Monese Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Monese Reviews

Updated Sep 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.3
80%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Monese CEO Norris Koppel
Norris Koppel
19 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Best place I've ever worked in!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Monese full-time

    Pros

    Awesome team to be a part of, everyone is supportive and friendly. The management goes to great lengths to make the workspace and work environment as pleasant as possible.

    Cons

    Not many, apart from the usual problems associated with being a startup.

    Monese2019-04-08
  2. Helpful (17)

    "Passive aggressive culture and incompetent management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Support in Tallinn
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Monese full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free beer, free snacks, some fun coworkers

    Cons

    It's hard to decide what to start with when listing the downsides of working at Monese. An issue that applies to every department of the company is related to communication. As a new employee, you quickly learn that asking questions will only lead to getting passive aggressive private messages from your coworkers; and in order to avoid those, people end up not asking for help when needed. If an employee, for some... reason, is brave enough to raise an issue/share a suggestion, they get shut down by something I can only describe as 'aggressive bullying behaviour' (at least in CS channels). It is often easy for the 'leadership' to do so as they are withholding as much information as possible. There are no clear structures, no clear expectations. You are on your own with no one to turn to for help, your direct managers are useless and/or hostile and of course, there is no way to address any of these issues because feedback as such does not exist. But why would it? Everyone in leadership positions is utterly incompetent and has no skills whatsoever (and no desire to be better...). I often wondered if there was anyone at Monese that has ever worked at a well-functioning company before. I can not make sense of the extent of how poorly this company is run. Projects, ideas, issues are basically raised in group chats and no one is in charge of keeping track. They basically haven't heard of an Excel table. If you want to see if something has been brought up before, you can search the group conversation; obviously, if it had been phrased differently, you will be repeating something, so expect some 'constructive' messages on how you should have checked. However, there's a 99% chance no one ever even bothered to look at the original suggestion. This is just to give you an insight into how things work at Monese. I could go on forever. Of course, many of their issues could be fixed with better management and decent HR. But Monese lacks both of those. I do not recommend working for this company unless you want to experience what you want to avoid in the future or want to slack off for a couple of months. For CS people in particular, please know, there is no appreciation whatsoever, none of your managers will have a kind word (if they even talk to you). There will be no support for you to do your job properly, but there will be inappropriately timed micromanagement. You will have no trust in your superiors. And most importantly, there is no opportunity to grow and learn...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Ask for feedback and take it into consideration.

    Monese2019-03-05
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Super Fast Growing Tech Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Monese full-time

    Pros

    It's a great learning environment and everyone's really supportive. It's a growing company that needs great talent so if you're willing to go the extra mile and can show your skills beyond what's expected of you, you will go far. I loved how the company supported my growth to new roles. It's also a company with a mission and it's much more than just to make money. Monese really wants to make a difference in the... world and it's great to go to work every day, knowing you're building something that hundreds of thousands are already using day-to-day and that using their Monese accounts is making a difference in their lives.

    Show More

    Cons

    Since the last funding round (August 2018), the growth in employee numbers has been incredibly quick and that has brought with it a lot of changes. You may not always have get a super smooth onboarding experience, or see the people you're working with every day, face to face in a long time (because the company has a number of offices across Europe). However, I felt the people put in charge of managing the changes... knew what they're doing. I believe it will simply take time.

    Show More
    Monese2019-03-01
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Monese isn't perfect, but is great!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Monese full-time

    Pros

    I will not mention material benefits and perks, because for me it is more important the environment and how I feel. For me, Monese has an excellent company culture that focuses on growth based on values, which promotes constructivism instead of judgmentalism and people are free to submit their opinions and feedback. As an employee, I feel that I can provide honest feedback. And that is a valuable non-material... benefit to me, to be able to express my feedback and to learn from it and to clarify a misunderstanding. That's the way how I feel trusted, valued and encouraged to grow.

    Show More

    Cons

    It is a fast-growing environment, and sometimes it can take more time for a new employee to find the right balance between completing their daily tasks and knowing the company (understanding the business, the role of each team, the part of everyone, and so on.). Nevertheless, this is something that can be solved with one's team support and team lead guidance.

