Morgan McKinley "working environment" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Morgan McKinley Employee Reviews about "working environment"

Updated 6 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
78%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Morgan McKinley CEO Aldagh McDonogh
Aldagh McDonogh
11 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "micromanagement/political/high turnover depends on team(in 17 reviews)

  • "Still a lot more room to implement even more flexible working arrangements to improve work/life balance(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "working environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "It's about the people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Morgan McKinley full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I worked at Morgan McKinley for 2 years and had a great experience. I learnt so much new skills and there was always a team member to help you. Even being one of the most successful recruitment firms in London, Morgan McKinley still listens to their staff. Keeping their staff happy is their number one priority. They are extremely flexible in giving employees new challenges when asked. For new employees coming in to the business it is an extremely social & friendly work environment.

    Cons

    Nothing bad to say. They were extremely flexible.

    Morgan McKinley2017-07-14

    Morgan McKinley Response

    August 23, 2017Global Marketing Executive

    Thank you for your feedback. It’s great to hear about your positive experience working at Morgan McKinley and we appreciate you sharing your experience.

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Better than 90% of recruitment agencies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Morgan McKinley full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Compared to most recruitment agencies where meaningless KPIs (i.e. time spent on the phone per week) are obsessed over, Morgan McKinley is definitely more relaxed as a work environment and occasionally sees value in things other than numbers.. Also, they generally hire amenable and dynamic people, so the company culture is fun and vibrant. They are also very encouraging when it comes to training up staff and giving them a clear internal career development path (despite it being 95% based on billings).

    Cons

    The upper management tend to be quite short-sighted and have had issues with prioritisation.. On a micro-level, if you bill a lot in a short time you are basically given a pass for a while.. Macro: when times are good they get quixotic, hiring like mad and upgrading/opening new offices.. This bites the whole company back when revenue inevitably goes down.. Also, on certain teams it's more valuable to be a robot than to actually know what you're talking about.. They pay a lot of lip service to the model solid consultant being one who knows their subject matter and having long-standing relationships with their clients based on professional respect, but this all flies out the window if you bill and will not save you if you're not billing.. Again, take that with a grain of salt because at other recruitment agencies they'd be much more brutal.. Finally: the bonus structure.. It's shockingly unfair.. I won't go into details, but you have to bill quite a lot before you stand to make a bonus, and if you're under your targets for two consecutive quarters, you basically find yourself in a hole that you'll only dig your way out of with a couple recruitment miracles.. This gives employees the choice to either stay without hope of getting a bonus, or just start to look for new jobs while surviving off the basic salary.. The bonus structure is by and large the reason for the high turnover of staff.

    Continue reading
    Morgan McKinley2013-12-19
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great chances for career progression, global firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Morgan McKinley full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    *Great training and structures in place to develop your career in recruitment *Opportunities to move around the world within Morgan McKinley, strong presence in Asia/Far East *Positive and friendly environment - don't feel like you are micro managed *Corporate and professional working environment

    Cons

    *More support needs to be given to new members of teams and introduction to other members of different desks in the office. Sometimes there is not enough interaction between teams. This is getting better since the office restructure but more work needs to be done

    Continue reading
    Morgan McKinley2013-05-31
  4. "Company in good transformation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Consultant in Admiralty
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Morgan McKinley for more than a year

    Pros

    -New MD is way different than previous Managment, he is nice, approachable and always open for conversation, always positive and brings good energy to workplace -open and democratic working environment now -Great client pool, lots of terms signed -Great resources for candidate sourcing -Good marketing team and tools to drive sales -Good L&D -Flexible working environment, not as robotic as the firms I worked at before -Work life balance, no need to wait for the manager to off duty, can go on time if you want -can earn a lot if you are hard working -peers are nice -Clean pantry with nice view, always have fruits and snacks

    Cons

    Takes few months time to drive all the changes

    Continue reading
    Morgan McKinley2019-06-06
  5. "The best recruitment company I have worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Morgan McKinley full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent work environment, work life balance and flexibility to work from home, leave early or start later as needed, focus is on quality of your work and output and not how long you spend in the office. Leadership genuinely cares about your ideas and input and will always encourage you to grow The team is encouraging, no back stabbing and they are all always happy with your success.

