Ministry of Justice UK Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Ministry of Justice UK Reviews

Updated 13 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
57%
Recommend to a Friend
17%
Approve of CEO
Ministry of Justice UK Lord Chancellor and Secretary of State for Justice Michael Gove
Michael Gove
44 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Wages are not as good as some other Civil Service departments & yearly increase is only 1-2%(in 11 reviews)

  • "Some senior managers behaviour was unprofessional(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Friendly environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Policy Advisor 

    I have been working at Ministry of Justice UK full-time

    Pros

    Nice people, decent pay, decent career progression opportunities

    Cons

    Similarly to other government departments, can be inefficient and sloq

    Ministry of Justice UK2019-12-29
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Line Manager in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ministry of Justice UK full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great opportunities to progress and opportunities to improve your skills

    Cons

    Wages are not as good as some other Civil Service departments & yearly increase is only 1-2%

    Ministry of Justice UK2020-02-13
  3. "Supportive work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ministry of Justice UK full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great employer and flexible working is encouraged

    Cons

    Increasing workload due to civil service wide cuts and efficiences

    Continue reading
    Ministry of Justice UK2020-02-03
  4. "MoJ epitomises the decline of the Civil Service as an employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ministry of Justice UK full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The work focusses on interesting areas and there are examples of good managers and professionals who look to achieve positive policy outcomes.

    Cons

    MoJ suffers from an upper management incapable of facilitating change and as such has an organisational "sclerosis" in which big projects are too often talked about and planned and seldom. Cuts to the civil service and a change in culture have come about since 2010 and have been felt hard in MoJ, an organisation that is not resilient enough to resist the more pernicious side effects of austerity. As such, the department has become a very poor place to work, with morale sapped, managers under extreme pressure and junior members treated like negligible commodities. Overall, the spirit of MoJ has become a cynical, hard-nosed one in which individual well-being, career opportunities and rewarding work are almost entirely absent.

    Ministry of Justice UK2020-01-06
  5. "Good exp."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Court Clerk 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ministry of Justice UK full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good working hours and life balance

    Cons

    low pay, not enough staff

    Ministry of Justice UK2019-12-08
  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Ministry of Justice UK full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    So much flexibility on hours and location. Friendly people. Always trying to improve and bring in new tech.

    Cons

    May have to work in a prison but less likely now as admin and finance people have been moved out if prisons.

    Ministry of Justice UK2019-11-08
  7. Helpful (2)

    "LONELY, DEPRESSING and STRESSFUL"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Officer 

    I worked at Ministry of Justice UK full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fellow Admin Officer's are down to earth

    Cons

    If you have any self-respect you should not join MOJ as an Admin Officer • ALOT of subtle bullying - my trainer would a pull a face to a colleague almost as if to say "look who I am with" and then the colleague would laugh. Besides that, I was humiliated in front of colleagues and managers in the office, blamed for problems caused by others, regularly threatened with the sack "if i dont do well this week" and I got accused of lying when I wasn't... • I had to pay to attend our own Christmas party • Stuck in the past (printers break, chairs are dodgy) • It is either too cold or too hot in the building • dead rats • Their attitude is you either sink or you swim • Unstructured training - they DO NOT train you properly and then they expect you to suddenly know everything.

    Continue reading
    Ministry of Justice UK2019-12-02
  8. "Good pay, friendly atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Office Administrator in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ministry of Justice UK full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very friendly coworkers, good location, approachable management

    Cons

    No fixed office plan, can make departments feel disjointed at times

    Ministry of Justice UK2019-10-24
  9. "Talent Aqquistion manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England

    I have been working at Ministry of Justice UK full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexibke working. Firm effort to improve diversity and inclusion. Interesting work.

    Cons

    Salary at ministry of justice varies subject to part you work on e.g. prison service staff get paid more even if doing the same job in HQ.

    Continue reading
    Ministry of Justice UK2019-10-25
  10. "Okay for a good work life Balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Policy Advisor in London, England

    I worked at Ministry of Justice UK full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible working hours are good

    Cons

    Low pay compared to other government departments

    Continue reading
    Ministry of Justice UK2019-11-08

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 147 reviews