Monash University "career progression" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Monash University Employee Reviews about "career progression"

Updated 14 May 2019

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
81%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Monash University President and  Vice-Chancellor Margaret Gardner
Margaret Gardner
137 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "No cons available, sometimes finding parking is difficult(in 12 reviews)

  • "If you have the right skills then there are a lot of opportunities for career progression in mainly the academics field(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "career progression"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Laid-back environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Officer in Kuala Lumpur

    I have been working at Monash University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Relaxed, flexible, great benefits scheme

    Cons

    No career progression and lack of motivation always comes

    Continue reading
    Monash University2019-05-14
  2. "Research Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Research Assistant in Clayton
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Monash University for less than a year

    Pros

    I was working for my supervisor as a research assistant, continuing on my own project. As I was doing it mainly to get paid so it was not overall exciting for me. Your work environment basically will depend on each individual research group, lab head, and general work culture.

    Cons

    If you have the right skills then there are a lot of opportunities for career progression in mainly the academics field. But if your field is not currently in the lime light it may be very hard to come across a permanent job or post doc even.

    Continue reading
    Monash University2017-09-21
  3. "Good sessional work, career progression not so good."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Teaching Associate 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Monash University for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fantastic work-life balance and understanding staff in my area. Flexible hours are both a pro and a con.

    Cons

    Little to no career progression available, or guaranteed job hours.

    Monash University2016-03-06
  4. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Monash University

    Pros

    Flexible working hours and good equipment.

    Cons

    Lack of career progression opportunities.

    Continue reading
    Monash University2015-09-03
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Rating Monash University"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Human Resources in Clayton
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Monash University for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Love what I do. Autonomous. Plenty of Professional/Personal Development

    Cons

    With all the Professional/Personal Development opportunities given, not a lot of succession planning occurs and therefore, no career progression.

    Monash University2015-08-23
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Monash university review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Peninsula
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Monash University

    Pros

    There are fantastic students, and the ability to generate research and share that research with the next generation is the reason why i continue to do my job.

    Cons

    1. Poor resourcing for staff 2. high overhead costs at every level make non cat 1 research non viable affecting 3. No time for research 4. Increasing student numbers and sophistication but decreasing staffing 4. No career progression if outside a privileged few 5. Overseas campuses take up too much resourcing for minimal gain 6. Too many hours 7. The management of the school of primary health care is appalling and incompetent, 8. reduction in admin staff means that systems are falling over; yet those same staff are bored in their jobs.

    Continue reading
    Monash University2015-07-30
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great team, great work/life balance, great role"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Monash University full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Caulfield campus is very central, easy to go to city after work - Strong work/life balance (9 to 5 95% of the time, basically pushed out the door after 5pm) - Great friendly and large team - Work never boring (lots of variety) - Very collaborative team - Rewarding role - Progression opportunities for those who stay long enough

    Cons

    - Monash Mobility limits career progression to those with fixed term contracts > 6 months or permanent staff - Bureaucracy still a problem in universities (it is a government organisation after all) - Salary tends to cap out at higher levels compared to private sector - More women than men in education - not as much diversity - Didn't get much exposure to senior management

    Continue reading
    Monash University2014-08-23
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Monash University

    Pros

    Great work culture, work-life balance, nice salary

    Cons

    Minimal opportunities for career progression

    Monash University2012-11-09
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Monash is a great place to work but not if you are looking for advancement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Monash University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great working environment, good staff. Good chances of establishing positions and getting called back often

    Cons

    Upper management are good to you until you get on their back. Small chance of career progression and amount of work getting less and less

    Monash University2012-08-22
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great work life balance, but no progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    CENTRAL in Clayton

    I have been working at Monash University

    Pros

    * Work life balance - everyone is generally very understanding * Good environment - simple, big campus, good facilities * Very good benefits - good leave, support for study

    Cons

    * No career progression whatsoever - lack of staff training, development, assumes that you would be happy with what you have * Management not able to make a change, fix problems

    Monash University2012-04-02

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 10 reviews