Ministry of Justice UK Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Ministry of Justice UK Reviews

Updated 8 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
55%
Recommend to a Friend
17%
Approve of CEO
Ministry of Justice UK CEO Michael Gove
Michael Gove
42 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Some senior managers behaviour was unprofessional(in 8 reviews)

  • "pay is a lot lower than same grade at other civil service departments(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Ministry of Justice UK full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    So much flexibility on hours and location. Friendly people. Always trying to improve and bring in new tech.

    Cons

    May have to work in a prison but less likely now as admin and finance people have been moved out if prisons.

    Ministry of Justice UK2019-11-08
  2. "Good exp."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Court Clerk 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ministry of Justice UK full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good working hours and life balance

    Cons

    low pay, not enough staff

    Ministry of Justice UK2019-12-08
  3. Helpful (1)

    "LONELY, DEPRESSING and STRESSFUL"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Officer 

    I worked at Ministry of Justice UK full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fellow Admin Officer's are down to earth

    Cons

    If you have any self-respect you should not join MOJ as an Admin Officer • ALOT of subtle bullying - my trainer would a pull a face to a colleague almost as if to say "look who I am with" and then the colleague would laugh. Besides that, I was humiliated in front of colleagues and managers in the office, blamed for problems caused by others, regularly threatened with the sack "if i dont do well this week" and I... got accused of lying when I wasn't... • I had to pay to attend our own Christmas party • Stuck in the past (printers break, chairs are dodgy) • It is either too cold or too hot in the building • dead rats • Their attitude is you either sink or you swim • Unstructured training - they DO NOT train you properly and then they expect you to suddenly know everything.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Actually employ leaders to be the "Team leaders" Cheer up , be positive and show some charisma. Be more proactive, instead of sitting on that chair looking at how to make cupcakes on the internet.

    Ministry of Justice UK2019-12-02
  4. "Talent Aqquistion manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England

    I have been working at Ministry of Justice UK full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexibke working. Firm effort to improve diversity and inclusion. Interesting work.

    Cons

    Salary at ministry of justice varies subject to part you work on e.g. prison service staff get paid more even if doing the same job in HQ.

    Advice to Management

    Improve rates so we are at least equal with other departments

    Ministry of Justice UK2019-10-25
  5. "Okay for a good work life Balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Policy Advisor in London, England

    I worked at Ministry of Justice UK full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible working hours are good

    Cons

    Low pay compared to other government departments

    Advice to Management

    Review the pay policy

    Ministry of Justice UK2019-11-08
  6. "Good pay, friendly atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Office Administrator in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ministry of Justice UK full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very friendly coworkers, good location, approachable management

    Cons

    No fixed office plan, can make departments feel disjointed at times

    Ministry of Justice UK2019-10-24
  7. "Large programme of digital transformation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Croydon, England

    I have been working at Ministry of Justice UK full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Exposed to a lot of different areas of work

    Cons

    Under-investment and a lot of problems to fix

    Ministry of Justice UK2019-11-06
  8. "Prison Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ministry of Justice UK full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay for level of qualification required.

    Cons

    Terrible working environment and little support from middle management.

    Advice to Management

    Prison officers have a difficult working life so the whole system needs rethinking and restructuring.

    Ministry of Justice UK2019-10-28
  9. "Friendly and Flexible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ministry of Justice UK full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible working and good development opportunities

    Cons

    Pay lower than most other departments

    Ministry of Justice UK2019-09-10
  10. "Prison officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Prison Officer in Liverpool, England

    I have been working at Ministry of Justice UK full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good career and good pension

    Cons

    Unsocialable working hours that is all

    Ministry of Justice UK2019-08-17
Found 143 reviews