedback. Best wishes, Pete

  4. "Great company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Savings Specialist in London, England

    I have been working at Metro Bank full-time

    Pros

    Fun, good opportunities, friendly people, relaxed

    Cons

    Sometimes I dont feel supported by my colleagues

    Metro Bank Response

    July 2, 2020EA

    Hi, thank you for your feedback. Please do speak with your line manager or People Partner team if you wish to discuss your concerns further. Best wishes, Pete

  5. "An excellent opportunity"

    5.0
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Customer Service Specialist in London, England

    I have been working at Metro Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    An interactive process which keeps you on your toes. Lots of help from the recruitment team

    Cons

    I can't think of a negative to be honest.

    Metro Bank Response

    July 2, 2020EA

    Hi, thank you for your review. Great to hear you are having such a positive experience at Metro Bank. Best wishes, Pete

  6. "Fine"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Customer Service in London, England

    I have been working at Metro Bank full-time

    Pros

    There is opportunity to grow

    Cons

    Inconsistent pay across colleagues who are in the same job role

    Metro Bank Response

    July 2, 2020EA

    Hi, thank you for your feedback - we aim to provide colleagues with great opportunities for development. Please speak with your line manager or People Partner team if you would like to discuss your concerns further. Best wishes, Pete

  7. "Terrible"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - C S R in Bath, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Metro Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Customers, and some decent people

    Cons

    Dreadful place to work. It starts off good but it’s all an act. Bullying and intimidation is common throughout and managers are poor. They advice you to speak to your people partner who then work with management behind your back. They make your life hell. Policies are made up as they go along and they try buy customers gifts so that they get good feedback, it’s all a con. Do not work here it is an awful place to work. It will not be around much longer so do not join, they are dreadful to work for. The positive reviews on here are ones where management have told colleagues to put on. This is the truth, if you want to stay healthy and sound minded do not join this toxic environment

    Continue reading
  8. "Csr"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Metro Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great job and people should join

    Cons

    Nothing As of yet everything is great so far

    Metro Bank Response

    May 26, 2020EA

    Hi, thanks for your brief review - great that you are enjoying your role and creating FANS!! Best wishes, Pete

  9. Helpful (6)

    "Avoid at all costs"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Bristol, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Metro Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Local business managers and local director invest time into people Health cash plan

    Cons

    I wouldn’t recommend anyone to work for this company. Inexperienced, young store managers put in charge. Promotions are obtained by being in ‘the clique’. Store managers are over paid for sitting out the back of store all day with no clue to what’s going on. If they are involved in ‘the clique’ nothing gets done about this. ‘The clique’ consists of store managers, assistant managers and senior leaders that look after the area. They treat customer service representatives and cashiers as children, not listening to their opinions and views leading to big divides in store. If you dare push back and raise concern around anything you will be told that you are not living the metro bank behaviours and culture and they will then look to discipline you going forward. The company like sheep, so if you do join, I advise you to stay quiet and not speak out. Training carried out upon employment was average. Work life balance is in existent, unpaid overtime when things in store go wrong. Sold the dream when you join about progression, this changes quickly as soon as you properly start. Plans for new stores going forward are minimal so don’t expect to go anywhere fast. The company implement their own hr rules which do not fall inline with other banks around a duty of care to their colleagues. They have no union representatives to stand up for what’s right so they get away with a lot that they shouldn’t and bully colleagues out of the company. Colleagues get to fill in a colleague engagement survey, this is a fix as they tell you what to put to make them look good. If you look at the media and the reviews on here you will realise this is a company to avoid as a customer and colleague.

    Continue reading

    Metro Bank Response

    July 2, 2020EA

    I am sorry to hear about your experience with us and I hope you have now found something that makes you happy. We do often hire new colleagues into leadership roles because hiring for attitude and training for skill is what we are all about and career development is so important. We always make sure we put the right leadership training in place to support our people so I am sorry you have had a bad experience. Our annual survey is also a really important source of feedback for us and we take the voice of our colleagues very seriously. Again I am sorry you felt we didn't live up to your expectations, I am more than happy to talk about this if you want to get in touch. Best wishes, Pete

  10. "Metro Bank"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Solutions Architect in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Metro Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The great culture. The treat employees really well

    Cons

    Need more maturity in technical bids

    Metro Bank Response

    May 26, 2020EA

    Hi, thanks for your review - we take pride in our Amazing culture and are pleased you enjoy working with us. As you know we are always trying to make things better for our customers. Best wishes, Pete

Found 311 reviews