Ministry of Justice UK "senior managers" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Ministry of Justice UK Employee Reviews about "senior managers"

Updated 17 Dec 2017

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
64%
Recommend to a Friend
37%
Approve of CEO
Ministry of Justice UK Lord Chancellor and Secretary of State for Justice Michael Gove
Michael Gove
55 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Wages are not as good as some other Civil Service departments & yearly increase is only 1-2%(in 11 reviews)

  • "Some senior managers behaviour was unprofessional(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "senior managers"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Good work environment and great career opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - HEO in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ministry of Justice UK full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great team and colleagues. Civil Service benefits.

    Cons

    Some senior managers behaviour was unprofessional.

    Ministry of Justice UK2017-12-03
  2. Helpful (3)

    "MoJ Digital - Great if you are one of the TEAM! Big if."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Ministry of Justice UK full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good team behaviours People enjoy what they are doing Civil service benefits

    Cons

    Senior management is a mess. Underqualified individuals who appear to be making it up as they go along. They are blind to anything that is not part of their "Vision" and deaf to all criticism.

    Continue reading
    Ministry of Justice UK2017-12-17
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Management by those not seeing the bigger picture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Manager in York, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ministry of Justice UK full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The job is relatively secure in that when new a ways working are introduced 'surplus' staff are, where possible, moved to other areas of the organisation. Flexible working is also another plus point. Support networks for staff are also a pro

    Cons

    The continued pay cap, The bureaucracy that surrounds all aspects of the organisation. Senior managers that don't really understand the staff in their teams and more to the point the jobs that we do. Senior managers that 'empire' build to secure their own futures regardless of the affects on others and the favoritism of some of the Senior managers

    Continue reading
    Ministry of Justice UK2017-09-03
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Absolute Joke avoid MoJ"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Procurement in Leeds, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ministry of Justice UK full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I left?? On balance I worked with some great people that I keep In touch with. Working for MoJ gave me an understanding of how not to do thighs.

    Cons

    - The department has little interest in developing staff; - you can world upwards of 40 hrs/week and still be told your not doing enough; - Concerns brushed under the carpet; - witnessed other members of staff been bullied with senior management taking no action; - pay scales below average compared to the wider civil service; - a blame culture (witnessed not experienced) where staff are left without the necessary tools or resource to make informed professional decisions and then blamed personally in the events of failure; - massive contrast between teams due to wide scale under resourcing, lack of clear policy and no escalation routes. Avoids this department! In Leeds I'd suggest looking at DH and DWP roles

    Continue reading
    Ministry of Justice UK2017-04-13
  5. "Generally good place to work but depends on the manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Ministry of Justice UK full-time

    Pros

    Interesting challenge and offices are nice. Pays well for the Civil Service. Forward thinking Permanent Secretary. Friendly atmosphere and most staff are fun to work with

    Cons

    Some senior managers lack leadership skills. General discontent over mismanagement and nepotism. Staff are discouraged from working hard and delivering success by peers as it makes them look bad. You are treated the same whether you perform good or bad or work hard or turn up late.

    Continue reading
    Ministry of Justice UK2016-10-20
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Bullying and nasty culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Civil Servant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ministry of Justice UK full-time

    Pros

    - a lot of very interesting work to do

    Cons

    - a nasty and very backstabbing culture. Senior managers seem to spend more time playing politics than anything else - anti women culture. Most of the senior women have been 'removed' in the last year - disorganised and very badly run. Basic things like getting paid on time are got consistently wrong.

    Continue reading
    Ministry of Justice UK2016-06-29
  7. "Political in all senses of word"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Freelancer - Anonymous Freelancer 

    I worked at Ministry of Justice UK for less than a year

    Pros

    High day rates and long potential contracts for contractors

    Cons

    Less about helping people, doing the right thing and more about senior managers and politicians being seen to do right thing by George Osbourne.

    Continue reading
    Ministry of Justice UK2016-01-12
  8. "Great job, but standards are slipping."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Ministry of Justice UK full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Interesting work and I enjoy dealing with all different kinds of people. For these reasons usually everyday is different.

    Cons

    Senior management where I work are very 'cliquey' the have their obvious favourites and almost shun everyone else. This does not instil any trust nor does it motivate you to do any extra - too many people are being turned off by this group of people which is a real shame.

    Continue reading
    Ministry of Justice UK2012-07-20

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 8 reviews