Metro Bank Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Metro Bank Reviews

Updated 11 February 2019
193 reviews

Filter

Filter

UK - All Cities

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "The opportunities for career development within Metro Bank are like no other organization" (in 70 reviews)

  • "The vision hasn’t changed though and neither has the desire to do the right thing for customers and colleagues alike" (in 13 reviews)

Cons
  • "not everyone has heard about Metro bank yet but this is increasing" (in 34 reviews)

  • "Working in a store there is almost zero work life balance and the shift patterns can really mess with your body clock leaving you warn out" (in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (3)

    "The MOST incredible place to work! So grateful to be part of the revolution in British Banking!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Metro Bank full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    - The incredible people that you get to work with every day. Colleagues genuinely care about doing the right thing for customers... they put the customer first, which is why Metro Bank is so different to other banks
    - They encourage everyone to be their true self to work, whilst everyone works hard, everyone has lots of fun - there is a quiz every Friday, weekly bake offs for charities, a choir (The MetroNomes), lots of events through the various D&I networks, everyone enjoys working here!
    - All jobs are advertised internally so existing colleagues have the opportunity to progress and develop their careers. The Recruitment team hold internal careers evenings to help educate colleagues on all of the wonderful opportunities available to them
    - Colleagues are promoted into new roles all of the time, I think it's around 25/30% of colleagues that get promoted every year! The opportunities to grow and develop are endless!
    - Teams are diverse, there is a real strong sense of inclusion and that everyone is equal, everyone is talented
    - The Executive Leadership Team and Senior Managers are visible - they walk the floors, they ask colleagues how they are, they respond to questions on the internal communication portal, they genuinely care for their teams

    Cons

    - It's fast paced and not for the feint hearted! The bank is growing, and growing quickly, so there is always lots to do! You will work hard and be challenged - but no two days are the same and you will learn more here than anywhere else!

    Advice to Management

    - Don't let standards slip - continue to be relentless about the culture... attending to every detail and putting the customers first. The rest will follow...

    Metro Bank Response

    11 Nov 2018 – Chief People Officer

    Wow - what a helpful review and you've captured so much of what our colleagues do to make Metro Bank a very special place! And there are so many opportunities to get involved and also grow your... More


  2. "Great Company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CSB in Newbury, England
    Current Employee - CSB in Newbury, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Metro Bank full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    They are passionate about delivering best customer service, they look well after their staff.

    Cons

    Sometimes you need to stay longer than your shift hours.

    Advice to Management

    Not much.

  3. "Best place I’ve work in a good few years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Analyst in London, England
    Former Employee - Business Analyst in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Metro Bank full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Digital projects very interesting with good strategic direction
    Good place to build and/or further your career
    Friendly capably colleagues
    Great office and location
    Work life balance is excellent

    Cons

    Digital architecture struggle and hold delivery back
    Behind the curve when it comes to digital

    Advice to Management

    Keep on doing what you are doing in the digital space but look at who is employed within the architectural side

    Metro Bank Response

    23 Jan 2019 – Chief People Officer

    Hello there Business Analyst. So glad you enjoyed your time with us and had interesting work with friendly people.
    Thanks for the feedback and insight on the disconnect with architecture which I... More


  4. Helpful (1)

    "Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier in London, England
    Current Employee - Cashier in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Metro Bank full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Welcoming welcome.
    Good people.
    Promotion and training available.

    Cons

    Promotion a little stagnant, dependent on order not progress.
    Rota’s can be annoying, lack off consistent 2 on 2 off promised weekend schedule an issue as well but can happen due to staff departures/sickness which is understandable.
    Doesn’t feel like working for a bank but more for like a supermarket at times mainly due to shift patterns.

    Advice to Management

    Focus massively on employees, how often they work weekends how often they go the extra mile without fuss.

