Moneysupermarket Group Reviews

Updated 3 Jul 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
86%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Moneysupermarket Group Chief Executive Officer Mark Lewis (no image)
Mark Lewis
18 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free food, flexible working, market value salary, big focus on diversity & inclusion, opportunity to support charities(in 15 reviews)

  • "Really good amenities - coffee machines, free breakfast, free fruit, lemon/lime for your water(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "Senior management needs an urgent refresh(in 8 reviews)

  • "Office location is in central Manchester but quite fair away from the major train stations(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    COVID-19

    "Proud to be MSMG!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Talent Acquisition Partner in Ewloe, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Moneysupermarket Group part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    What a great company to work for! The way they handled Covid-19 truely was amazing. The leadership team are completely transparent and everyone knows how they fit into the business objectives.

    Cons

    I don't have any cons, it's a brilliant company with brilliant colleagues

    Moneysupermarket Group Response

    July 6, 2020

    Thanks for openly sharing your positive experience. Everyone at MSMG has worked so hard during Covid-19 to do whats best by our customers, users, partners and colleagues - it's been a huge team effort over many months that has equally made me very proud to be at MSMG. Caoimhe, Chief People Officer

  2. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - QA Tester in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Moneysupermarket Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent work atmosphere, freedom and flexibility to work, you feel your voice is heard at all times, and you're highly encouraged to take on as many activities and roles within your sphere as you like. Highly dynamic and fun! Plus its location cannot be beaten in MCR

    Cons

    I wish there was a system in place to give credit to employees who secretly do a great job, rather than the loud ones

    Continue reading

    Moneysupermarket Group Response

    February 6, 2020

    Thanks for such a positive review. I couldn't agree more about the fabulous location of our new office in Manchester! I'd encourage you to use our Group Recognition Scheme, to nominate colleagues that you feel deserve more credit. Look for details on the Hub, or reach out to anyone in the People Team to find out more...

  3. "Really look after their staff"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Delivery Manager in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Moneysupermarket Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Free food, flexible working, market value salary, big focus on diversity & inclusion, opportunity to support charities

    Cons

    Nothing specific, no company is perfect but MSM group is pretty close

    Moneysupermarket Group Response

    July 6, 2020

    Thanks so much for the great review and calling out our efforts on D&I and our charity partnerships. These things are a big part of our culture here and remain an important focus during these challenging times. Caoimhe, Chief People Officer

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Going downhill under new leadership"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Rather Not Say in Ewloe, Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Moneysupermarket Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Free food, flexible working, some good benefits

    Cons

    Poor IT equipment, management don’t listen to customer concerns, mental health support is a myth

    Continue reading

    Moneysupermarket Group Response

    July 6, 2020

    I'm sorry to read that you did not have a positive experience towards the end of your time with us. I do want to acknowledge however the very good work that our employee resource group - Thrive, and our large team of trained mental health first aiders do to promote and support mental wellbeing at MSMG. I appreciate this sadly doesn't align with your personal experience but I do know many of our colleagues who are engaged in this effort and I know from feedback that it is widely valued and appreciated. Caoimhe, Chief People Officer

  5. "Great place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Moneysupermarket Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Generous benefits, including a pot for personal development Socials Great community

    Cons

    Hard to progress without being friendly with senior management.

    Moneysupermarket Group Response

    July 6, 2020

    Thanks for the positive review. It would be great to understand more about your concerns about progression. If you feel able - drop me a note internally - I'm keen to understand what's driving your feedback. Caoimhe, Chief People Officer

  6. "Great place to work, not a great place to progress"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Data Analyst in Ewloe, Wales
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Moneysupermarket Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The ethic of the business is great, the office has just had a refurb and also compensates with free breakfast and lunch (in Ewloe).

    Cons

    Moneysupermarket Group is very happy to increase your responsibilities without additional monetary compensation. When you try to progress you just get shot down - the only way to do this is to move to a completely different role (and they usually go for someone with less experience than you!)

    Continue reading

    Moneysupermarket Group Response

    May 18, 2020

    Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Glad to see you recommend us a great place to work. Feel free to reach out to me directly regarding your concerns about progression, I'd love to understand more about your experience with us. Caoimhe, Chief People Officer

  7. "Excellent benefits and above market salary"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Operations Manager in Chester, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Moneysupermarket Group full-time

    Pros

    Competitive package Career progression options On site cafe (free) Very unique mix of loyal employees create a good working environment

    Cons

    Senior managers in customer facing / operations & HR relating to those departments let down the otherwise high standard of senior team.

    Moneysupermarket Group Response

    May 18, 2020

    Thanks for your feedback and positive recommendation.

  8. Helpful (2)

    "A good company experiencing some teething issues"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commercial Marketing Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Moneysupermarket Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Culture - The culture at MSM is genuinely great, open and inclusive. There are some middle/senior managers who didn't get this memo and try and stamp out the fun but they are few and far between. Diversified business model - The business is very well diversified across Money, Insurance, Energy etc verticals, so there is a lot to learn about different markets if you are interested, and any number of great people to learn from. Transparency - The business has very good levels of transparency with monthly floor briefs and regular all-hands ensuring everyone is kept in the loop with strategic ventures etc. Flexible working - Flexible working has been rolled out across the group which is great, but there are very different approaches taken by managers who ultimately decide what's appropriate for their teams. The guidelines should be clearer as currently, managers have the discretion to decide to essentially opt-out their team from this (even when job suits flexi working). Work/life balance - MSM excels at this. You really can bring your whole self to work and there isn't a culture of long hours.

    Cons

    Some recent hiring decisions seem rather odd - very senior directors being recruited to run a division with no prior experience or understanding of the sector or adjacent sectors, save for the fact that they once worked with the CEO. Some director remits have been expanded so far to cover multiple business units that they have no time to look at certain verticals leading to alienating employees in these verticals as they get the impression they just don't care. Some managers spend too much time managing upwards and covering their backs rather than doing the right thing. Progression - progression is excellent in some teams (marketing seem to have really nailed this), however in others it can be a case of having to wait for your boss or someone above you in the team to leave/get pregnant (delete as appropriate) before getting the opportunity to progress. I think that employee retention may need to be looked at as there appears to be a fairly high turnover of staff (maybe 1-2% salary hike p/a isn't cutting it in this job market?)

    Continue reading

    Moneysupermarket Group Response

    February 6, 2020

    Thanks for taking the time to give such balanced feedback. Its much appreciated and really useful to hear. CK

  9. "Great company to work for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Product Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Moneysupermarket Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible working, Supportive team, based in Central London

    Cons

    Not a lot of space to progress

    Moneysupermarket Group Response

    February 6, 2020

    Thanks for the positive review. We're working hard to enable career development and I hope that we'll be able to find a path to support your progression within the Group.

  10. "Great place to work with strong culture"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - E-commerce in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Moneysupermarket Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Really dedicated as a group to delivering value for the UK consumer Really good benefits and very good for Paternity/ Maternity and Flexible working Strong Senior Management

    Cons

    Limited Career progression depending on the Vertical Some Technical challenges depending on the Brand or Team Sometime quite short team trading view instead of long term initiatives

    Continue reading

    Moneysupermarket Group Response

    February 6, 2020

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. Its great to see the positive aspects of your time with us and we are working hard on developing our approaches to support career development and progression.

Found 57 reviews