Monese Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Monese Reviews

Updated 4 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.3
78%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Monese Founder and CEO Norris Koppel
Norris Koppel
25 Ratings
  1. Helpful (6)

    "Fast pacing and exciting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Monese full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Things happen, no day is the same day, the company is moving fast - Exciting customer growth, the product is getting very fast adoption - People are the best, from design to engineering and product, everybody is a real superstar - Cool office location in Central London, tons of snacks available - Frequent company socials

    Cons

    A small lack of processes, but the company is getting there

    Continue reading
    Monese2018-08-24
  2. "Modern company, nice to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Monese full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Modern company, very nice colleagues, lots of perks, dog friendly office

    Cons

    Usual start-up problems (lack of procedures)

    Monese2020-03-04
  3. "A good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kyc Specialist in Tallinn
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Monese full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Warm, welcoming environment and it's growing very fast.

    Cons

    In a startup, on a side things move too fast on another too slow. However when Monese will reach its balance will be a perfect place to work. It is now too, if you can face the challenge.

    Monese2020-02-19

    Monese Response

    February 28, 2020Recruiter

    Thank you for your review! We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with feedback and we’re happy to hear you’re pleased overall. Being a fast growing company with fast growing processes, we are working hard on continuously improving all aspects of the internal environment and our culture. Feel free to reach out to HR with any comments or suggestions you wish to share.

    Continue reading
  4. "Hard work, multitasking, always changing environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CSA - Customer Service Associate in Tallinn
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Monese full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You never get bored, there is lots of work to get done, you gain experience and inside knowledge about a young fast growing e-money Institution.

    Cons

    Poor life work balance, constant chaos and instability, high turnover, limited opportunities to grow, poor management, poor bonuses (no Sports ID, rare team events, etc)

    Continue reading
    Monese2020-02-18
  5. "Great product from outside, not okay from inside"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tallinn
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Monese full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Friendly, international colleagues - Nice location of Tallinn office in the hipster area of Tallinn - Challenging and exciting task - CEO is very optimistic and has reached great goals with his vision but at the expense of burned out employees

    Cons

    - Incompetent senior management (Compliance - Tallinn). Only head of compliance and few others are actually experienced in what they do, others have no experience and they don't even attempt to become competent by taking on feedbacks or obtaining relevant education. - Micromanagement is insane (definitely work hard attitude but no party hard). They try to squeeze every minute of work hour to get you working. Taking extra break will be noticed and you will be shamed for it. - Distrust in employees' capabilities. You are not trusted that you will do your job perfectly and higher management always keeps an eye over your shoulder. - Senior management who has been given warning for their behavior with other colleagues 5 times and caused many employees to leave the company, is still in the same position. - You are expected to work overtime hours, some weekends, holidays. If you don't, you will be looked down upon. - Work backlog is extremely high and everyone is burned out. There are a lot of good ideas to change this but the speed of changing is so slow that it feels like nothing is changing. - Company calls itself a startup but structure and robust management definitely feels like a very large corporate. - Communication between departments are done through senior management only so rest of the employees completely left out from issues and progresses. There is a lot of secrecy between departments because they are in competition between each other instead of working together towards a goal. - You have to respect the hierarchy very much. You have to only approach senior in your own team and not higher than that if you don't want to get into trouble.

    Continue reading
    Monese2020-02-05

    Monese Response

    February 17, 2020Recruiter

    Thank you for taking the time to leave this review, as we always would like to gather feedback. It is unfortunate that your experience is not as positive as many of our other employees in Tallinn. At Monese our biggest assets are our values, our culture, and all our people. That being said Monese is fast growing company with fast growing processes, and we have always invested in improving our team structure, training process and employee satisfaction. Everyone’s feedback is valuable, so we would be happy to discuss it directly about your experience during your time here and how we can improve. Please feel free to contact HR anytime.

    Continue reading
  6. "Amazing experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - People Partner in Tallinn
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Monese full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great team - friendly and open Work really hard and you'll easily get promoted Work environment is very calm and fun at the same time

    Cons

    Communication can be very bad sometimes.

    Monese2020-01-07
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Job for students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Customer Support Specialist 

    I worked at Monese full-time

    Pros

    Time flexibility, good location although the building is under construction work which makes it hard to do your job

    Cons

    Too many changes and not very stable job, there are not equal opportunities for women.

    Monese2019-09-09
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Awesome experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Tallinn
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Monese full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Growth opportunities, supporting management,wfh

    Cons

    Lack of resources and organisation

    Continue reading
    Monese2019-08-18
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Quickly growing company with fast pace environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Support Representative in Tallinn
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Monese full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I strongly believe Monese product is amazing and Monese mission very ambitious. In order for the company to succeed in a current competitive market it is required from every individual joining the company to believe in the mission and give their best, which is one of the reasons I decided to join the company and accept daily challenges. Believing that I make a difference by helping customers on the daily bases is what makes me happy and I enjoy doing. Customers are the single most important part of every business and if these are treated as I wish to be treated then business will flourish. Healthy and professional relationship between team members is a key to growth and success. Company recognises hard and professional workers and promotions are available within the business. Company organises at least 3 events per year and every team has an extra budget available for team events. Competitive Salary and stock options available for every new joiner. Snacks, coffee, sweets, soft drinks, smoothies, healthy fruits and more are always available in the kitchen.

    Cons

    As Monese is a fast growing business not everyone joining the company with limited experience of Customer support can manage the load of information, different type of clients moods, high workload and procedures in place. Following procedures which are changing quite often is challenging especially if these are all to be recorded in written form and have to be constantly updated and accessible to all employees. Monese is a start up company and high speed and high volume of work is only natural for any start up to succeed.

    Continue reading
    Monese2019-04-10
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Best place I've ever worked in!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Monese full-time

    Pros

    Awesome team to be a part of, everyone is supportive and friendly. The management goes to great lengths to make the workspace and work environment as pleasant as possible.

    Cons

    Not many, apart from the usual problems associated with being a startup.

    Monese2019-04-08
Found 35 reviews