    Metro Bank Response

    23 Jan 2019 – Chief People Officer

    Hi there cashier. Thanks for sharing a review. I’m glad you like our on boarding, people, promotions and training. If you’re experiencing issues with shifts please do bump it up to your RRM or RD or... More


  5. Helpful (2)

    "A Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Risk Manager in Holborn, England
    Current Employee - Risk Manager in Holborn, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Metro Bank full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Having worked for Metro for over 7 years (they just celebrated their first year when I joined) I have seen many changes and watched the company grow. The most important thing for me is there are no closed doors to any of the management/executive teams, when I am in Head Office I often see Craig (CEO) walking around the office. I have received the most amazing support this year, having to take a large amount of time off supporting a family member through end of life care and I couldn't have asked for a more supportive company to work for. At no point was there any pressure to get back to work which enabled me to solely concentrate on family. All fully paid.

    Cons

    I can't think of anything specific,

    Advice to Management

    I would just say "Don't lose the Culture" as we grow because that is why we are different.

    Metro Bank Response

    16 Dec 2018 – Chief People Officer

    Wow 7 years? Thank you!
    And I’m sorry to read that you’ve had what sounds like a really tough year. But I’m glad if we helped in some small way.
    As you say our culture is precious and we all need... More


  6. Helpful (1)

    "Best company i've ever worked for, i feel so valued"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commercial Analyst in Reading, England
    Current Employee - Commercial Analyst in Reading, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Metro Bank full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Magic Friday's embracing our culture
    No stupid bank rules
    Excellent benefits and pension contributions
    Flexible working environment that fits in around raising a family
    Good rates of pay

    Cons

    There are literally none !

    Advice to Management

    Be kind to working mums, those sports days and Xmas assemblies are what our children want us not to miss

    Metro Bank Response

    16 Dec 2018 – Chief People Officer

    Hello there working mum. Thanks for this super review. So glad you love your job and our culture and environment. Please do bump it up to your boss if you ever have a problem with fitting in those... More


  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in London, England
    Current Employee - Product Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Metro Bank full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great culture. Friendly and helpful colleagues. Collective. Sense of purpose and capability. No silly bureaucracy.

    Cons

    Can be fast paced which may not suit everyone.

    Metro Bank Response

    16 Dec 2018 – Chief People Officer

    Hi Product Manager. Thanks for posting a review and delighted to read that you love our people and culture. And as you say it’s pretty pacy here which doesn’t suit everyone. Your review is also a... More

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Metro Bank full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great culture, good support from managers, great communication, really good career opportunity, good salary

    Cons

    can't think of anything bad

    Advice to Management

    Doing an AMAZEING job

    Metro Bank Response

    16 Dec 2018 – Chief People Officer

    Hi there anonymous. So glad to hear you’re enjoying your new job at Metro Bank and thanks for posting a review to help other candidates and potential colleagues. Best wishes. Danny


  9. "Working at Metro Mank"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Auditor in London, England
    Current Employee - Auditor in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Metro Bank full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Metro Banks is simply a great place to work

    Cons

    Of course it can be very busy at times.

    Advice to Management

    Keep on with the good work

    Metro Bank Response

    16 Dec 2018 – Chief People Officer

    Hello there! Thanks for this super little review and for all you do as part of the audit team. Best wishes. Danny.
    PS I’m guessing you meant Bank not Mank?.. ;0)


  10. "Metro Bank Current Employee review I.T"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Applications Analyst in London, England
    Current Employee - Technical Applications Analyst in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Metro Bank full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I have worked in finance for the past 28 years in some of the big 5 banks and all I can say is working for Metro Bank is like a breath of fresh air. They listen to their staff ideas and implement the no silly banking rules to their staff also. You are trusted and the zest within the London offices and Stores is like nothing I have experienced before. Always someone to bump your questions to and they get answered. Work life balance is great yes we do work out of hours but that is part of the role in I.T which Management make sure you take back and are recognised for, I don't mind doing this taking pride in aiding Metro Bank reach and maintain their vision. Colleagues have been promoted internally and given the opportunity to try a totally different area.

    Cons

    Currently I do not have any cons for working at Metro Bank

    Advice to Management

    Keep trusting your employees like you do and the visibility of Management is very much appreciated.

    Metro Bank Response

    21 Dec 2018 – Chief People Officer

    Hello there IT Team member. Thanks for sharing this review. So glad you love our zesty culture and ‘no stupid rules’ approach. Always great to hear that you take pride in your colleagues being... More