Miss Selfridge Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Miss Selfridge Reviews

Updated 16 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 66 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
56%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
Miss Selfridge CEO Mary Julia Margaret Geraghty (no image)
Mary Julia Margaret Geraghty
10 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great friendly team, hard-working team leader and manager, 60% off uniform allowance, feel valued and cared for in your job(in 10 reviews)

  • "Staff Discount, Weekends Off, Great Team(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "Poor management at times, trouble with shift swaps or cover(in 3 reviews)

  • "Long shifts, busy store on Oxford Street which can be hell and the work isn't varied(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great team & benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Miss Selfridge part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great friendly team, hard-working team leader and manager, 60% off uniform allowance, feel valued and cared for in your job.

    Cons

    Not great opportunity for extra hours/overtime as contracted hours for our concession are limited, working in a small concession means limited progression opportunities.

    Miss Selfridge2019-05-13
  2. "Good contract for a student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Manchester, England
    Recommends

    I worked at Miss Selfridge part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy to swap shifts Freebies such as chocs sometimes Incentives and prizes Great people and environment Good contract for a student who needs extra money

    Cons

    Sometimes favouritism occurs from management Could be given a shift change last minute

    Continue reading
    Miss Selfridge2019-09-16
  3. "Poor Brand vision and direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Visual Merchandiser in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Miss Selfridge full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    My team kept me going, other managers from other stores I met are so commited and hard working, they keep the brand going

    Cons

    No progression, constantly reducing payroll, poor product choice instore either no stock or too much stock. Constant change of brand vision. stores closing.

    Miss Selfridge2019-08-15
  4. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Part Time Sales Associate in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Miss Selfridge part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Busy atmosphere - Fast paced - Discount

    Cons

    - Not much room for development - High staff turnover

    Miss Selfridge2019-07-03
  5. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Visual Merchandiser in London, England

    I have been working at Miss Selfridge full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lot of freedom in visual merchandising department

    Cons

    there are no cons, really nice place to work

    Miss Selfridge2019-06-07
  6. "Retail asssistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Miss Selfridge part-time

    Pros

    Uniform discount and staff nights out

    Cons

    On feet all day and a lot of students

    Miss Selfridge2019-03-19
  7. "Good job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales and Service Advisor in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Miss Selfridge full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Good staff, everyone try and help, despite one or two people that after some weeks become more friendly - Good management, everyone is frriendly, kind, supportive, apart from one - Good hours, if they say you finish at 10 pm you finish at 10 pm - Easy job sometimes having fun, too

    Cons

    - Only one manager was authoritarian and unpleasant and seemed to have his preferences but nothing that you cannot manage

    Continue reading
    Miss Selfridge2019-03-13
  8. "Good part time job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Miss Selfridge part-time

    Pros

    Good hours Not too difficult

    Cons

    Strict management No help with transferring stores when going to uni

    Miss Selfridge2019-03-06
  9. "Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Miss Selfridge part-time

    Pros

    Good clothing allowance, enjoyed working with the public.

    Cons

    Very bad manager, she was a bully, rude to the staff and customers.

    Miss Selfridge2019-03-24
  10. "Stay Away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Sales Assistant in Trafford Park, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Miss Selfridge full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pays more than minimum wage per hour.

    Cons

    Management don’t understand the definition of organisation. Lack of communication. Promises are made and never kept. Rotas are meant to be given out 4 weeks in advance, more often than not they were put out less than a week in advance.

    Miss Selfridge2019-02-28
Found 66 reviews