Microsoft Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Microsoft Reviews

Updated 25 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 19900 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
86%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
  1. "Excellent place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative in Wrexham, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Valued member of the time.

    Cons

    Same team for a long time.

    Microsoft2019-06-21
  2. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Manager in Reading, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Despite all the negative press over the years, Microsoft is the one company I've been proud to work for. Loads of really smart and motivated people, and very little dead wood. Not perfect by any stretch of the imagination, but I'd have no hesitation going back for the right role.

    Cons

    Big company bureaucracy, annual review process became overpowering and a negative influence.

    Advice to Management

    Don't obsess with individual performance. The vast majority work hard and do a great job - those who don't are fairly easy to identify.

    Microsoft2019-06-17
  3. "All round good experience - so far!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cloud Solution Architect in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Freedom, regular trips to the US for training and conferences, loads of time and opportunity to develop, great benefits, good perks and all office locations are state of the art. You are given at least 3 months to "spin up" before you are really expected to do any work. This is useful due to the amount of internal sites/apps you need to get the hang of to be successful.

    Cons

    On boarding could be a little more organised, but it's not unusual for a company of this size. Some of the internal systems feel dated which is surprising.

    Advice to Management

    Improve the on boarding process so that it's easier to get going in a new role.

    Microsoft2019-06-12
  4. "Challenging problem. Work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Scientist 

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good computing power with Azure. Great work life balance

    Cons

    A bit of hierarchical and slow in making decisions.

    Advice to Management

    No

    Microsoft2019-05-30
  5. "Fantastic Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Enterprise Account Executive 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time

    Pros

    Incredible culture, collaborative environment, potential to overachieve.

    Cons

    No cons to share at present.

    Advice to Management

    n/a

    Microsoft2019-05-28
  6. "Very good placement opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Intern 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Microsoft full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great company culture and mindset

      Cons

      Office location is not ideal

      Microsoft2019-05-14
    • "tam"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Microsoft full-time

        Pros

        Great Culture, very collaborative, Energetic Flexible working

        Cons

        Tools and processes No-one knows which team is responsible for what

        Microsoft2019-05-13
      • "Couldn't recommend them more"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends

        I worked at Microsoft part-time

        Pros

        Great pay, fantastic training experience at their HQ and a free tour of some of their gaming offices.

        Cons

        Mostly hire through campaigns, which often only last 3 months

        Advice to Management

        Keep doing what you're doing.

        Microsoft2019-04-29
      • "Senior SE"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Microsoft full-time

        Pros

        best company in the world, good atmosphere, strong engineers

        Cons

        There are no cons i have

        Microsoft2019-04-28
      • "Amazing"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Microsoft full-time

        Pros

        Culture, people, market share, stock price, CEO, best technology

        Cons

        Culture can make you unaware of your stress

        Microsoft2019-04-13
      Found 19900 reviews