Metroland Media Group Reviews

Updated 26 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
36%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
Metroland Media Group President Ian Oliver
Ian Oliver
68 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people and clients to work with(in 10 reviews)

  • "Friendly people for the most part, 3 weeks vacation to start (which now appears to be the standard anyway)(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "sent work outside which caused quality to go down, low pay, no chance for real advancement(in 11 reviews)

  • "Newspapers and commercial printing is not a growing business in our new digital world(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Meh"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Carrier in Scarborough, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Metroland Media Group part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Teaches you to be responsible and punctual.

    Cons

    Quite a low pay for much harder work than advertised.

    Metroland Media Group2020-05-26
  2. "Great opportunity to gain experience in Advertising/Marketing - but not for long term."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Media Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Metroland Media Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great management, great overall outlook on the companies transformation, and ongoing training.

    Cons

    Expectations and projects are all over the place and overwhelming for the pay. They changed the pay rate - but now get lower commissions when you sell larger packages. Want you to get mid-market clients and sell larger digital packages, while at the same time keeping the local papers alive and selling little features. Released a marketing 360 program essentially enacting as an agency so they can utilize another outside company in order to not hire and develop into the existing company. Lay-off's occurring often - not a business to see myself grow and feel stable and advance my career. Working from the computer most of the day, not really the full sales job you expect it to be with communicating to offshore.

    Continue reading
    Metroland Media Group2020-05-06
  3. "Metroland Media Review"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in Smiths Falls, ON
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Metroland Media Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Very close to my home, the company allowed me to gain production, estimating, purchasing, quality, health & safety, environmental & maintenance experience.

    Cons

    Newspapers and commercial printing is not a growing business in our new digital world.

    Continue reading
    Metroland Media Group2020-03-26
  4. "Great people"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Conflcits Atty in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Metroland Media Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good working environment, great people to work with. Easy communications with stakeholders

    Cons

    The environment has hanged after became as part of Toronto star

    Metroland Media Group2020-01-29
  5. "Graphic designer"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Graphic Designer 

    I worked at Metroland Media Group part-time

    Pros

    A rewarding job with lots of creativity

    Cons

    A job that has become restructured and centralized

    Metroland Media Group2020-01-25
  6. "Great Print Company"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Media Coordinator in Halton Hills, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Metroland Media Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Print Media company. Room for growth with good benefits.

    Cons

    Some jobs are commission based and they allow claw backs if customers do not pay there bills.

    Metroland Media Group2020-01-11
  7. "Negative environment"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Consultant in Kitchener, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Metroland Media Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Unlimited income potential if you can handle stress.

    Cons

    Negative environment. Unprofessional managers. Favouritism practices by Management

    Continue reading
    Metroland Media Group2020-01-23
  8. "Enjoyed my time"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Regional Director of Distribution in Smiths Falls, ON
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Metroland Media Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Management and Co-Workers were great to work with

    Cons

    Industry in a whole is in a downturn

    Metroland Media Group2019-12-17
  9. "Part time job"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant 

    I worked at Metroland Media Group part-time

    Pros

    Nice, easy going office atmosphere

    Cons

    Can't think of any cons

    Metroland Media Group2019-12-11
  10. "Not Proactive"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Mississauga, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Metroland Media Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Laid back environment No one breathing down your neck

    Cons

    Lack of vision & forward thinking approach

    Continue reading
    Metroland Media Group2019-12-02
Found 168 reviews