    Cons

    I know that opportunities to work internationally and move to other disciplines is available, but would want to have a clear view of what roles are vacant onshore and offshore and an idea on how to get a conversation started if there is interest to move.

    Continue reading
    Morgan McKinley2019-04-25

    Morgan McKinley Response

    May 16, 2019Global Marketing Executive

    We appreciate you sharing your feedback and are really pleased to hear about your positive experience working in our Sydney office. Should you wish to find out more about the global opportunities we have on offer, then please reach out in confidence to Steph Newth or anyone from our Talent Acquisition team directly. We wish you a long and successful career in Team MMK.

    Continue reading
  6. "Recruitment Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Morgan McKinley full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment, excellent commission and a wonderful development.

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Morgan McKinley2019-03-07

    Morgan McKinley Response

    March 14, 2019Global Marketing Executive

    Thanks for sharing your review with us. It's great to hear your positive views on working in our Sydney office. Long may it continue!

    Continue reading
  7. "Very global and progressive working environment, with healthy balance of freedom and support."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Tokyo
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Morgan McKinley full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Global Support Network. Experienced managers who believe in mentoring - invest a lot of time and effort when people are starting out. Growing office so opportunities for progression Individuals are encouraged to build their own markets and business. As long as you are working hard and contributing to the business and the brand, managers give a lot of freedom with less focus on KPIs. Good commissions. Open and relaxed working environment. Good team work. Flexible working arrangements.

    Cons

    Still a lot more room to implement even more flexible working arrangements to improve work/life balance.

    Continue reading
    Morgan McKinley2019-03-05

    Morgan McKinley Response

    March 14, 2019Global Marketing Executive

    Thanks for sharing your feedback, which has been great for us to read! It's fantastic to hear all the positive experiences you're having in our Tokyo office, and we appreciate your 'what-outs' for the future. Wishing you a long and happy career at MMK.

    Continue reading
  8. "Talent Acquisition"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Talent Acquisition in Tokyo
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Morgan McKinley full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great on boarding program Flexible working environment. Great work life balance (flex time, well being time, work from home,remote access, casual attire) Constant support from the leadership team and peers. transparent company, offering transparent incentive scheme and suitable resources to achieve one's goal. Great synergy between team mates and other teams across the business.

    Cons

    Nothing that i cant think of.

    Morgan McKinley2019-03-05

    Morgan McKinley Response

    March 5, 2019Global Marketing Executive

    We're really happy to hear about your positive experience working in MMK Tokyo! Long may it continue and thank you for sharing your feedback.

    Continue reading
  9. "Great culture & people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Recruiter in Singapore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Morgan McKinley full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Collaborative working environment -Helpful and friendly colleagues -Focus on teamwork, fun team building/ bonding activities -Strong market presence -Pretty good work life balance, not obligated to OT

    Cons

    -Very fast paced environment to stay ahead in the game (pretty much everywhere in the recruitment scene) -Could offer a better placement fees scheme for Associate Consultant

    Morgan McKinley2018-10-25

    Morgan McKinley Response

    October 25, 2018Global Marketing Executive

    Thanks for sharing your feedback. It's great to read about your positive experience working in our Singapore office and we wish you all the best for the future.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (2)

    "A trust employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Shanghai, Shanghai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Morgan McKinley full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Morgan McKinley is a quite good platform for both fresh and experienced employees. - good people caring company culture - reasonable performance rating criteria - multinational work environment

    Cons

    - turnover rate, even is lower than industry average

    Morgan McKinley2018-04-10

    Morgan McKinley Response

    April 20, 2018Global Marketing Executive

    Thank you for sharing your review. It's great to read your positive feedback on our culture. All insights and suggestions are valuable, and if you wish to discuss anything further please feel free to speak to our management team in Shanghai.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 19 reviews