Mizuho Financial Group Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Mizuho Financial Group Reviews

Updated 23 March 2019
407 reviews

Filter

Filter


2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Mizuho Financial Group President and CEO Yasuhiro Sato
Yasuhiro Sato
107 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "Great work life balance (vacation days well above average); team willing to mentor junior level employees; very nice working environment" (in 56 reviews)

  • "Good working environment, good for fresh grad" (in 27 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

  1. "Challenging but enjoyable place to learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Security Consultant in London, England
    Former Employee - Business Security Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mizuho Financial Group full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Salary is strong for junior staff, opportunities to take ownership.

    Cons

    Technology is dated and can be challenging.

    Advice to Management

    Increase transparency between upper management and lowest rungs on the ladder, this will lead to improved moral and support.

    Mizuho Financial Group Response

    12 Feb 2019 – Recruiting Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your comments and will review as part of our commitment to making our workplace a positive environment for everyone.


  2. "Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Mizuho Financial Group full-time

    Pros

    Flat hierarchy
    Exposure to senior

    Cons

    Low paid
    Strong Japanese culture

    Mizuho Financial Group Response

    26 Mar 2019 – Recruiting Specialist

    Thank you for your review. We encourage you to discuss your concerns with your HR business partner so that we can work on improving the situation.

  3. "G"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Mizuho Financial Group full-time

    Pros

    Location bonus language course etc

    Cons

    Glass ceiling not many women at senior positions

    Mizuho Financial Group Response

    5 Mar 2019 – Recruiting Specialist

    We greatly value your feedback. Thank you for taking time to share your thoughts.


  4. "Service Desk Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Mizuho Financial Group part-time

    Pros

    A very professional working environment

    Cons

    There is no con I can think of

    Mizuho Financial Group Response

    5 Feb 2019 – Recruiting Specialist

    It is great to see that you share our enthusiasm for working at Mizuho. Thank you!


  5. "Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in London, England
    Current Employee - Associate in London, England
    Recommends

    I have been working at Mizuho Financial Group full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Not a bad place to work

    Cons

    no work from home at U.K

    Advice to Management

    they should respect employees and organise managerial procedures

    Mizuho Financial Group Response

    7 Jan 2019 – Recruiting Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback.


  6. Helpful (1)

    "Prmotions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England

    I worked at Mizuho Financial Group full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Always have been good at promoting Internal talent

    Cons

    Volatile Management Structure over many years

    Mizuho Financial Group Response

    7 Jan 2019 – Recruiting Specialist

    Thank you for your comments.


  7. Helpful (2)

    "There is a reason that the average review score is so low"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    If you don’t know much, this might be a place to find some patient people to teach your things.

    Cons

    If you are lucky enough, you will probably find some nice professional people. But you will also see plenty are there for the monthly payments and don’t care what they know and what they don’t know. They blame other unrelated things to cover up their poor performance.

    Advice to Management

    Trust the collective intelligence from the reviews here and it often reflects the reality: this is a below average company. Realign your strategies, communicate to the team, take the ones are excited with your ideas and start again.

    Mizuho Financial Group Response

    8 Jan 2019 – Recruiting Specialist

    Thank you for your comments. We are disappointed to hear that these challenges could not be resolved, however, we will share your feedback with the appropriate departments.

  8. "(Mizuho International) Broad, ambitious, but low bench"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mizuho Financial Group full-time

    Pros

    Good Compensation at Senior Level

    Cons

    People in wrong roles on the Exec Committee

    Advice to Management

    Challenge your CEO!

    Mizuho Financial Group Response

    8 Jan 2019 – Recruiting Specialist

    We appreciate your feedback and will forward your comments to the appropriate internal parties.


  9. Helpful (1)

    ""EMEA AML and Compliance""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Associate in London, England
    Former Employee - Associate in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Mizuho Financial Group full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Back stabbing and politics working to your benefit if you know how to manipulate people. You can push the envelope and it will work coz head office not giving a damn about wrongdoings. You can get away with anything. No penalties.

    Cons

    No cons. Old school culture perfect to instil poor team ethos.


  10. Helpful (4)

    "Just no"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in London, England
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mizuho Financial Group full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Pay was good for experience, very knowledgeable people and pleasant colleagues other than one

    Cons

    A certain administrative assistant had no management skills what's so ever. It felt like being back at school, being told to do something without being advised. Left me to look after a busy trading floor for a week, 3 DAYS INTO THE ROLE! she was "sick". Left out my start time was at 8:30 and not at 9, moaned about it for half the day and then says herself "oh I come in later some day if I'm tired". No wonder they offered £28k to someone with 2 years experience.

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of useless management and listen to staff - after I left I found out from my agency that my role had 3 people in 4 months before me, each one left because of her!