Miss Selfridge "uniform allowance" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Miss Selfridge Employee Reviews about "uniform allowance"

Updated 21 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
Miss Selfridge CEO Mary Julia Margaret Geraghty (no image)
Mary Julia Margaret Geraghty
10 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great friendly team, hard-working team leader and manager, 60% off uniform allowance, feel valued and cared for in your job(in 10 reviews)

  • "25% staff discount for all Arcadia stores(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "Poor management at times, trouble with shift swaps or cover(in 3 reviews)

  • "Long shifts, busy store on Oxford Street which can be hell and the work isn't varied(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "uniform allowance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great team & benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Miss Selfridge part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great friendly team, hard-working team leader and manager, 60% off uniform allowance, feel valued and cared for in your job.

    Cons

    Not great opportunity for extra hours/overtime as contracted hours for our concession are limited, working in a small concession means limited progression opportunities.

    Miss Selfridge2019-05-13
  2. Helpful (2)

    "I needed therapy once i left"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Miss Selfridge full-time

    Pros

    Generous staff uniform allowance, 25% staff discount, travel-card included for management positions

    Cons

    Negative senior managers, verging on bullying. They expect ridiculous hours to be worked, for no reward. Often schedule store visits outside of your working hours and will only turn up in their own time, so you are often left waiting around. Arcadia is a sinking ship with many redundancies and store closures. They do not care about the staff and treat everyone as though they are disposable. Senior management are... stuck in their ways and are not receptive to new ideas.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Senior management need to create a positive culture to promote staff happiness/well being which in turn lead to better sales. Management are guilty of cultivating the negativity that they themselves don't like. Treat people with respect and be open to ideas where you recruit experience managers.

    Miss Selfridge2018-05-13
  3. "good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Advisor in London, England

    I worked at Miss Selfridge for more than a year

    Pros

    Good company to work for, good benefits, uniform allowance

    Cons

    Poor management at times, trouble with shift swaps or cover

    Miss Selfridge2017-04-15
  4. "Okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Supervisor in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Miss Selfridge

    Pros

    TBH the best parts of working at Miss S are colleagues and co-worker; the staff discount is okay - having across all Arcadia brands is nice, and the uniform allowance is reasonable.

    Cons

    Management and structure - promotions and sale launches can go ahead and change date at the drop of a hat; progression depends entirely on manager whims and personal opinion. Experienced and capable staff members are frequently doing jobs that are above their pay grade yet not receiving adequate compensation or promotion. Have noticed between several branches.

    Advice to Management

    To look at compensating and paying staff adequately and appropriately for their job roles; and to allow for more internal progression and to recognise staff for their hard work.

    Miss Selfridge2016-07-05
  5. "Miss Selfridge"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Miss Selfridge part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice stock Uniform allowance

    Cons

    Poor discount Little area manager presence

    Miss Selfridge2016-05-24
  6. "Ok pay and good benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Advisor in London, England

    I worked at Miss Selfridge

    Pros

    25% on all arcadia shops, 60% off uniform allowance, pay is alright

    Cons

    disorganised manager, pay could be better in my opinion

    Advice to Management

    need better management

    Miss Selfridge2016-01-04
  7. "Great Place to work. Delivering great service in a fun and relaxed manner!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Miss Selfridge part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Regular Reviews (on average one every 6month) Very accommodating in terms of availability and flexibly. Perks of the job: 25% off Arcadia all year round Uniform allowance

    Cons

    Difficult when looking to progress, very little positions available to take the next step.

    Advice to Management

    none.

    Miss Selfridge2015-01-23
  8. "Lovely benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Advisor in Cambridge, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Miss Selfridge part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The discounts, 25% off at all Arcadia brands with some exceptions at BHS. 60% off for uniform allowance every 6 weeks. Retail pay is better than most other brands.

    Cons

    Some of the staff can typically be people you may clash with (mostly management). Holidays longer than 2 weeks are forbidden. Lack of communication between stores which leads to a loss in a transfer opportunity.

    Advice to Management

    Be more organised. Talk to staff at ALL LEVELS.

    Miss Selfridge2014-09-27
  9. "Team leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader in Dorset, VT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Miss Selfridge full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Uniform allowance 25% staff discount for all Arcadia stores Nice stock Easy company to work for Fast progression if willing to learn and work hard

    Cons

    Constant cutting of hours Closing of stores A lot of concessions are without managers Not many I enjoyed working for this company

    Advice to Management

    Management are good I don’t have any negatives to give as I worked in a concession and I didn’t have a manager

    Miss Selfridge2019-02-21
  10. "Good pay and discount scheme"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Miss Selfridge part-time

    Pros

    Nice working environment, over time was available. Uniform allowance, discount across brands.

    Cons

    I can’t think of many.

    Miss Selfridge2018-05-30
Found 71 reviews