    Monese2019-02-17
  5. Helpful (1)

    "At Monese you have a voice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Monese full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - A company that trusts and values you - Flat hierarchies and freedom to try out new things and work autonomously - Great work environment, definitely a place to learn and develop - Creative minds and cooperative staff - Easy to identify with the company’s values, ideas and visions - Supportive in balancing work and life, flexible - Fast-paced, constant challenges, many ongoing, simultaneous projects -... Opportunity to travel between offices

    Show More

    Cons

    - Sometimes lack of structure, not all processes are in place yet - Communication and workflow could be more efficient

    Monese2019-02-19
  6. Helpful (7)

    "Great team and working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Monese full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work environment is great, passionate colleagues to work with every day. Variety of tasks that make one's days different and challenging. And there are dogs running around in the office.

    Cons

    It's open office, so it can get noisy and difficult to find a quiet corner if you really need to focus.

    Monese2019-01-24
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Monese full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fast-paced environment but still, very friendly and welcoming. Employees are always encouraged to share their thoughts and opinions and really have a voice. You can feel your work changing the company and that's pretty nice! Team leads are comprehensive and are open to conversation. I feel good to work here!

    Cons

    Processes and workflows are still being defined, so if you don't have that in mind, you can think that sometimes things can get a little unorganized, but I think it's part of the startup life. The opened space office can get loud and hard to focus sometimes.

    Monese2019-02-13
  8. Helpful (16)

    "A start up that does not listen to its employees when it comes to Customer support side"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Support Agent in Tallinn
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Monese full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The start up environement basic, with snacks and a pingpong table.

    Cons

    bad managing, bad leader skills, tight timetables , bad salary

    Advice to Management

    As a customer support you will be working on shifts with a 30 minutes break plus 2 breaks of 15 minutes. That is ridiculously small considering the charge of the job on the other hand. Working under such a tight timetables adds a big pressure to a job that is already quite stressful. I worked there for 6 months and it was definitely the worst job experience you could ever imagine. At first they try to give you... this inclusive, young and relaxed vibe, but the truth is, this kind of vibes is not real if you work in customer support. Besides dealing with very angry customer (Who actually have the right to be angry since most of them are being blocked and not contacted for months without any explanation and top it all their money is being held by the bank) and WE as a customer agents we have to tell them as small as possible, they end up with almost no information and a bigger frustration. Most of them end up yelling, crying and even threatening to kill themselves. When as a new CS agent we ask for some kind of solution from the relevant team or the manager we get ignored or told "Just let it go" Yes we are representing customer support and our task is to "let it go" that is just the lowest point of inexperience and bad organisation. Besides the customer pressure and the tight timetables their is another problem that adds up: The lack fo managing or leading skills. The teams leads are just CS agent who knew the product by heart and got promoted to leaders. To be a leader it takes skills and experience that goes over the knowing well your product field. You have to be a great listener as well as caring about your team members and their well being. In 6 months not ONCE was I asked if I was doing good or if I had any suggestion to make the experience better. Now you could think that it cannot get worse? Well guess what ? It CAN. In fact let us talk about the training they give us. it is a very superficial training done in a very short time and with almost no knowledge at the end however since they have a bad organisation and the slowest hiring process as well as a very small team for customer support, they put you straight in the front line and tell you to not worry it will go well. I can tell you for me nor for my colleagues it went well. We had no knowledge and ended up giving the wrong information to the customers. Now you would think that in order to balance with the bad training we would have some monthly feedbacks? Well here again the answer is NO. We have a full feedback session at the end of probation period (4 months ). You can imagine that after 4 monts working with almost no knowledge no manager consideration while being watched and under the pressure of the breaks, the results are far from being the best. Then again it only reflects on their training and skills. We, us agents are simply the result of their own work. So to put it all together, if you want to work as a customer support agent do not go to Monese, go to Norwegian , air France, I mean go anywhere else than Monese because trust me you will end up having the worst experience you could imagine.

    Show More
    Monese2019-01-22
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Freedom"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Java Developer in Tallinn
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Monese full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A lot of freedom, people are very open-minded. You can suggest new technologies, give presentations etc. Flexible hours, stuffed office fridge and the usual. Norris talks about the company twice a month on the meeting for all and answers employees' questions.

    Cons

    Not enough rules to keep things strict, sometimes too much freedom.

    Monese2019-01-13
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Best workplace there is"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lisbon
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Monese full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A place where every day is like Friday - not because you keep waiting for the weekend but because you so much enjoy what you do. It's really amazing to see a company that's growing super fast to respect you as an individual and trust you so much. Great people, great work environment and, most importantly, great cause.

    Cons

    How could I possibly write at least 5 cons when there's absolutely none?

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    Monese2018-12-10
Found 28 reviews