Motley Fool Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Motley Fool Reviews

Updated 3 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.5
83%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Motley Fool CEO Tom Gardner
Tom Gardner
111 Ratings
Pros
  • "Fools’ who have a positive, supportive and collaborative attitude - not to mention a very smart bunch(in 19 reviews)

  • "Unlimited vacation and Fools errand(in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • "Fools love it here so much that there's very little turnover, meaning there's not obvious upward mobility(in 8 reviews)

  • "TMF is going through growing pains right now, trying to figure out how to preserve its core culture while becoming a "grown up" company(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Motley Fool for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits - flexitime and working from home. Happy office environment. Unlimited holiday - within reason, of course, but its not counted to the day.

    Cons

    Not the greatest pay maybe!

    Motley Fool2016-03-21
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Great place if you can self-manage your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Alexandria, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Motley Fool full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    -Relaxed Environment with ample freedom for time off -Many opportunities to work in new areas -Your career will advance as fast/far as you drive it, but you have to demonstrate command of your assigned work and crush it

    Cons

    -Rapid growth is causing a cultural shift, the jury is out on whether it's for the better

    Continue reading
    Motley Fool2019-10-03
  3. Helpful (1)

    "I don’t ever want to leave"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Singapore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Motley Fool full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This is an employer that has given me everything I was missing in previous jobs. Yes the salary is good and the job perks are there, but what’s really special here is the autonomy you’re given not only in your role but in your career progression, and you’re surrounded by fellow ‘Fools’ who have a positive, supportive and collaborative attitude - not to mention a very smart bunch. We work for a great cause, making the world Smarter, Happier and Richer. We have leaders who genuinely have our best interests at heart, and by doing so they’re people who you want to work for - you want to prove them right to run the business with such an unwavering moral compass.

    Cons

    There’s two ‘cons’, but they’re more like symptoms of the pros: - It is hard to get a role here... vacancies are limited because no one seems to leave! Thankfully we’re growing and this opens new roles. If you get the chance to work here I suggest you grab it with both hands. - If you want a structured career plan this isn’t the place for you. There’s is no career progression plan, the company requires you to look around the business and communicate upwards a desire to move into new areas, or even spot opportunities that the business can move into that we don’t even have yet. This doesn’t suit everyone.

    Motley Fool2019-10-03
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Could i"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Marketing 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Motley Fool full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You’re given considerable autonomy as long as you do the work. In fact, the benefits are endless so long as you do the work. If there’s a dream job, this may be it.

    Cons

    No bananas left in the kitchen last Friday. :(

    Motley Fool2019-09-23
  5. Helpful (3)

    "I didn't know what I was missing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Motley Fool full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The Motley Fool treats its employees like treasured assets. Unlimited vacation time and flexible hours are real. I take the time to catch a kid's soccer match after school without censor. Employees are encouraged to continually learn new things and there is a healthy budget for it. With just 6 months at the Fool, I have an out of town conference approved and the online classes that helped me do my job better faster were promptly compensated. The company's mission of making people smarter, happier and richer is for reals internally and externally. The environment is so collaborative that I am compelled to show up to the office despite a 45-minute commute. The people and the welcoming atmosphere totally destroy the image of computer geeks hiding in their corners not talking to anyone.

    Cons

    Be prepared to gain a fool 15. Despite wellness programs and benefits that compensate up to $75 for gym memberships a month, all the free food adds up if you are not careful. Also, it takes a while to be hired. Two months of rigorous interviews and coding challenges reduce the cultural mismatches that may happen at other companies but it was nerve-wracking.

    Continue reading
    Motley Fool2019-09-08
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Great place to work... until it's not"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Individual Contributor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Motley Fool full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    When the Fool is great, it is really great. For most of the first year, people think they've landed a job at the best company ever. Amazing people, great perks, flexible schedule, unlimited vacation, great health insurance, awesome outings that facilitate bonding with coworkers. All the surface level things that make people happy and actually enjoy going into the office.

    Cons

    After you've been there for around a year, you start to see how things really work. Once people hit the ~5 year mark, it's almost like they have tenure. It doesn't matter how bad they mess up, how negative of an influence they are, or even how much HR recognizes it; they're protected, promoted, and given too much power. These people rarely leave on their own, which means their roles are never vacant. I've seen so many people held captive because of the possibility of a role they want opening up. What's worse is people who are insanely qualified with multiple masters degrees, designations, certifications, etc. are stuck in roles meant for recent grads until they realize they're worth more or until they're pushed out (which seems to be the Fool way). I wholeheartedly believe Tom and David care about every employee, but I don't think any complaints of this nature ever reach them.

    Continue reading
    Motley Fool2019-09-11
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Dream Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Advisor/Analyst in Alexandria, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Motley Fool full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people, the mission, the benefits, the office, etc.... ultimate dream job.

    Cons

    Literally cannot think of a single con.

    Continue reading
    Motley Fool2019-07-16
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Purpose x People = Prosperity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - President/Chief Executive Officer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Motley Fool full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Extremely high employee engagement scores (north of 85%) emerging from a culture team that really cares and smart people across the company, working toward a higher purpose together. The business is in an excellent financial position and is 100% owned by past and present employees.

    Cons

    Hitting scale with numerous solutions is going to require a lot of work on prioritization, communication, recognition, and... learning how to say no. I’m optimistic because the company understands this.

    Continue reading
    Motley Fool2019-06-30
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Autonomous workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative in Alexandria, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Motley Fool full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Employees are given a lot of flexibility. Many perks like unlimited paid vacation, reduced rate hair cuts in the office, standing desks.

    Cons

    Things can shift quickly. Many employees hoard clutter in an open office environment

    Continue reading
    Motley Fool2019-07-03
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to learn and grow as an analyst. Some of the best stock-picking minds out there."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Equity Analyst in Alexandria, VA

    I have been working at Motley Fool full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great work-life balance, lot's of flexibility

    Cons

    not much to talk about

    Continue reading
    Motley Fool2019-06-18
Found 160 reviews