Moss Bros Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Moss Bros Reviews

Updated 14 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
55%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Moss Bros CEO and Director Brian Brick
Brian Brick
59 Ratings
Pros
  • "Staff discount and uniform loan(in 14 reviews)

  • "Good discount if your a man, staff can be nice to work with, can give you a thicker skin dealing with rude customers all day(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "New ideas are not welcome, only what the head office has told staff to do(in 12 reviews)

  • "Too many unrecognised long hours(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "An excellent company with traditional values."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Shrewsbury, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Moss Bros full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A very close-knit run company with plenty of support from management.

    Cons

    Sometimes traditional working methods and out-dated systems leads to complications and work-arounds needed to get the job done.

    Continue reading
    Moss Bros2019-12-30

    Moss Bros Response

    January 7, 2020Recruiter

    Hi there, Thank you for you feedback. As we continue to grow and evolve, we know that feedback is key to being able to put in better working practices that will mean less complications and workarounds. Please be sure to speak to your Store and Area Managers with any ideas that you have, and we can hopefully implement some really great changes. The continued investment in staff is a must and something we are keen to drive forward in the coming years. Thanks

    Continue reading
  2. "Disgraceful, at times I was bullied and belittled by my manager."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Durham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Moss Bros full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very little. although the lax manager would always not care about how long your lunch was so long as he could have longer.

    Cons

    Hard work for little return. clothing discount wasn't great considering you had to wear their stock every day.

    Continue reading
    Moss Bros2020-01-28

    Moss Bros Response

    February 21, 2020Recruiter

    Hi There, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. While we’re disappointed to hear that you didn’t enjoy your time with Moss Bros please be assured that we are taking your feedback seriously. Moss Bros has a zero-tolerance policy on both the use of drugs and bullying as outlined in our disciplinary procedures. This procedure is designed to safeguard members of staff while they are employed and any instances where staff do not comply are investigated thoroughly and the appropriate action taken. We would hope that these issues were raised with your Area Manager or a member of the HR team where the opportunity to investigate further will or could have taken place. If you would like to share any additional information regarding the above please email recruitment@mossbros.co.uk where the matter will be looked into confidentially. Thank you

    Continue reading
  3. "Ecom merchandiser Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Ecom Merchandiser Assistant in Clapham Junction, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Moss Bros full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly young and driven environment

    Cons

    Don’t think there is any

    Moss Bros2019-12-19

    Moss Bros Response

    January 7, 2020Recruiter

    Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to send through a review. We’re glad that you’re finding the environment a positive one to work in and hope to continue making some great changes in the future.

    Continue reading
  4. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Moss Bros part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - You get to spend a lot of time with customers - A nice work environment and colleges

    Cons

    - Can be hard to progress through the company

    Moss Bros2019-12-19

    Moss Bros Response

    January 7, 2020Recruiter

    Hi there, We’re glad that you had a positive experience with Moss Bros while employed with us. We want Moss Bros to be an employer of choice and along with your feedback and the feedback of others, additional opportunity and internal mobility is something we want to look at and improve going forward. Thank you for taking the time to send through a review.

    Continue reading
  5. "It was okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Stockroom Coordinator in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Moss Bros part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great discount available on just about any product

    Cons

    Managers dont really care about you, just do your shift and go

    Moss Bros2019-12-30

    Moss Bros Response

    January 7, 2020Recruiter

    Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to send through a review. We’re sorry to hear that you don’t feel supported by your current manager. At Moss Bros we want everyone to feel that they are apart of a team with a strong support system. This then helps us to build on a great working environment. You work amazingly hard in-store and we want your experience with Moss Bros to be a positive one. A positive working environment then reflects a great experience for our customers. Please reach out to your Area Manager if you have any concerns or feedback, we can take on board to improve going forward.

    Continue reading
  6. "Unsatisfied"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Moss Bros part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    My two managers at my store (can't speak on behalf of other stores) are quite friendly and can be quite easy to talk to.

    Cons

    Even though I work in a 'family value' environment, I feel excluded and alienated. I do not feel like I belong, I get bossed around by my supervisors who think they are the best, they have a huge ego which I hate. because of my position I cannot do much about it. (I'm trying to find another job instead where I know it is better for me). I don't feel autonomous which frustrates me a lot. I really do not like working there anymore.

    Continue reading
    Moss Bros2019-11-25

    Moss Bros Response

    December 12, 2019Recruiter

    Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to send through a review. We’re glad to hear that you find it easy to talk to your managers and hope that you can approach them with them your current notions of exclusion and alienation. At Moss Bros we would never want any of our employees to feel this way and we work hard to promote and maintain a respectful working environment. If you don’t think that you can approach your managers with this there are other avenues that we hope you would take. You can reach out to your Area Manager or HRBP for advice or if you wanted to remain anonymous you can find details for our EAP service on The Hub. The EAP service (Employee Assistant Program) can provide advice and counselling for all employees that feel they could benefit from the facility. We operate commission schemes and sales targets to encourage employees to improve their performance and achieve better results both personally and on behalf of Moss Bros. Providing a great customer experience is the main focus of all Sales Associates and we would want all staff to feel that any targets given are easily achievable. Additional support in store is available for anyone who feels they are struggling. We want Moss Bros to be an employer of choice and will take your additional feedback on board so that we can better improve going forward.

    Continue reading
  7. "Forward thinking company with people at its heart"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Store Manager in Wolverhampton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Moss Bros full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    This business is changing and learning all the time. It has put a huge focus on it's people and their happiness in the last year. Several high level acquisitions have meant that they are better equipped to meet the volatile demands of the retail industry.

    Cons

    None, great to work for.

    Continue reading
    Moss Bros2019-10-09

    Moss Bros Response

    December 12, 2019Recruiter

    Hi there, We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with a review and we’re happy to hear that you are pleased overall and have noticed positive change within the business. Whilst we are always looking for ways to improve (change doesn’t have to be scary), its great to have positive feedback and hope your experiences with Moss Bros continue to be positive.

    Continue reading
  8. "Working at Moss!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Moss Bros part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing environment and colleagues! Great exposure!

    Cons

    Low Pay and they don’t do women clothing! 😭

    Moss Bros2019-10-08

    Moss Bros Response

    December 12, 2019Recruiter

    Hi there, We appreciate you taking the time to give us a review and we’re happy to hear that you are pleased overall with your working environment and your colleagues. We want Moss Bros to be an employer of choice and work hard to promote a respectful but fun working environment. Regarding your comments around womenswear, have you looked into our Tailor Me option? Many of our employees both male and female have benefited from this service.

    Continue reading
  9. "Good At Times"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hire Customer Experience Manager in Clapham, East of England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Moss Bros full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great sense of freedom, feels like a big brand with a small family feel.

    Cons

    Currently feels like promotion opportunities or side stepping opportunities are limited.

    Moss Bros2019-10-06
  10. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Moss Bros part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly Staff and Good discounts

    Cons

    Salary is not the best

    Moss Bros2019-09-25

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 102 reviews