N Brown Group Reviews

Updated 18 Jun 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.9
47%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
N Brown Group CEO Steve Johnson  (no image)
Steve Johnson
14 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits of flexible working, staff discount etc(in 15 reviews)

  • "Flexible working hours make it easy for me to balance my work and social life(in 13 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SEO in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at N Brown Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The company offers great flexibility and they really do trust their staff. The people that I work with are great, definitely have a can-do attitude and constantly trying to drive positive change.

    Cons

    Sometimes things can move a little slower than you'd like, but that's just the nature of a big business.

    N Brown Group Response

    January 10, 2020Communications

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a glassdoor review. We are really pleased that you have enjoyed your time with the company over the last year and that our flexible working policies are working well for you!

  2. "Good starting point"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Graduate Student in Manchester, England

    I worked at N Brown Group full-time

    Pros

    Very friendly and supportive team

    Cons

    Low salary and they avoid pay rises whenever they can.

  3. "Worst Place I’ve ever worked"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Clerk 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at N Brown Group full-time

    Pros

    Some lovely colleagues and office is in the city centre.

    Cons

    Low pay, expected to work over hours with no overtime, poor management. The senior management seem to have a superiority complex and speak to staff like school children, changes are made at the drop of a hat with no regard to staffs time, effort or wellbeing. No one knows what they are doing, no clear direction is given. Management style is so behind the times it’s unbelievable, I was regularly given ‘JFDIs’ with no regard to my workload. For your mental wellbeing, I don’t recommend this company.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Worst place I've ever worked"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Office Clerk in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at N Brown Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Leaving the company for somewhere that appreciates good staff

    Cons

    Terribly bad management. No process across the business. No idea what their long term plans are, changes happen all the time and so much lack of focus. The people team are an absolute joke who have no idea what they are doing. Terrible pay and terrible managers. Worst place I have ever worked.

    Continue reading
  5. "Great people, Poor higher ups"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Recovery in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at N Brown Group full-time

    Pros

    People are the only reason to stay

    Cons

    Pay isn’t on par with other places

    N Brown Group Response

    March 23, 2020Communications

    Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts. We are really pleased that you enjoy working with the company and recognised how people are the heart of everything we do. We're sorry to hear however that you aren't happy with those higher up and with your pay. We always try to offer competitive rates when setting salaries. What is more, we believe that we have a highly capable and talented group of senior leaders in our business, who are helping us to achieve our exciting plans for 2020. We spend lots of time developing our leaders and are always looking at ways we can help our people grow.

  6. Helpful (3)

    "They've lost the plot"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at N Brown Group full-time

    Pros

    Colleagues are fantastic to work with

    Cons

    Senior Management Team is absolutely riddles with cliques. They've completely lost the plot & are running the business into the ground.

    Continue reading

    N Brown Group Response

    March 23, 2020Communications

    Thanks for taking the time to leave us a glassdoor review. We're really pleased to hear that you enjoy working with such great colleagues, after all, people are at the heart of everything we do! We are disappointed to hear your views about our senior leadership team however. We understand the importance of great leadership and believe we have a highly capable and talented team that will help us to deliver our exciting strategy for 2020. We spend lots of time developing our leaders and are always looking at ways we can help our people grow.

  7. Helpful (2)

    "Disgusting leadership"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Analyst in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at N Brown Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You have the option to leave the business

    Cons

    leadership here think they are on a playground, talk to staff like they're below them all the time. truly no care for employees mental well-being, treating them like disposable numbers. progression is so severely limited, and only to leaders favourites. i never saw anyone get a promotion in my whole time there, nevermind a payrise. technology and systems are the most dated I've ever worked with and instead of sorting this out the money is spent on huge marketing campaigns that don't even target the right customer.

    Continue reading

    N Brown Group Response

    March 26, 2020Communications

    Thanks for taking the time to leave us a Glassdoor reivew. We are very disappointed to hear that you haven’t enjoyed your time at N Brown. We have taken great steps in developing a culture that puts people at the heart of everything we do and empowers colleagues whilst giving them opportunities to grow. We also take the health and wellbeing of our colleagues very seriously and offer a whole host of resources and activities, available for anyone who would like to take advantage of them. Each colleague here has an annual pay review and regular one to one’s with their leaders designed to help them grow professionally.

  8. "Fantastic people and management but not the best salaries."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Analyst in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at N Brown Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people and plenty of opportunities to learn new skills. Lots of free courses and activities to get involved in and they like to make sure everybody is involved.

    Cons

    It's just not the best salaries and their idea of a bonus is buying in pizza now and again (Of which you're not even guaranteed a slice)

    Continue reading

    N Brown Group Response

    February 20, 2020Communications

    Thanks for taking the time to leave us a glassdoor review. Its great to hear that you are enjoying your time within the company and have made the most of our learning and development opportunities. We always to try to offer competitive rates when setting salaries and this year we introduced a new bonus scheme for all employees based upon on business performance.

  9. COVID-19

    "Health and safety risk!!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at N Brown Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I cant think of a single one

    Cons

    Why are you still making your employees go into the office and work in close proximity of eachother when you arent keyworkers?? Ive heard from various departments this is the case and also that the office isnt being cleaned,which could spread corona virus. This is a major health and safety issue and needs to be known IMMEDIATELY. There is no reason why the office needs to be open and why the majority of the office cant work from home. If youre "digital first" surely this shouldnt be a problem?? If someone is carrying the corona virus in the office,coughs or sneezes near someone and the equipment isnt being cleaned then you should be SHAMED. Do you have no common sense? What are you doing??

    Continue reading

    N Brown Group Response

    March 26, 2020Communications

    The health and wellbeing of our colleagues is our number one priority and we will closely monitor the guidance being provided by the government and British Retail Consortium whilst keeping our colleagues informed with daily updates. The British Retail Consortium has encouraged us to remain open as an online retailer whilst ensuring all colleagues adhere to social distancing measures. Colleagues who can work from home are doing so, and business critical ones have been given the right protection and guidance. As a precautionary measure, we have also enlisted further cleaning staff to ensure that our workspaces are kept clean and safe

  10. "Great company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at N Brown Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People, Resources, Structure, Agile, Professional, Team work

    Cons

    Too many brands, duplication of resource

    Continue reading

    N Brown Group Response

    February 6, 2020Communications

    Thanks for taking the time to leave us a glassdoor review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your time working with the company and recognised how people are the heart of everything we do. Since the announcement of our new strategy back in May 2019, we have taken considerable steps to ensure that we focus more on our core brands which will ultimately help us to better utilise talent and resource in our organisation.

Found 78 reviews