Mixpanel Reviews

Updated Jul 28, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 212 of over 219 reviews

3.8
67%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
Mixpanel CEO Amir Movafaghi
Amir Movafaghi
76 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great culture & smart people(in 14 reviews)

  • "work life balance at the office(in 9 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Some growing pains but nothing that is not worth working here(in 12 reviews)

  • "Analytics is getting crowded as a space(in 8 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      The Best Company!

      Mar 6, 2019 - Account Executive in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great Packages, Benefits, Office Location, Team & Culture, Management, flexibility, product is amazing, investment in business and people. Great leadership and vision for the future its a really exciting time and I feel very lucky to be apart of the journey.

      Cons

      I cant think of any!

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Amazing Time to Work Here

      Nov 16, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It's never been better in year 3 of being at Mixpanel. There is more focus to the product, vision and growth of the company, coupled with the addition of charismatic leaders with experience scaling some of the world's most successful tech companies. Mixpanelers have always been fun, caring people to work with, but the culture has really improved in the last 6 months and there is renewed energy on the Go-to-Market team to make the most of the opportunity in front of us. It all adds up to an exciting year that will be surely filled with lots of rewarding work and the opportunity for every employee to make a significant impact.

      Cons

      It's not a company for everyone. There are lots of interesting questions to solve and the recent leadership and culture changes create teams that work fast without fear to make mistakes (something like 50+ feature updates in 6 months). It's data informed and intelligent risk, but it does mean things can pivot quickly. If you're the type of person that gets overwhelmed when trying to prioritize work or requires handholding to do your job, depending on the department, it may be too much. I don't see this as a good or bad thing, but not all working styles will thrive here. Those that lead by example, play well with others, naturally curious, and don't shy away from taking ownership do better here.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Strong Leadership, Culture and Future Growth Potential

      Dec 17, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      + Recent London leadership hires (directors from Linkedin, Google) bring with them experience, direction and, importantly, the can do mentality that resides in SV culture + Recently rebranded culture and values allowing you to be yourself in addition to employee resource groups + There are many projects going on that you can pick which one you want or simply start your own - its unlike a more mature organization where the best projects are either secret or handed to senior managers for execution + Fantastic perks on top of wages

      Cons

      - London office location (though we are looking to move more central) - Its a global organization so need to work US office hours frequently but thats part of the tech package these days

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Incredible momentum

      Dec 14, 2018 - Account Executive in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Right time, right team, right product. Fantastic culture, and equally impressive leadership team across all the geo's, but i'm most impressed by the product. This is a market leading product in a very buoyant sector. Most companies are reviewing their analytic strategy to help them better understand how their customers use their websites/apps, which will help inform them to make strategic 'data driven' decisions to improve them.

      Cons

      The market is pretty crowded with legacy players, and some 'up and coming', but this only confirms (to me) that this is a growing market. It's a start up, thats progressing into the next stage, so there are many changes. Some thrive in this environment, some don't...

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Amazingly talented people who inspire you daily.

      Dec 14, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      We have some rockstar people at this company who I am excited to work with daily. We're at an exciting time of international expansion and thus more and more career opportunities are available. I feel my career is growing and pushing me in the direction I want to go, and the leaders we have in place are aligned on the same goals.

      Cons

      There is always growing pains of expanding internationally, but it's a fun challenge. I can't think of much.

      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Challenging Problems, Stimulating People, Competitive Landscape - Where I Want To be

      Jul 28, 2021 - Tech Lead in Burlington, VT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Mixpanel is full of brilliant, and fiercely determined people working on solving really hard analysis problems at a super massive scale. It's an endlessly interesting and rewarding project, especially if you are the type of person who has a love of learning (and an open mind to do so). If you believe that data (specifically behavioral data) will be at the center of humanity's future, Mixpanel is where you will be best poised to be a part of it. The leadership is both wise and humble - willing to openly admit mistakes and capable of making really solid decisions. That combination is rare (in my experience). There are MANY stand-out I.Cs who are at the top of their respective fields, yet still approachable in most cases. Overall, the culture is inclusive, yet determined. Growth is responsible, built into a sustainable business model. It is my hope that I can spend my entire career working here.

      Cons

      Sink-or-swim enablement, strong impetus on "figuring it out yourself". Recognition is generally reserved for "above and beyond" work as opposed to quality work. Don't expect to be spoon-fed with extensive training... you'll be disappointed. Behavioral analytics is a fiercely competitive space - this requires that decisions are made quickly. That's both a pro and a con, depending on your perspective.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      I love this company: great people, very competitive comp, enjoyable work

      Jul 26, 2021 - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Product: World-class product in a large and growing market - Impact: Found our stride in shipping really impactful improvements that are reflected in our qualitative and quantitative metrics. I feel like every project I work on has a direct impact on our business. - Compensation: We're compensated very well even without considering the equity upside (which is huge). - Coworkers: I love my coworkers. They're smart, pragmatic, introspective, and genuinely nice people. - Leadership: Leadership really cares about people and diversity. Yes, diversity is a problem across tech and it's not an easy one to solve but they continue to work and iterate. Our CEO was recently named one of the Top CEOs for Women in 2021.

      Cons

      No job is perfect and growing pains exist at any growing company. A few things I see we need to improve on: - Mentoring - Onboarding new employees - EPD -> GTM communication (which has gotten better recently)

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great company to learn and grow!

      Jul 18, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Good work life balance with trust and flexibility. -Great people. I like my team and manager. Overall solid talent in every org. -Process and structure in place which is nice especially with career growth. Every 6 months we have a review cycle with career development panels. Great structure to learn and grow in your career! -Our product is fabulous!

      Cons

      I do think there needs another level of management/leadership. Some things don’t need to be as difficult as it is.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Product, Culture and a Promising Future!

      Jul 14, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great team - Transparent, smart, reflective and open.

      Cons

      Need to move faster at times.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Toxic Positivity, slowly sinking ship

      Jun 23, 2021 - Marketing in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Lots of good people that are fun to work with. Benefits are great. The data product and space are both pretty cool. Free lunch, snacks and drinks when we were in the office but they might take that away or go remote

      Cons

      Inexcusably slow growth at a time when our customers, competition, and data market are thriving. Leadership sells the situation as positive and with unrealistic expectations while doing more of the same and quietly adjusting the board plan lower and lower. Seriously....... treat us like adults. They laid off a ton of people last year and took PPP (all public knowledge now) you expect us to think we're good? Do you think our competitors are thriving and raising tons of money while no one is taking a second to question the poor decisions and strategy of leadership? Maybe time to reassess? Since the start of 2020, 5+ vp level leaders and heads of critical departments have bailed. Literally more than half the team of product managers and about half of our product marketing team just left in the last month. They have curbed growth since they hired ex-consultant to "right size spending" and strategically limit careers to save a buck. Somehow more responsibility and customer services business units just go default to the CPO who cannot express a clear thought and just word vomits recycled longwinded nonsense. CEO even jokes about this in allhands. This makes more customer services people leave. No one even knows who is in charge of marketing. All this and CEO says "attrition is totally within expectations". If you are considering an offer, take that as a sign and ask direct questions about the why so many people are bailing and the company health. Leaders are leaving because they know.. it's time to to jump ship

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 212 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Mixpanel Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Mixpanel? Share Your Experiences

    Mixpanel logo
    or