Morgan McKinley "high turnover" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Morgan McKinley Employee Reviews about "high turnover"

Updated 3 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
78%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Morgan McKinley CEO Aldagh McDonogh
Aldagh McDonogh
11 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "micromanagement/political/high turnover depends on team(in 17 reviews)

  • "Still a lot more room to implement even more flexible working arrangements to improve work/life balance(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "high turnover"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Nice People, Excellent Culture, Exceptional Client delivery, Can Lack Creativity and Innovation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Marketing in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Morgan McKinley for more than a year

    Pros

    Morgan McKinley is a great company to work for and with. There are some very very talented people in the organisation. People are not micro-managed they are 'led' in many cases though not all. At Morgan McKinley you get autonomy and if you have an opinion or an idea that you are willing to share you will be listened to. Work here if you want to make a difference and not just be an employee.

    Cons

    However the sales culture that is recruitment means that sometimes communication can be flawed. I see a very high staff turnover however that is expected in recruitment but it means there are inconsistencies with how we present ourselves. Training and development could be improved I think the general working hours in the London office should be shorter

    Continue reading
    Morgan McKinley2013-04-24
  2. Helpful (7)

    "Avoid!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Morgan McKinley full-time

    Pros

    Position of the office in Central London, decent salary

    Cons

    High turnover. The working hours can be very long. There is discrimination towards not English native speakers and racism. The Managers pretend they are nice to you, but then talk at your back.

    Continue reading
    Morgan McKinley2016-11-26

    Morgan McKinley Response

    November 30, 2016People Director

    Thank you for your feedback. I am disappointed and concerned to read some of your comments and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your feedback in confidence in more detail. Please contact me directly and confidentially awebb@morganmckinley.co.uk

    Continue reading
  3. "Potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Morgan McKinley for less than a year

    Pros

    Good commission structure and training scheme, great people to work with and good central London based offices. Overall decent company benefits too.

    Cons

    Salary is often not in line with market benchmarks. Can be very long hours. Very high turnover amongst staff and not enough consistency across the business.

    Continue reading
    Morgan McKinley2015-08-24

    Morgan McKinley Response

    August 27, 2015People Director

    Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased that you have positively rated our people, training programme, commission plan and employee benefits. I very much hope that you have had the opportunity to discuss your experience further during your exit interview. We use this process to gain deep insight into people's time with Morgan McKinley and to drive change within our business. In addition, please feel free to contact me directly at awebb@morganmckinley.co.uk

    Continue reading
  4. "Good place to work - fun company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Group Marketing Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Morgan McKinley full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Young energetic workforce, good place to gain experience, good career progression opportunities, good training for employees, always very good social scene

    Cons

    High turnover so managers spend a lot of their time training in new staff. Sometimes they hire unsuitable people who are not suited to the sales environment.

    Morgan McKinley2015-07-06

    Morgan McKinley Response

    July 8, 2015People Director

    Thank you for your feedback. It's great to hear about your positive experience working at Morgan McKinley ... long may it continue! We strive to hire the very best talent, and our leadership team play a critical role in onboarding, training and development their teams. If you have any recommendations as to how we might improve our hiring process and/or learning and development programmes, please feel free to get in contact with me at awebb@morganmckinley.co.uk.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Better than 90% of recruitment agencies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Morgan McKinley full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Compared to most recruitment agencies where meaningless KPIs (i.e. time spent on the phone per week) are obsessed over, Morgan McKinley is definitely more relaxed as a work environment and occasionally sees value in things other than numbers.. Also, they generally hire amenable and dynamic people, so the company culture is fun and vibrant. They are also very encouraging when it comes to training up staff and giving them a clear internal career development path (despite it being 95% based on billings).

