Millennium Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Millennium Reviews

Updated 9 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.4
92%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Millennium CEO Israel Alexander Englander  (no image)
Israel Alexander Englander
40 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Impressive Process"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends

    I have been working at Millennium full-time

    Pros

    The recruiting process was very quick and transparent. I met with 8 people in one week- spread out across 3 days. They were very flexible/accommodating to my work schedule as it was difficult for me to break away from my current full-time job to come in. The interviews themselves felt like conversations and not your "typical Q&A interview". Everyone I met with was friendly and down to earth which helped the conversation flow and allowed me to feel comfortable in asking any questions I had. The team seemed genuine and I got a great sense for their culture. I walked away from the first meeting wanting the job.

    Show More

    Cons

    The interview process itself was quick but the feedback on a final decision took a bit longer- I don't hold this against the company however. I was the first candidate they met with for a "back-fill" position and the team needed time to get through additional candidate interviews. Given their transparency from the beginning, I was prepared in knowing the final decision would take time.

    Millennium2018-04-03
  2. "Great people and work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Millennium full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people here are brilliant and come from the best firms across the street, yet everybody is thoughtful and approachable. Millennium is on the cutting edge of almost every area in hedge fund investing, so the problems you get to work on are both challenging and rewarding.

    Cons

    The ethos of the company is fairly Spartan. There aren't a lot of perks or luxurious office space.

    Advice to Management

    Talking more about our strengths (position on the street, size of our book, 25+ year track record, etc.) would convey more of the firm's prestige and motivate employees

    Millennium2018-04-04
  3. "Excellent team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Millennium full-time

    Pros

    Great team with strong, experienced management. Culture is collaborative while employees have freedom to solve problems their own way, which is not an easy balance to achieve. Business is mature with long, successful track record.

    Cons

    Office space is nothing to write home about.

    Millennium2018-04-03
  4. "Investment analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Investment Analyst in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Millennium full-time

    Pros

    Can scale pay quickly if team performs well

    Cons

    No support from management - investment teams are on their own. Zero ability of management to track team member performance outside of entire team P&L

    Millennium2018-03-20
  5. Helpful (15)

    "A graveyard for analyst careers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Millennium full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great corporate and sell-side access Decent amount of independence/ flexibility for portfolio managers

    Cons

    Turnover is absurdly high PMs are treated like a number. Analysts are treated like they don't even exist - no attempt is made to train or retain analysts. If your PM gets fired you're sol Compensation for analysts is terrible The Millennium name is a taint on your resume to reputable firms Basically a body shop lower - common denominator employer in hedge fund land Facilities are gross

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing I guess. As long as payouts are high and hedge fund jobs are in demand there will always be new bodies to be fed into the machine

    Millennium2018-03-06
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Tech support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Millennium full-time

    Pros

    OK pay Free food on Friday

    Cons

    no growth sit at desk all day , answer calls

    Millennium2018-02-14
  7. "Outstanding Firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Millennium full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Career opportunities, develop talent internally

    Cons

    All hedge funds and financial services in general are demanding environments - just be aware of that

    Advice to Management

    Keep reinvesting in staff

    Millennium2018-02-01
  8. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Millennium

    Pros

    Lots of things to learn

    Cons

    No enough structured training session to kick start

    Millennium2017-12-13
  9. Helpful (4)

    "not transparent or truthful or current tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Engineer in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Millennium full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    really nice people in the trenches

    Cons

    profess pillars of communication and collaboration whist practicing obstinacy and underhandedness - no room for growth. best if you are a man. women are second class.

    Advice to Management

    tell the truth or stop pretending

    Millennium2017-12-02
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Honest and and Fair"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Millennium full-time

    Pros

    Portfolio managers at millennium have amongst the highest payouts on the street in exchange for tight risk limits

    Cons

    Illiquid strategies have a short shelf life

    Advice to Management

    Creating a program for junior PMs would suit the firm well and create a pool of talent that grows with the firm

    Millennium2017-10-11
Found 78 reviews