    Cons

    The upper management tend to be quite short-sighted and have had issues with prioritisation.. On a micro-level, if you bill a lot in a short time you are basically given a pass for a while.. Macro: when times are good they get quixotic, hiring like mad and upgrading/opening new offices.. This bites the whole company back when revenue inevitably goes down.. Also, on certain teams it's more valuable to be a robot than to actually know what you're talking about.. They pay a lot of lip service to the model solid consultant being one who knows their subject matter and having long-standing relationships with their clients based on professional respect, but this all flies out the window if you bill and will not save you if you're not billing.. Again, take that with a grain of salt because at other recruitment agencies they'd be much more brutal.. Finally: the bonus structure.. It's shockingly unfair.. I won't go into details, but you have to bill quite a lot before you stand to make a bonus, and if you're under your targets for two consecutive quarters, you basically find yourself in a hole that you'll only dig your way out of with a couple recruitment miracles.. This gives employees the choice to either stay without hope of getting a bonus, or just start to look for new jobs while surviving off the basic salary.. The bonus structure is by and large the reason for the high turnover of staff.

    Continue reading
    Morgan McKinley2013-12-19
  6. "It's ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiter in Tokyo
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Morgan McKinley full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - transparent commission schemes - some small events

    Cons

    - unclear career progression - micromanagement/political/high turnover depends on team - fear strategies as a motivator tool

    Morgan McKinley2020-02-03
  7. "High turnover, suspicious behaviour"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Freelancer - Recruitment Consultant in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Morgan McKinley for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of events and knowledge that is not shared equally

    Cons

    In my short time there I witnessed some very strange behaviour both inappropriate and illegal (even overheard someone mentioning they spike drinks). There is high turnover which the reviews would make you think not.

    Continue reading
    Morgan McKinley2020-01-24

    Morgan McKinley Response

    January 31, 2020People Director

    Thank you for your review. I am deeply concerned to read about your experience and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your feedback in confidence in more detail. Please contact me directly and confidentially at awebb@morganmckinley.co.uk or by phone +44 (0)7917 838059.

    Continue reading
  8. "Can’t recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Morgan McKinley full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great for graduates, positive environment on some teams. Good exposure to clients, very little business development which gives the opportunity to achieve success quickly. Upbeat social environment and great parties

    Cons

    Abnormally high turnover from senior management down to the bottom. Growth plans are high yet the core of their business gets lost in the process. Company politics are the biggest problem, promotions are handed out loosely and reactively, often when consultants are not capable and cannot handle the pressure put on them by directors. Consultants and senior management disappear on leave and don’t return with unclear explanations creating a serious lack of transparency and fear of instability. A lot of faith put into new management which has resulted in almost whole teams being wiped out within a year.

    Continue reading
    Morgan McKinley2019-05-16

    Morgan McKinley Response

    May 17, 2019Global Head of HR

    Thanks for sharing your feedback. I’m disappointed to learn that your experience has fallen short of the standards we expect. We take your feedback seriously and I’d welcome the opportunity to discuss this further with you. Please contact me directly and confidentially at hgallagher@morganmckinley.com.

    Continue reading
  9. "Take the good and bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrator in Cork
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Morgan McKinley full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Weekday only, helped to give me the experience for administration

    Cons

    Monthly pay, bad management, awful working environment, area manager didn't care. I worked in one of their sites near cork city, high turnover of staff due to bad management

    Continue reading
    Morgan McKinley2019-04-02

    Morgan McKinley Response

    April 9, 2019Global Head of HR

    Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear your experience was not positive. It is unclear from your feedback if you worked in Morgan McKinley or on site with a client. If you could contact me in confidence to provide additional detail I would be grateful. Thank you, hgallagher@morganmckinley.com

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (10)

    "MMK HK review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiter in Admiralty
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Morgan McKinley full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good reputation in the market Nice colleague - corporate and professional - high quality in the market Strong PSL Good staff benefits Great place to grow by yourself

    Cons

    Stressful workplace Serious politics issue raised by the top management Top management is led by the MD to play small-group game - very high turnover rate Downsizing due to management issue

    Continue reading
    Morgan McKinley2019-01-10

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 11 reviews